Customer Reviews for

When God Whispers Your Name

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Wonderful Book!

    This book was the 'tow truck' that helped me come out of the spiritual rut I had been in for six years! Everyone should get a copy of this, especially if you're feeling wayward in your walk with Christ. I would like to give copies of this book out to friends and family who are searching for a deeper committment to Him.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    Great

    I loved reading this book and got much attention very easily through this book. Its a great book to read and any-one can understand what he is saying. I feel Gods love through this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    First time I read it

    The first time I read this book was when I was 17. I had decided to make some changes in my life, and this book really opened my eyes more to who Jesus is and several things He went through His life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2001

    Perfect Comfort

    This book is comforting and demystifys christianity. It is also very funny in some areas. I've purchased two other books by him based on this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Brings me to tears sometimes

    This book has been a blessing upon blessing upon blessing for me! I love it so much and I not only read it for my personal spiritual growth needs but also use it as a tool for teaching.


    Inside you will find a series of unrelated chapters, though they all contribute to bring you more understanding in your personal walk with Christ. Each chapter is almost like a little devotional for the day. this is definitely not a book that you just want to read through and finish in one sitting. The end of each chapter really causes you to pause and reflect because of all the information you are absorbing. I would recommend this book to any and every christian that desires new insight in their relationship with God and also for those that are going through a really hectic and stress-filled time. (Chapter 11 The Choice is the perfect chapter to read to yourself every morning before facing the uncertainties of the day. It brings me to tears every time.) I would just really encourage you to read this book with an open heart and prayerful spirit and allow God to work in you through it. Five gold stars for this book(:


    I received this complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    SPIRITUALLLY UPLIPLIFTING

    Max Lucado, really knows how to write and reach out to everyone. If your a Christian or just an average reader you will find out or noticed that God really is talking to you throught this book. While I was reading this book I was fasting, and really help me uplift my faith and notice that God was with me, and that he hasn't finish working with you yet. Main theme of this book, is that God knows everyone by name and that he has called you with a purpose and for a reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    Amazing!

    A great book, easy to read, witty and inspirational! Recommend to anyone who is hungry for God's love and grace.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    This was wonderful (I'm a teenager)

    I had never read any Max Lucado boks, but have loved this book very much. I didn't expect to fully understand at first, but it was very thought provoking and easy to comprehend. I totally recomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    I love this book!!!!

    This is the first book I have ever read by Max Lucado, and I must say I do find it comforting, inspiring, and thought-provoking. A great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    Truly Inspirational

    Extremely thought provoking. Max Lucado's gift to relate scripture to every day life is truly inspired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Siro's Den

    Result 19 titled 'As for me and my house.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Quinzen and Narkii's Dens

    Quinzen• Result 20<p>
    Narkii• Result 23

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Goto

    Daggerheart is wat i meant.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Awesome book ,the best i have Bu Awesome and very uplefting,

    Must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Always Inspirational

    I have always enjoyed reading books by Max Lucado. I have read many of his children's stories, including all of his Wemmick stories, and several Spiritual Growth and Christian Thoughts books. I was happy to have the opportunity to read When God Whispers Your Name. In this book, like many of his others, Lucado gives you a glimpse into his own lives and the lives of those around him whom he has had the opportunity to minister to and some who have written to him specifically.
    Lucado writes very brief chapters in this book, which is his overall goal; because he knows that our time is precious to us. Because of the brevity of these chapters, it not only makes the reading very easy, but it also allows you to instantly reflect on what he is saying and to take something away from each chapter without being bombarded by fact after fact. I had several chapters that I bookmarked in order to go back to when I want something specific to read or when I want to use the book as a book study or devotional. This is also possible, because included with the book are discussion questions, verses to look up, and thoughts to pray about related to the book.
    As always, Lucado never disappoints. I am heading back to download another of his!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring!

    One of Max Lucado's greatest gifts is the ability to retell biblical stories in a modern fashion and make it so real that you think he's telling your story. He draws you in with little effort and shows you God at work in your life. This book testifies to the power and persistence of the Creator to know each of His creations by name. Through moving encounters of biblical stories, Lucado reveals the hope that God knows and whispers our names. The three sections, the Song of the Minstrel, The Touch of the Master, and the Guest of the Maestro, have short chapters that can easily be read in a short amount of time. This book discusses how to listen and hear when God whisper's your name. Lucado tells the modern story and then identifies the biblical counterpart. He does so in a way which holds the reader's interest and is never boring. The discussion guide at the end of the book includes questions for each chapter that will help you to reflect on what you read, gives you scripture to guide you and even suggests which chapters to read together due to a common theme, to help the reader in their relationship with God. If you need some help to get inspired Max Lucado is just the author and recommend you add this book to your reading list. This book would make a great gift or anyone for any occasion. I received a free copy of this E-book for my Nook from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Loved it excellent book !

    Ive read several of Max Lucados and I have really enjoyed all of them , And as always this one was no different The way that Mr Lucado draws you into his stories and helps to you to dig deep and externally with in your self and think about your faith and will renew you Spirituality be encouraging you to dig deeper with in your self and search into you heart ! I love the way that he uses Scripture to back up everything that he writes and gives you the verses and encourages you to look them up I would reccomend this book to any one and think it would make a great group study book ! My oppions of course are my own

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    A Must Own Book : When God Whispers Your Name by Max Lucado

    When God Whispers Your Name by Max Lucado

    Lucado has been my favorite author from the moment I read the first Lucado book. You can always count on him to be inspirational and motivational and I love that about a writer.
    This book deals with everyday people and how we often fail to understand our own good fortune as we are loved and adored by the creator of the Universe!
    God knows everything about us, even has the hairs on our heads numbered and best of all God desires a personal friendship with us all.
    It is pretty heavy duty stuff to realize that the Creator of everything wants to be pals with us! Kinda helps those tough times to seem a lot less important.
    God will call you out, all you have to do is have the courage or desire or whatever you want to call it: to have an open will to respond to Gods calling. He always gives back way more than He gets.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone inneed of motivation or whos spirits have been running a little low lately. Heck, Id reccommend any Lucado book for any occassion; hes simply my favorite.
    I have a permenant collection of books (most of what I read I give away) and every Lucado book I have has earned a spot on that permanent collection. I have bought more Lucado books as gifts than anyother writer because he is simply the best motivational writer I have found and he uses Biblical verses to bring home his messages.
    When God Whispers Your Name is a great book for anyone who needs a little boost. It is full of short stories about every day people and how we are not nearly as mundane as our lives lead us to feel because we dont stop and realize that God has us in His heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A really encouraging book

    It's been a long time since I picked up my first Max Lucado book- over 15 years now. However, I never cease to be amazed by his talent for writing simple yet profound books that get right to the point and speak directly to my heart. One of the first books by Max Lucado that I read was When God Whispers Your Name. I read it at a time back in college when I was going through a rough time, and it really comforted and encouraged me back then.

    Even though I'm in a much different place in life when I first read When God Whispers Your Name, it was no less comforting, inspiring and motivating this time through. This book is full of personal stories from the author's life, as well as great stories from the Bible, told in a way that's relevant and understandable to our modern lives. If you're feeling discouraged about yourself or your life, or could just use a reminder of how very much God loves you, I strongly recommend reading this book. If you're thinking about using this book in a group study situation, it does include a handy discussion guide with questions and points for each chapter.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book to review for myself, thanks to Booksneeze. I was not compensated in any other way and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Song of the Whippoorwill

    "There dwells inside you, deep within, a tiny whippoorwill. Listen. You will hear him sing. His aria mourns the dusk. His solo signals the dawn. It is the song of the whippoorwill. He will not be silent until the sun is seen. Other creatures of the soul are more quickly fed. More simply satisfied. We feed the lion who growls for power. We stroke the tiger who demands affection. We bridle the stallion who bucks for control. But what do we do with the whippoorwill who yearns for eternity? For that is his song. That is his task. Out of the grey he sings a golden song. Perched in time he sings a timeless verse. Peering through pain's shroud, he sees a painless place. Of that place he sings."

    From the heartwarming chapter God's Christmas Cards, to the parable of The Sweet Sound of the Second Fiddle, and the dream of heaven reawakened in The Gift of Unhappiness, each chapter of this Max Lucado book had something beautiful to say about hope. Each chapter stood alone, so the complete book was a handful of anecdotes, stories, and thoughts strung together on that single theme. But it wasn't a simple collection of sappy feel good stories - it taught what hope was, what it should be placed in, and how to keep it alive.
    My favorite part of the book had to be chapter 23, when Max Lucado told a story about the previously unknown Old Testament journalists and the interviews he found that they had conducted with Moses and Jehoshaphat (wink), telling the story of the God who fights for those who wait on Him. And did I mention the journal of Jonah that still had whale guts in it that he found in a little second hand bookshop?
    I loved all the wonderful little things this book had to offer, but most precious of all, it reminded me to listen to the song of the hope of Heaven that fills my heart. And now that I have put the book down, all I want to do is sing along with the whippoorwill.

    When God Whispers Your Name: Discover the Path to Hope in Knowing that God Cares for You By Max Lucado is a complementary book I received via BookSneeze. For links, cover images, and more, check out booksneeze(dot)com.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3