Customer Reviews for

When Graveyards Yawn (Apocalypse Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Unbelievably GREAT Read!

    This is the first book I've read in years that made me want to tell people about it. If you're like me and love mysteries and detective novels, just put the main character (private investigator) in clown makeup, possess him with the soul of a dead detective, put him in a world where nobody dies - ever (they just become the undead with the same memories and personalities as they had when alive - though their bodies will decay if not taken care of) and send in a client to hire the insane and possessed clown to find out who murdered him, and you are just beginning to scratch the surface of this fantastic novel. This free novel did exactly what it was intended to do.....I've already purchased the next book in the trilogy and now have another author who's work I look forward to devouring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Take a possessed detective with clown makeup, add a post-apocaly

    Take a possessed detective with clown makeup, add a post-apocalyptic world compete with the walking dead (who are who they were when alive, simply dead), add a government conspiracy and throw in some decent writing and you'll have this novel. Pretty damned good. There are very few mistakes in it--something that's rare for a free book. Read it. Period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    clowns & zombies & rain... Oh My!

    When I first decided to check this book out, I figured it would try for epic nonsense filled with undead shriners. and clown detectives searching for demonic poodles with world ending abilities, or some such. I was totally wrong, what i got was a cleverly written story, an involving plot, and intruiging back story. Written in a noirish style, and wrapped in a nice little bow of suspence. If you are into Zombies, mysteries or something a little off the beaten track. This book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Long but good

    Really enjoyed the story, the characters, the entire premise, and the over-all use of language. There were a couple of glaring errors ("wretch" does NOT mean "retch"!) but all-in-all very well done. I think the novel could have been split into two books without losing anything and would have made for better reading. I would have liked more clarity in the Wildclown/Grey connection-maybe in the next book? I did order (and pay for!) the next book in the series, something I've never done aftwr reading a free book. I'll also have to order the next Wildclown novel as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great book

    Lil over 800 pg well written novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Wow!!

    I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Good

    Cannot wait to buy the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Not a bad read!

    The story was interesting and moved at a fair pace, slow at time then catching your interest again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Strange

    Very odd book. I ended up finishing it anyway. Even though it was very strange it was well written and somehow kept my interest. Not recommended for under 15 though (in my opinion)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Very Different...

    I enjoyed this book alot more than I thought I would... It is way outside of what I normally read, but the story was interesting if a little confusing at times. I enjoyed the detective story mixed with the end of the world, dead walk around aspect. I also enjoyed the split main chacter. Ok overall read, but I am not upset I picked it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Deffinately Read

    The Clown series is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    New twist on Zombies

    This is the first time I have read one of Taylors books, I am downloading more as I type this! I like his writing style and this is a differant take on Zombies and Apocolyptic genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Top rated

    Very, Very Good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    zombies and PI clown Wow

    i had never read anything by him before but wow I enjiyed the whole premise. I have read several others of his books and have enjoyed them all. I will continue to read all his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    When Graveyards Yawn - Gangsters and Zombies

    This first Apocalypse Trilogy book will shock you as it weaves really gritty horror into a two-fisted noir nightmare. Zombies, detectives and the end of the world. Somehow it all fits. You've never seen a place like Greasetown or met a crimefighter like Wildclown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3