Customer Reviews for

When He Was Wicked (Bridgerton Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

fabulous Bridgerton romance

In 1818, the first time ever Michael ¿The Merry Rake¿ Stirling saw Francesca Bridgerton he knows he is in love although he never experienced that feeling before. However, he can not act on his emotion because Francesca is to wed his best friend, his cousin John in less...
In 1818, the first time ever Michael ¿The Merry Rake¿ Stirling saw Francesca Bridgerton he knows he is in love although he never experienced that feeling before. However, he can not act on his emotion because Francesca is to wed his best friend, his cousin John in less than two days. Michael ironically thinks that he now has two new feelings: love and for the first time envy. Ironically, he never coveted the earldom or the wealth of the man he considers his ¿brother¿.------ Two years later, Michael hides his love for Francesca from her and his cousin. John complains of headache and soon afterward he, not quite thirty and in seemingly perfect health, is dead. At twenty-two, Francesca is a widow and Michael is the earl. He still hides his feelings while they mourn their loss until one innocent night he offers simple solace that turns into heated lovemaking. The aftermath is that both feel guilty as if they let down John. As they evade one another so as not to explore their feelings, Francesca begins to wonder if John arranged the whole thing as a heavenly matchmaker.------ Title aside as no one is ¿wicked¿ in a nasty sense; fans will appreciate this wonderful Regency romance starring a loving relationship triangle between three wonderful protagonists. John was a nice respected person loved by his wife and his cousin so that his memory serves as a ghostly barrier to Michael and Francesca following up on their feelings. The two illnesses that John and Michael respectfully suffered from provide a feel for the era as Julia Quinn uses that to anchor her sixth fabulous Bridgerton book.------ Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mostly Okay

This book was intriguing. It got me interested very quickly but there was a lot medical problems in this book. Overall, I liked it enough and it entertained me. Quick and easy read...nothing deep.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Truly Exception!!! Hence the 5 stars.  This has been my favorit

    Truly Exception!!!

    Hence the 5 stars.  This has been my favorite book int series , but I still have 2 more to go.  It much better if you read them in order, they are certainly stand alone books, but reading them in numerical succession adds to the bid picture of the is big family.  I think Julia Quin is one of the best romance novelist writing today.  This was my favorite book, because I love to read about the passion between the couple and these 2 had it in spades. I warn you the intimate scenes are quite steamy.  Like nothing I have read before.  I also found myself laughing out loud and sighing out loud too while reading this book.  He has a little bit of everything.  Those or the characteristics I look for in a good romance novel. I hope you enjoy it as I much as I did.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Best Romance Novel Ever!!!!

    I've read this book a number of times and it never fails to make me laugh and cry, and I fall in love with the hero, Michael Sterling, all over again. The herione is not the perfect herione that your used to reading about, but a woman who we all can empathize with. I've read hundreds of romance novels....When He Was Wicked is in my top 5. This is one of the best novels I've ever read:) You won't be able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    Favorite

    Deeply moving. After reading this, please read Frannie and Michael's second epilogue in Brigertons HEA. It is guaranteed to bring a smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    A Must read

    I love all of Julia Quinn's Bridgeton novels, however this one was entirely different. It touched on more of an emotional level and a journey that I found to be a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I love Julia Quinn's books, especially the Bridgerton series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    What's not to love?

    My favorite of the series. Michael is one of the sexiest characters I've ever come across in a romance novel. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    LOVE IT!!

    I love the Bridgerton Series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    This book is one of my favorites. You know its good when you want to read it more than once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Entertaining read

    Julia delivers another great book that is humorous and light but engaging none the less!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!

    I love this entire series and I've loved every book. Having said that, this is my favorite of the series. It has the most passion between the two main characters and I really feel like you can relate to their love and chemistry they can't fight.

    I couldn't make this fit but I'd also recommend Eloisa James' Desperate Duchess series. Its the same time period and also very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Another Bridgerton Success

    This is the sixth book in the Bridgerton series, and one of my favorites. It is Francesca's story and I was not entirely expecting to enjoy it because I did not feel as if Quinn had properly introduced Francesca to the reader in her previous books. But I was dreadfully wrong. I found myself not only adoring her, but the male lead in the book, Michael, was so stunningly tragic sometimes I felt I could not entirely handle the amount of pain he put himself through for his love. I'll admit, this book is a bit slow in the first half as the first 150 pages or so are all relatively the same. However, once it gets going I felt I was more than rewarded for my patience. WHEN HE WAS WICKED is easily the hottest of all the Bridgerton novels. I was utterly blown away by the consummation scene. I completely understood why Quinn felt the necessity for so much buildup to the sexual climax and it was so completely WORTH IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    WONDERFULLY ROMANTIC

    `When He Was Wicked¿ is yet another masterpiece by Julia Quinn. Although I have to admit that I¿m not that surprised (seeing as all her books I¿ve read have been). As far as I¿m concerned she¿s a complete genius. Well, I believe that¿s probably enough praises for Julia in this review. Now about the book, I believe this book was great it captured my interest from beginning to end. I just couldn¿t stop reading. I fell in love with both Francesca and Michael. I have to admit to feeling bad for Michael, who was a man suffering from unrequited love I was even tempted to do the most horrible thing imaginable and read ahead just to make sure she returned his feelings by the end (oh, who am I kidding? I did read ahead). Anyway this book was great and I yet again guarantee that if you like other Bridgerton novels you will love this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    Wonderfully Wicked

    This book now ties as my favorite one out of the series (An Offer from a Gentleman being the other one)....i absolutely loved loved loved Michael....if he were an actual real human being-I would handcuff and tie him down and not let him out of my site...goodness i loved his character....and it was a really nice change to have the guy already in love with the heroine from the beginning...none of the same stuff of him waiting till the last page of the book to realize he's in love...this book was just wonderful...sooo increadibly enjoyable...its not the same tempo of the other Bridgerton stories...this one deals with alot more heart-ache...but its soooo enjoyable...amazing story....Mrs. Quinn- You out-did yourself! Two Thumbs up and a few toes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Not for everyone

    It's really more of a four and a half star book. As other reviewers have said, this is definitely not Julia Quinn's usual style. But that's what makes it so exceptional. I've read a few books in her Bridgerton family series and found them not to my taste. They're a bit too light-hearted and sweet for me. But this one is much darker. It deals with all the painful emotions of love. Michael is such a vivid character. His descriptions of Francesca seem so heartfelt. His guilt and disgust with himself for loving his cousin's wife, of all people, is so palpable you can almost touch it. My only complaint is that with such a well-rounded hero, everyone else even the heroine takes a backseat. It's sad and depressing and there are definitely moments when you feel like crying. But that's what makes it so beautiful. Plus, there are some absolutely steamy love scenes. You have to wait for more than halfway through the book for them, but they're well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Excellent book

    Not your typical romance. The best part of this book was the male lead...wonderfully done! Yes, there was sex but it was real, and honest and, I think, a necessary part of the story. This book I will keep and revisit from time to time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    A wonderfully written story - Not typical Quinn style but still worth it

    Let me first say yes this is not a typical Quinn novel but it is still a very well written story. Our hero Michael Sterling has fallen in love with his cousin's fiancee at the start of the book when he first meets Francesca Bridgerton our heroine. After years of unrequited love Michael's cousin suddenly dies from an aneurism that leaves Michael feeling guilty for being in love with his cousin's wife and Francesca griefing. Michael runs away to India to get away from everything hoping his love will go away. Years later he comes back and his feeling are still very strong for Francesca. Francesca his now searching for a husband but still very much loves her dead husband. Michael realizes there could be something between him and Francesca and sets out to win her heart. The story is very sad and deals with darker emotions that Quinn's normal Bridgerton series. I loved it still. You can't help falling for the hero. The struggles they have to face dealing with the love they feel for one another will have you rooting for their happy ending. Their is laughter has well and I enjoyed this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Julia Quinn's BEST!

    I've read and loved all of Julia's Bridgerton series but this book is by far my favorite. It's not as light-hearted as her usual stuff, but thats only because Julia delves deeper into the characters and their pain and guilt. Michael is a fabulous hero who will definitely remain one of my all-time favorites. How can anyone not absolutely adore him? If you like well written stories with some meat, sexy heroes who adore their heroines, some wit, some angst, some steamy scenes... then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Great Read

    Next to the 'The Duke and I' this book was my favorite in the Bridgerton family series. I absolutely fell in love with the hero, Micheal Stirling. While in past installments of the Bridgerton family books, Francesca was known in the family to display a sly humor and dry wit, I felt that Micheal possessed these traits in the book. (However, I forgive Francesca because throughout much of the book she was wracked by first sorrow, then guilt). Micheal was a fabulous hero, at times I had to laugh at his self-deprecating humor and other times I felt my heart clench because of the guilt he feels for loving his cousin's wife. To those who know and love the Bridgertons, Colin makes an appearance, and I loved how Julia Quinn brought him back to play the 'matchmaker.' Overall, if you love Julia Quinn and her past books, then you will not be disappointed by this book. It's funny, heart-wrenching at times, and very very sexy. Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    Can't Put This One Down!!!

    This is one of those rare books that you just can't put down! Stay up all night reading and still want more when your through! I rate this one as EXCELLENT for romance readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Comparison with Jane Austen

    The copy of the book I read carried a tag line that 'Julia Quinn is truly our contemporary Jane Austen'. I suspected that was too gushing and an overstatement for an author of paperback romances. While I love the Brigerton series, I didn't consider them 'literature'...until I met the characters in this book. I DID stay up most of the night to read the book in one fell swoop; I just couldn't put it down to find out how they resolved this very difficult relationship. I also agree that Francesca is less believable (she runs away far more than I would expect a Brigerton female to do) than Michael, but they are both outstanding. Lovers of traditional romances won't be disappointed and there is some of the steamy sexual scenes we all like, but the strength of the characters and the fact they face real challenges instead of some hokey highwayman makes it a very compelling read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5