BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When It Happens

Average Rating 4.5
( 762 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(474)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING! MUST READ!

This is one of the best books i have ever read, YES better than the twilight saga! It pulls the reader in and won't release them until they finish the book. I love the story, but i recommend it to 13+ it does have some sexual content, that should not be for under middle...
This is one of the best books i have ever read, YES better than the twilight saga! It pulls the reader in and won't release them until they finish the book. I love the story, but i recommend it to 13+ it does have some sexual content, that should not be for under middle school students, I recommend you buy the book! its NOT a waste of money at all!

posted by asbhistepping on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Not what it seems. . .

After reading the summary on the back cover I thought this would be a good read. But I actually found myself skipping chapters, trying to find interesting parts. This book was just very lacking in excitement, something that'd make me want to read every chapter. The only...
After reading the summary on the back cover I thought this would be a good read. But I actually found myself skipping chapters, trying to find interesting parts. This book was just very lacking in excitement, something that'd make me want to read every chapter. The only thing I liked about this book was that it had two different points view, but even that was poor writing.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Not what it seems. . .

    After reading the summary on the back cover I thought this would be a good read. But I actually found myself skipping chapters, trying to find interesting parts. This book was just very lacking in excitement, something that'd make me want to read every chapter. The only thing I liked about this book was that it had two different points view, but even that was poor writing.

    22 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    This is about a trashy AP student who dumps her jock boyfriend (

    This is about a trashy AP student who dumps her jock boyfriend (who seems to be a future date-rapist) for some slacker musician because she thinks that they are "soul mates", but it's just a race to see whom can get in her pants first.
    The author is using sex to sell this book as there is nothing of substance to the tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Booooo :(

    Terrible ending!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Bad free sample!!!

    You got to go one page into the actual book! Stupid! From page one to page 11 was taken up with the table of contents and other crap! Boring...some sample...
    I'll have to buy the book than. From the reviews it's a good book,hope it's better than the dumb sample! One page into the book...crazy!!!! And even than it was only a paragraph..bad spelling I know! Anyway don't get the sample like I did so you don't wast the space on your nook. If your interested in the book get it NOT the sample!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Re: Good but too much sexual content

    Ya im kinda scared for high school too. Especially now geez. The title sys when iit happens but it said it ment when sarah and tobey meet. Geez i didnt think it thouht when sarah and tobey have sex gawdv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Worth My Time

    Okay i had such high hopes for this book! I was expecting a love story and I got one - just a poorly written one maninly about sex. I mean it's nice that the person who told the story switched but because of this dont expect any thrilling scenes. I mean look at the cover it says "When it Happens" - when what happens? you may ask - the plot is basically counting down when they're going to have sex. Which is fine for realism to through into the plot of the love story but, should not be the main focus of the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing new, same ole high school story

    When It Happens is your stereo-typical high school story...popular group, superficial hot jock, and the sweet guy who doesn't catch your immediate attention but you come to find that he's the most amazing guy. I wish that there would have been more of a point to the book besides just trying to hook up with a boyfriend/girlfriend. There was nothing substantial to it. One thing that did bother me was how casual the author was about sex, a little too much for my taste. It seems unrealistic and totally messed up that a parent could walk in on his son and girlfriend in the middle of what they were doing and just act casual about it...making conversation while his son's girlfriend is almost naked on top of him. Despite the aforementioned, I think that the storyline is perhaps better suited for those in middle school or high school. I can't imagine anyone college age or older getting much out of this. This isn't a book that I would either encourage or discourage anyone from. Although, I can't imagine it rocking anyone's world. I think Sarah Dessen does a much better job of telling entertaining stories of high school...ones with a point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    Just another story...

    This story seemed to have a lot of potential for the YA genre, but left me dry. It was predictable throughout, and towards the end the story seemed to keep going even though it should have already been over. It was very disappointing to me. Not recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Expected much more...

    I thought this was going to be a really fun book to read... but I found that it didn't really have that much going on. Sara, the main character, would get angry at Tobey for something, but she would get over it in the next chapter without even talking to him! I thought that was really unrealistic and it seemed that Susane Colasanti did that so she could finish writing the book to get it over with. All in all, very disappointed with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One word descroption...BORING!

    I felt that the summary was very misleading. The overall story was boring and very lackluster. What a failure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2