Customer Reviews for

When It Happens

Average Rating 4.5
( 758 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(472)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING! MUST READ!

This is one of the best books i have ever read, YES better than the twilight saga! It pulls the reader in and won't release them until they finish the book. I love the story, but i recommend it to 13+ it does have some sexual content, that should not be for under middle...
This is one of the best books i have ever read, YES better than the twilight saga! It pulls the reader in and won't release them until they finish the book. I love the story, but i recommend it to 13+ it does have some sexual content, that should not be for under middle school students, I recommend you buy the book! its NOT a waste of money at all!

posted by asbhistepping on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Not what it seems. . .

After reading the summary on the back cover I thought this would be a good read. But I actually found myself skipping chapters, trying to find interesting parts. This book was just very lacking in excitement, something that'd make me want to read every chapter. The only...
After reading the summary on the back cover I thought this would be a good read. But I actually found myself skipping chapters, trying to find interesting parts. This book was just very lacking in excitement, something that'd make me want to read every chapter. The only thing I liked about this book was that it had two different points view, but even that was poor writing.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    LOVE IT!

    I totally and completely fell in love with this book. as soon as i picked up this book i couldn't stop until i finished it. The story between Tobey and Sara will keep you hook till the end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Is it approprite for a 13 year old

    I am 13 and this book loooked really good but the reviews say to much sexual content so now idk

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Makes me Smile =]

    I wish I could give this book 4 and a half stars. I usually only give my absolute favorite books 5 stars. This book just makes me smile. It's so cute. It's a quick read, I read it in a day.

    Basically it's about Sara and Tobey. Sara knows she's going to find love during her senior year and she's pretty sure she's going to find it with Dave, but he ends up not being the guy she wanted him to be. Tobey knows he wants Sara but he doesn't know how to get her. They both tell the story through their own perspectives. It's cool to see how a situation or conversation is seen through two different eyes. Overall it's just a cute story about first loves. It's nice that,although this book included sex it wasn't overly raunchy either, it made it more innocent and sweet like a first love shouild be. And of course Tobey is the perfect boyfriend. =]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tobey and Sara's Limited Playlist

    An amusing but ultimately insubstantial tale of two high schoolers who are polar opposites on the surface, yet turn out to be soulmates underneath. Sara is smart, driven, and is going to NYU to become an urban planner. Tobey buries his intelligence under his slacker behavior, and is more interested in making it big with his garage band than pursuing his education (higher or otherwise). So OF COURSE they're fated to be together!

    While "When It Happens" is a good first effort from Susane Colasanti, she doesn't really sell me on the dual narrators. Sure, Sara thinks about 'girl stuff' and Tobey thinks about 'guy stuff,' but their voices aren't written distinctly enough to justify telling each alternating chapter from the other character's point of view. Most of the time I felt like I was reading the Diet Pepsi version of "Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist" -- fizzy and tasty, but ultimately zero calories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Very cute romance story!!!

    This book was really entertaining, and I really liked the characters Toby,and Sara. This was a really cute romace story! A very good read!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    OH MY GOSSH!!

    okay well i got this book becausse i was waiting for Breaking Dawn to come out && i need to stay u know active...anyway oh my gosh i fall in love with thiss book!!! its sweet && romantic with humor tossed around makig it completely AWESOME!!! so if ur the type that likes romantic books with people finding 'something real' hehe u'll like this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Susane Colsanti's debut novel offers a refreshing read in the co

    Susane Colsanti's debut novel offers a refreshing read in the contemporary YA genre, told in alternating POV voices, Sara and Tobey. What I loved most about this story was how refreshing it was. Colsanti manages to avoid the "insta-love" trope common in YA books, and really focuses developing Sara and Tobey's relationship over time. The romance wasn't too overly sweet either, but more importantly honest; so you can't help but root for Sara and Tobey as their interactions unfold in the novel. WHEN IT HAPPENS is definitely a fan favorite for any contemporary YA fans who want to read a fresh take on sweet, honest teen romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this book a lot! It was a teen romance book about findin

    I liked this book a lot! It was a teen romance book about finding true love. It was really cute and great for a fast, fun read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Absolutely amazing!

    This book is nothing like its cover-so do not judge it! You will get an enormous realization or image of the thoughts and feelings that each character is going through. My absolute favorite part of the whole book is the encouragement that Sara kept pushing on Toby about studying and applying for college-since she KNEW that he could do it and that he wasn't just a huge slacker that loved her. I have to say that the only reason that this book did not get 5 stars is because it was too darn short! Omigod!-i want a trilogy!





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Teenage love...

    It was your typical teenage love story, with great music...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Review

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I have read it over six times. Now its more of a cute chessy book since I'm older, but will always remember what that first time reading it was like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    When It Happens

    I love this book! I thought I was just going to do a little reading before bed and ended up staying up all night long finishing it. A classic love story with a sense of humor that will keep you hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    great boookk!

    i was kind of iffy about this book. but once i statyed reading it, i knew it was going to be good. in the middle it got a little boring but overrall great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Loriann turk december 26

    Omg i loved rhis book yet not as exciting as i thought it would be bur it was awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but too much sexual content

    the headline said it all. I did really like this book and I read it in a day, but it had way too much sex mentioning. If this is what high school is really like, i'm scared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Really good

    Toby totally reminds me of a guy at school who used to like me and sarah reminds me of my friend whos name is sarah she even looks the same!! Recommended for teens
    i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Typical High School Romance- With A Twist!

    "When It Happens" is about the concept of opposites attracting. Both seniors in High School and looking for love, Sara and Toby could not be more different. Toby, a musician who has no plans for college, plans to make it big rocking out on stage. He also plans to have Sara fall in love with him. But, this could be a problem, considering that Sara has been dreaming about Dave, the popular baseball god that transferred from Colorado at the end of last school year. And Sara is the exact opposite of Toby. She's set her heart on NYU since her freshman year in High School, and is well on the path to becoming a student there. And when Dave asks her out, she finally thinks life is perfect. That is, until she cannot stop thinking about Toby, the blue eyed, mysterious boy who cannot stop looking at her. When Dave starts to show his true colors, Sara realizes that Dave is fake, while Toby is her something real. Written in alternating view points, "When It Happens" will definitely have you rooting for their unlikely matched relationship from the start. I enjoy that the book isn't the typical love story; that there is another boy involved before Toby and Sara end up together. Colasanti describes how High School is full of pointless cliques, and that you should always stay true to yourself. Some chapters do portray the stereotypical idea of teenagers: Using "like" as a constant word in their sentences, and not caring about school. But, this book truly captures the romance that everyone wants to have. If you are looking to read a Sarah Dessen style book that will leave you hoping for your very own soul mate, I strongly suggest this book. On a scale from 1-10, I would give this book a solid 8. Strongly written, and very visual, "When It Happens" will give you that feeling of hope for a future love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    So...

    CUTE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Its a very nice book.

    I liked this book alot, note I didn't say I loved it. The characters are very well developed and it adds to the book. The friends are all very different but yet still alike. The story line was good but predictable and maybe thats because it showed both perspectives. But it was still good. Way too short though. I would recommend this to friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    i liked this book!

    this book was good, i enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8