BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Maidens Mourn (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This series just keeps getting better. The mystery is drawn up w

This series just keeps getting better. The mystery is drawn up well, but it is the characters that keep you coming back.

posted by Book-fan-Friedrich on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Be forwarned-excessive profanity!!! I waited with great anticipa

Be forwarned-excessive profanity!!! I waited with great anticipation for this to come out and in some ways I was dilighted with the book but I was also highly dissappointed. For the story I would give it 4-5 stars. Loved how things are turning out for Sebastian and He...
Be forwarned-excessive profanity!!! I waited with great anticipation for this to come out and in some ways I was dilighted with the book but I was also highly dissappointed. For the story I would give it 4-5 stars. Loved how things are turning out for Sebastian and Hero. Also, enjoy the romantic moments because they are not too detailed but you can really feel the passion between the character. But I honestly had to give it a low mark because of the profanity. I noticed some in the last book but the author has gone to far this time. It doesn't make the story better but just a detraction. I find it hard to believe that British aristocracy would use such language especially since I have friends from England and they never use such language. I sincerely hope that she will go back to her original format or I am through reading her books!

posted by sassyblackie on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    This series just keeps getting better. The mystery is drawn up w

    This series just keeps getting better. The mystery is drawn up well, but it is the characters that keep you coming back.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    In my opinion, the series gets better with every book. The addi

    In my opinion, the series gets better with every book. The addition of
    Hero Jarvis has been fantastic. I look forward to the next book and
    uncovering the mystery of Sebastian's parentage as well as the
    developing relationship between the newlyweds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Artemis

    Hather more huntresses.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Excellent Read

    I love the entire Sebastian St. Cyr series. C. S. Harris writes engaging novels with a good mix of mystery, suspense, history, and dynamic characters. I'm always looking forward to the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    My Favorite Kind of Historical Mystery! Ms. Harris does so much

    My Favorite Kind of Historical Mystery!
    Ms. Harris does so much research and writes such interesting characters, there are many layers to the books and this one is definitely a treat. I am forever fascinated by the details of the dresses, hats, fabrics, types of professions, as well as the descriptions on real places and people that are woven into the story. In this one, we meet relatives on Alfred, Lord Tennyson. As for the main characters. here we have the newly wedded couple, who have so much in common, but really don't know it yet. It is so fun watching them get from point A to point C. Hero is such a wonderful, smart character.Writing her as the daughter of the most powerful man in England and making her the wife of the main character, who is complex himself, but whose worst enemy is her father, makes the tension in the story brilliant. In most mysteries, I can usually guess what will happen next and who did it. These novels are very different. New characters are introduced and I have yet to guess the outcome. Will we meet James Knox again? What is happening with Sofie Hendon? Will the baby be a boy or girl? I totally agree with the reviewer that stated these novels just get better and better. However, I don't get the profanity mentioned from the last reviewer; I did not catch any profanity; if you want it, watch TV. Also, this is early 19th century England; no one is going to talk the way we talk today. Gor!.... Now, I need to do some more research on some ot the things mentioned in the book. Hmmmm....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Be forwarned-excessive profanity!!! I waited with great anticipa

    Be forwarned-excessive profanity!!! I waited with great anticipation for this to come out and in some ways I was dilighted with the book but I was also highly dissappointed. For the story I would give it 4-5 stars. Loved how things are turning out for Sebastian and Hero. Also, enjoy the romantic moments because they are not too detailed but you can really feel the passion between the character. But I honestly had to give it a low mark because of the profanity. I noticed some in the last book but the author has gone to far this time. It doesn't make the story better but just a detraction. I find it hard to believe that British aristocracy would use such language especially since I have friends from England and they never use such language. I sincerely hope that she will go back to her original format or I am through reading her books!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Well done C.S. Harris, and welcome back Sebastina et all. Harris

    Well done C.S. Harris, and welcome back Sebastina et all. Harris once again, masterfully combines the who-done-it with the intricacies of the life of Lord Devlin... and oh what a great life he leads! The addition of Hero Jarvis Devlin was a masterstroke. Well researched and wonderfully written, these books just get better and better. I recommend them to anyone looking for an escape into the past. I have read them several times, not for the mystery but for the characters... they have become friends. I look forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Tacooo Belle

    Hiya titanic

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Love the series--but this isn't the best installment

    LOVE Sebastian and Hero--I found this series about two years ago and have just fallen in love with him, as a character. The gradual (sometimes too gradual) development of his relationship with Hero is a real joy. BUT "Maidens" is not the best part of the series--this one is rather slow, although the Arthurian-angle is one of my favorite subjects. Part of the problem is that for the bulk of the book Sebastian and Hero are basically at odds--too much distance (emotional and otherwise) between them. These novels work best when the lovers are "together"--if even sparring in their typical smart, sexually-charged, way. These newlyweds are trying to find their footing, but here's hoping Harris lets them settle into the passionate, tense relationship that works so well and stops all the "we want each other; we don't trust each other; is Sebastian even in love?" nonsense. The tendency to allow Hero to be a ruthless killer is really fun (she is smart and fiercely independent, which is great)--the woman can wield a weapon--but I hope it does not become predictable or ridiculous. And it's time to get rid of Kat--she was great before Hero became a dominant force; now she's just a distraction. It's time to move her along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great series. You really need to start with the first

    This is a great series. You really need to start with the first book to understand the nuances behind the actions. You fall in love with the characters - their flaws and strengths. You admire their courage, their honor and you dispair of their failings of understandings. You cheer when they take a step forward. You weep for the lies told and believed.
    I like the way that Sebastian and Hero start learning and accepting each other and start to realize that they have feelings. I always keep an eye out for the next installment. It is very well worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Great addition to the Sebastian St. Cyr series

    I really enjoy this series, and this book is a great addition. It's fast-paced and clever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Issue with book pages missing

    So far, a really good read but starting on page 189 the page formatting is broken. Can't advance by normal page turns and putting in each page through 192 there are sections missing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2