Customer Reviews for

When Parents Text: So Much Said...So Little Understood

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend.Very current and hilarious!

A well organized, fun read. Lets you know what all those text messages are about. Uplifting look at some of the ways parents(grandparents too) and children communicate. You will relate to so many of the messages. Watch out where you read it, though, as you will definite...
A well organized, fun read. Lets you know what all those text messages are about. Uplifting look at some of the ways parents(grandparents too) and children communicate. You will relate to so many of the messages. Watch out where you read it, though, as you will definitely laugh out loud (LOL)!
Be prepared as you may discover some of your texts in the pages!

posted by MartiC on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I didnt barly start

I didnt realy start but so far its funny

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Highly recommend.Very current and hilarious!

    A well organized, fun read. Lets you know what all those text messages are about. Uplifting look at some of the ways parents(grandparents too) and children communicate. You will relate to so many of the messages. Watch out where you read it, though, as you will definitely laugh out loud (LOL)!
    Be prepared as you may discover some of your texts in the pages!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    I can relate

    This book had me laughing so loud people would hear me from outside my back room at work. I have a mother who sometimes sends texts somewhat identical to these so I enjoyed reading others' more unfortunate crazy texts

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I laughed out loud several times!

    If you have kids, chances are you have texted them. My kids got cell phones when they were in high school, and it became so easy to stay in touch with them via text. They didn't have to interrupt what they were doing or act like their parents mattered to them in front of their friends. Two twenty-something women, Lauren Kaelin and Sophia Fraioli, started talking about the goofy (dorky?) text messages their parents would send them, and so they started a website- When Parents Text. They encouraged other people to submit texts from their own parents, and the site became so popular, they now have compiled a book When Parents Text- So Much Said...So Little Understood. This book had me laughing all the way through it; it reminded me of S@#* My Dad Says. They organize the texts by categories, like "N00bs", which are texts that make no sense (usually done by parents just learning to text and unable to clearly see what they are texting), "Master Class", which consists of texts done by expert texters, complete with fancy emoticons, and "Pets", which the authors have determined have become very important to parents who suffer from "empty nest syndrome". The emoticons really floored me. I had no idea that there were so many parents out there who spent so much time creating elaborate emoticons, which do nothing more than exasperate their children. )8( is an angel sent to watch over one mom's adult child. Bow tie man :-)8 is big one too. My favorite though is Booty Shake- (_/_) (_\_) (_/_) (_\_) (_/_). Thank goodness there is handy glossary at the end to guide newbies through the new language. This one, titled I.Found.u., hit home for me. MOM: It's 3am where r you? (20 minutes later) MOM: Please let me know what's going on. R u OK? (5 minutes later) MOM: I. Found.u. You r in bed. I didn't hear u come home. I was so worried! Glad we R all safe and sound. Love u. This is funny to me because when my son was a senior in high school, I sent this same text. I received a reply that he was sound asleep in his bed and had been home for HOURS. Oops, my bad. I'm telling you, I LMAO reading this book. (Look it up if you don't know). This book will appeal to parents and grandparents, (there is chapter on grandparents texting too), as well as the kids they text. You will know who is reading this book in your house because you will hear bursts of laughter coming from whomever has the book. I have to admit that I am afraid to check out the website in case any of my texts are there. I have sent some really crazy ones while walking around NYC without my glasses on.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Texting FAIL

    Mom: Hey! How's it going? Have you been changing your undies, eating your vagina, and staying away from strangers?
    Me: Uuuuuhhhh, no. That's my boyfreind's job :)
    Mom: Sorry. My Iphone has a mind of its own. I meant have you been eating your veggies
    Me: Oh. Yes, I have.
    damn you dirty minded phones! :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Haha

    Looks HILARIOUS!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Favorites are...

    Mom: i dont get some of that when parents text website.
    Me: like what?
    Mom: 4/20?? (cannot insert emoticon due to lack of text symbles)?
    Me: national marijuana day and a vagina
    Also
    Dad: dont forget to set your cocks guys! Happy New Years!!!
    Finally
    Mom: YAY january first! HAPPY HANGOVER SWEETIE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    LOVE IT

    So funny ! A must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    I didnt barly start

    I didnt realy start but so far its funny

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    what time is it ? . . . BOOTY SHAKE TIME !!!!

    (_/_) (_\_) uuuuhhhhhh (_/_) (_\_)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Logan

    Hey kae this is our place.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Brooke

    "I missed you girl!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Lin

    It's fine..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Use caution if gifting a teen

    I bought this book unread for my two nephews and returned it to the store. I saw it on a recommended gifts site suggested for young people their age. However, when I got it and looked at it, there were things in it that I felt were very inappropriate for an adult to give to a young person. Funny is one thing--really off color with bad language is another. Yes, I know they know about it. Yes, I know they hear it. But not from me, an older relative who is a role model. Probably ok for young adults (in their 20s) but I was horrified to find that parents in the book texted such things to a child. I don't find language about body parts all that entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1