Customer Reviews for

When She Was Wicked

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

WHEN SHE WAS WICKED by Anne Baxter is an delightful historical r

WHEN SHE WAS WICKED by Anne Baxter is an delightful historical romance. #1 A Honeycote Novel series. A lowly seamstress meets,and a Duke.Can love blossom as a blackmailer falls in love? Filled with secrets,flaws,romance,fate and love. An amazing story of England's socia...
WHEN SHE WAS WICKED by Anne Baxter is an delightful historical romance. #1 A Honeycote Novel series. A lowly seamstress meets,and a Duke.Can love blossom as a blackmailer falls in love? Filled with secrets,flaws,romance,fate and love. An amazing story of England's social class,family,the fight to keep one's family happy and healthy. With engaging,realistic characters who will tug at your heart strings and an interesting intriguing plot. You will not regret picking up "When She Was WIcked". As Miss Anabelle Honeycote and Owen Sherbourne, the Duke of Huntford,come to terms with their feelings,their family and their love. A must read! A wicked read from beginning to end. Fairy tales can come true! Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: MILD
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Boring

posted by 9268746 on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WHEN SHE WAS WICKED by Anne Baxter is an delightful historical r

    WHEN SHE WAS WICKED by Anne Baxter is an delightful historical romance. #1 A Honeycote Novel series. A lowly seamstress meets,and a Duke.Can love blossom as a blackmailer falls in love? Filled with secrets,flaws,romance,fate and love. An amazing story of England's social class,family,the fight to keep one's family happy and healthy. With engaging,realistic characters who will tug at your heart strings and an interesting intriguing plot. You will not regret picking up "When She Was WIcked". As Miss Anabelle Honeycote and Owen Sherbourne, the Duke of Huntford,come to terms with their feelings,their family and their love. A must read! A wicked read from beginning to end. Fairy tales can come true! Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: MILD
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    At nearly 400 pages and over an inch thick When She was Wicked i

    At nearly 400 pages and over an inch thick When She was Wicked is a big book and still when I got to the last page a "no! It can't be over yet" zipped through my thoughts. Barton's debut novel was a huge hit for me and was filled with characters I easily fell in love with and knew I would miss as soon as I finished reading their story.


    I loved the whole feel of the book. The interactions between between Annabelle and Owen, with his friends, between Owen and his sisters and the friendship Annabelle formed with them over time. They were all just wonderful to watch. These people have been through so much heartache in recent years but they have good hearts and still know what's important in life. Their family. And they'll do anything and everything they have to to keep the people they love happy and healthy. How could you not love that?


    The relationship between Owen and Annabelle was pretty entertaining. They're supposed to be at odds with each other, seeing she tried to blackmail him and he's pretty much holding her life in his hands because of it but the two can't seem to help their attraction and honestly I felt myself urging them on. I loved both of them and their odd arrangement of her living with his family while she created complete wardrobes for his sisters.


    [Just adding in really quick but this is one book I wish had pictures! OMG the descriptions of the gowns Annabelle created were simply amazing and I'd love to see what inspired them.]


    Even with the blackmail scheme Annabelle was a lovely heroine. She's hard working, caring, sweet and no push over. I loved that she was a little fiery every now and again and didn't go along with everything Owen demanded. And Owen. He can play the part of the cold, in charge Duke but this man is such a softie when it comes to his sisters and those he cares about that he'll melt ya on the spot. They really were a good pairing for each other. This one wasn't too steamy. There are...relations. But they're pretty tame compared to most of the books I read and most mainstream romances. It's still nice and sigh worthy but nothing too graphic.


    If you like sweet books that just leave you with a smile on your face this is one to try. I can't wait to spend more time with this group of people as the series develops.  Anne Barton has definitely made my watch list and I'll be snapping her next book up the second it's published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Enjoyed this book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    What Fun!

    A brand new author with a fresh story to share Anne Barton's winning characters and brisk storytelling left me wanting more I will be adding her to my authors to watch list so i wil be sure to get the next installment in her debut series Witty, romantic and engaging Give this series a try if you like historical romances

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I loved this book and can't wait for her next book to come out.

    I loved this book and can't wait for her next book to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Boring

    Boring

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly & posted at Under the Co

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Wonderful story with interesting characters” ~Under the Covers

    Miss Anabelle Honeycote needs to supplement her meager income as a seamstress in a dress shop. Her mother has been stricken with an illness and the pittance Anabelle receives does not cover the medicine and care. Her position as the seamstress puts her in a very advantageous place to hear lots of juicy gossip about the aristocracy in London, and if some of this gossip got out, it could ruin some reputations. In order to help her family, Anabelle has taken up blackmailing some of the objects of the gossip. Things were going moderately well in that department until she is caught by Owen Sherbourne, the Duke of Huntford, who basically gives Miss Honeycote an ultimatum, jail or working for him. The proposition of designing and sewing wardrobes for his beloved sisters is just too hard to pass up, especially when the Duke throws in that he will take care of Miss Honeycote’s mother and sister.

    The handsome Duke has Anabelle move into his home while she fulfills her end of the bargain, and in the meantime becomes enchanted by the oblivious to her allure seamstress. Alas, Anabelle’s station in life is just too far below the Duke, as he knows he must marry someone who on his own level, but he he just can’t keep his hands to himself and begins a whirlwind secret affair with the seamstress. Even after he discovers that Anabelle is the granddaughter of a Viscount, he still in denial that a relationship could be possible.

    Anabelle has no illusions, even with the temptation of Owen. She knows that once her job is done, she will fade into the background of anonymity. For the first time in her life, she has friends of sorts, as Owen’s lovely sisters, Olivia and Rose immediately take to Anabelle. The sisters have not had an easy time of it as their mother ran away, causing a scandal, and their distraught father does away with his own life. These incidents leave Rose a mute and Owen wracking his brain at how to help her. In the weeks that Anabelle lives with the Sherbourne family, the affects they have on each other are astonishing, especially in the transformation of the working class Anabelle, into the beautiful companion of Rose and Olivia.

    This touching story is a revelation that love can overcome all differences once one’s eyes are open. I become more and more attracted to the stories where the females are strong and can stand on their own, instead of the simpering lady, backed into a corner. This first book in the Honeycote series by Anne Barton is a wonderful story with interesting characters. I look forward to the next in the series and definitely recommend WHEN SHE WAS WICKED to all.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book and I am looking forward to the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Easy read, moves along at a perfect pace and you won't want to put it down.

    WHEN SHE WAS WICKED by Anne Baxter is a great read! You get involved with the characters instantly and as the hero (Owen) evolves, you find you really care about his happiness too. All the characters of the hero's family and the heroine--you care about and want to know what's next. I did catch some phrases and words that are definitely from "today's world" not 1800's but except for those speed bumps in reading--it's really great! I can hardly wait for the next installment. This was an excellent book and I warn you--you WILL CARE TOO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Excellent

    This story was exciting and well-written. It is a fun and interesting read. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I...

    I lovet this novel, as I am shure you did to.I love all supernatural stuff, am 14 yeats old, and my favorite food is pizza .I also recigmend athe tigers curse series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Crystal N Book provided by: NetGalley Review origin

    Reviewed by: Crystal N
    Book provided by: NetGalley
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    This book was a great read. I started reading it and got into it. It’s the book that you can’t put down. I never realized how long the book was until after I read it and went back to see how many pages it had.




    If I was in the situation that Annabelle is in I could see myself doing the same thing that she does. She isn’t doing it to be mean, she does it for her family. When it comes to family you will do whatever you have to, to make sure that they have what they need to survive. She never thought about the consequences. Well not until she meets Owen.




    Owen is the man that you would want to take things over. He loves his two sisters and has a soft spot for all of his handful of aunts. When he gets a note threatening his sister and her reputation he decides to take matters into his own hands.




    Nothing goes as planned between Owen and Annabelle. That is what makes it such a wonderful story. You can tell that they have something going on between them but they can never be together. I love how the author brings out her characters. How she brings out their personalities.




    The story line was great and something that you could see happening in real life. You get to see the love that they both have for their families and what they both will do to protect and help them. It shows you that love doesn’t care what social status you are. You can fall in love with anyone and you can’t control it.




    I loved reading this book and can’t wait until the next book comes out and see what other adventure I will get to experience. Who will next fall in love and how long it takes for them to realize it and quit fighting it.




    If you love historical books then I will tell you that you really need to try this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1