Customer Reviews for

When Snow Falls (Whiskey Creek Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Tender Love Story

When I finished reading WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES I was left wanting more and WHEN SNOW FALLS picked up where WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES left off. Brenda Novak writes in such a way that you can read the last page of WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES and transition smoothly into WHEN SNOW...
When I finished reading WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES I was left wanting more and WHEN SNOW FALLS picked up where WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES left off. Brenda Novak writes in such a way that you can read the last page of WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES and transition smoothly into WHEN SNOW FALLS. The telling of Cheyenne's and Dylan's story was written in a way that you saw it grow from just a rose bud into a perfect long stem rose. There love was the purest of all love. Brenda Novak tells the background story of the hard knocks of both Dylan and Cheyenne in such symmetry that you come to understand why they don't trust their feelings at first. They want to stay with what’s safe not with what’s true. Dylan's the rebel, the trouble maker in the eyes of Cheyenne's friends but they'll come to learn you can't judge a book by its cover. There is a sub-story in WHEN SNOW FALLS which is that of Presley, Cheyenne's older sister, and Aaron Amos, Dylan's brother. As we Cheyenne's and Dylan's story unfolds Brenda Novak sets you up for the next. WHEN SNOW FALLS is full of surprises and new characters will be introduced. I highly recommend this book to readers that enjoy a good love story between a prim and proper woman and the man from the wrong side of the tracks. You'll truly love Cheyenne's and Dylan's story. Keep a Kleenex handy.

posted by booklover4170 on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shadeoak

Very good! Read my story at oak results one to five.

posted by 3502028 on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Once again I'm hooked

    Brenda never fails to reel you in. Her stories are compelling and the people in them are those I would love to know personally.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Tender Love Story

    When I finished reading WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES I was left wanting more and WHEN SNOW FALLS picked up where WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES left off. Brenda Novak writes in such a way that you can read the last page of WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES and transition smoothly into WHEN SNOW FALLS. The telling of Cheyenne's and Dylan's story was written in a way that you saw it grow from just a rose bud into a perfect long stem rose. There love was the purest of all love. Brenda Novak tells the background story of the hard knocks of both Dylan and Cheyenne in such symmetry that you come to understand why they don't trust their feelings at first. They want to stay with what’s safe not with what’s true. Dylan's the rebel, the trouble maker in the eyes of Cheyenne's friends but they'll come to learn you can't judge a book by its cover. There is a sub-story in WHEN SNOW FALLS which is that of Presley, Cheyenne's older sister, and Aaron Amos, Dylan's brother. As we Cheyenne's and Dylan's story unfolds Brenda Novak sets you up for the next. WHEN SNOW FALLS is full of surprises and new characters will be introduced. I highly recommend this book to readers that enjoy a good love story between a prim and proper woman and the man from the wrong side of the tracks. You'll truly love Cheyenne's and Dylan's story. Keep a Kleenex handy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Loved it

    This is the best book. Picks up right where her last one ended! Cannot wait for the next one in 2013!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    Snow Drop ~ Chapter 1

    I was sitting at my desk. Listening to Ms. Amore talk about math. Since I did'nt know how to read, Braille. So the teacher just let me listen. She is very nice. <P> The school bell rang. I got up out of my seat. And headed to the class room door. I steped out side the class room each day to be greeting by wads of paper hitting me. <P> The tenth wad of paper hit me, "Stop! Please stop!" I said. They kept throwing the paper at me. I heard someone else say, "Guys! Come on, stop." I shoved past some kids. I walked down the hall way. I hit the wall once, on my way out. <P> I wondered who that person was. Everyday, I got walked home from school by a student of a higher grade. Today, Justin walked me home. He is always nice to me. He went slower for me. ~Is he only being nice because I'm blind?~ I thought to myself. We arived at my house, the sun was setting. "Good night Ms. Barkington." He said. I smiled, "Good night Justin." I said. I closed the door. He walked away from my house. <P> My dog, Lucky went over to help me to bed. He pushed me to my room. He got my PJ's out. I put my PJ's on. Then got into bed. He tucked me in. He jumped up and layed on the end of the bed. I fell to sleep. <P> The next morning was sunny, because the news and everyone was saying it was. I could fell the hot suns rays. I felt warm in the sunlight. I started walking to the bus stop. Lucky guiding me. The school bus arived I got on. I sat down in the frount. Someone sat next to me, I could'nt tell who it was. "Who are you?" I said. "Its me." It was Justin. I sighed with relife that it was'nt somone else. "Okay." I slightly shived as the sun went behind some clouds. "Are you cold?" He put his jacket around me. "I'm fine. But, thank you." I said. "Okay." He said. <P> We got to School. He waled me to class, "Are we late?" I asked. "No." He answered. He stoped. "Hello Snow, and Justin." Ms. Amore said. I walked to my desk and sat down. "Okay, I have to get to class." Justin said. "Bye." I said. <P> Ms. Amore's class did math first, then we did some other things. I listened to all of it. <P> Ms. Amore spoke, "There is a legend about a Snowflake, or Snow Drop that can do things that we could never do." Kyle interuptid, "So it could heal the blind? Because Snow might want to find it if it does." Ms. Amore looked at Kyle, "Kyle. Stop, and sit down. Now! And, It might be able to heal the blind tho." She said. <P> &starf <P> (Thats all for Chapter one. How do you like it? I hope you liked it. I really do. So commet, tell me what you thought of it. Applications are welcomed. Okay? So next chapter will come out soon. I say cheak in daily. If I spelled enything wrong, tell me. Because I know I probly spelled somethings wrong. So thanks! <P> ~ Rainbowfall

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.7 Star Review - When Snow Falls Cheyenne believes she loves a

    4.7 Star Review - When Snow Falls

    Cheyenne believes she loves a man her best friend is dating. But when she see Dylan in the park and he wants her she does not know who she wants more.

    Dylan has wanted Cheyenne for a while but has never acted on the feelings. When he does the chemistry is off the charts. The more times they are together the more he falls for her.

    Cheyenne is confused she has thought she was in love with a man ever since she met him only to fall into another man's arms.

    While both men are trying to woo she wonders who she should really be with. Should she choose the one she thought she loved or the bad boy she can not stop thinking about? Which ones does she want more than anything?

    Loved Dylan and Cheyenne in this story. A side story is also included in this book about her sister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    5 Stars --- WoW

    Thanks to the publisher, Harlequin, and NetGalley for the chance to read this early!

    I loved Brenda Novak’s Stillwater Trilogy and Last Stand series – so when I discovered she was releasing a new series I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to give it a read – Each book in this series so far is standalone but, I recommend you start with the novella, When We Touch – it introduces you to Whiskey Creek. Then follow that up with When Lightning Strikes because you are not going to want to miss a moment with Simon & Gail.

    Ms. Novak's reputation for world-building and depth of characterization shines brilliantly in this well executed small town romance. I eagerly awaited this book and boy was it worth the wait! The story picks up shortly after the end of When Lightning Strikes. Too bad the next installment, When Summer Comes, isn’t releasing until early 2013.

    The moment Cheyenne “Chey” Christensen entered Whiskey Creek she fell in love…with the town and Joe DeMarco. All these years later she is still in love with Whiskey Creek and her crush Joe hasn’t lessened. Now her best friend, Eve Harmon, is infatuated with him – and even though it is killing her Chey is being supportive; not that Eve (or anyone for that matter) realizes the depth of Chey’s feelings for Joe. After much encouragement Eve finally asks Joe out and, when he agrees Chey discovers she is torn between being happy for Eve and hoping the date is a disaster. However, it doesn’t really matter, it’s not like Chey has time for a social life, with all the other crap going on in her life: (1) her mother, Anita, is dying (2) her sister, Presley, is on drugs again (3) all of her friends are on going on a cruise leaving her alone for Christmas (4) the stress of managing the Inn’s renovations…not to mention (5) the crazy dreams she keeps having about a blond woman.

    Enter Dylan Amos, Whiskey Creek’s #1 bad boy. He comes from the wrond side of the tracks and he’s landed in hot water more times than he can count. He’s exactly the kind of guy Chey’s always kept her distance from; he is more Presley type. However, Dylan temps her like no other man has before; soon they find themselves caught up in a raw heat that’s out of control. Too bad Dylan’s not the only one interested in Chey…it seems that now (of all the rotten timing) Joe’s discovers he wants Chey for himself.

    There are so many AWESOME characters in this series that I hope inspire future installments. Between the remaining single friends in her group and the 4 SEXY…SEXY remaining Amos brothers there must be at least a dozen more installments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2015

    Highly Recomend

    Love the Whiskey Creek Series, feel like I live there and know these people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Snowflakeclan

    Welcome to snowflakeclan,in this clan we wwill do border patrols,and we will meet every saturday for gatherings,if you could not tell already this is one of the pact clans.

    In the next res you have to put your bio if you want to join this clan,in res three there is the meeting area,that is were we meet every day to talk.

    I will always come up as shimmer something with all of my clans.If you have any questions then ask me.Have fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    This book started out showing Chey as a special person who wasn'

    This book started out showing Chey as a special person who wasn't like her mother and sister, someone who was better than their slutty ways. I don't think that a woman has to be 'layed' to understand that sex is fun. It's dangerous and makes others look at you as 'easy', ask most men who they want a Presley or a Chey before she became the soiled proof that she wasn't really the character she protrayed. She would have been better off holding on to her love and find it before moving to the 'easy mark' that she became in just a few pages. I wish I could get my money back this trash isn't worth reading, I stopped when she opened the door to the 'dangerous one'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2015

    Great story and loved the HEA.

    Great story and loved the HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Goldenstar

    Goldenstar layed in the rocky ravine motionless and as Starclan worked to repair his wounds the best they could, he woke up in the quiet Starclan clearing. Goldenstar sat up and looked around with a completely blank stare. All of it was too much. Velvetstar was gone, and Shadowstar had done something to Lilywolf. Now he was afraid of her, and he worried returning to his body was a sure fate to be found by her again. What could he do? He couldn't stay here, but he had no life to return to aside from being hunted down by Lilywolf and by extension Shadowstar. The hopeless tom stood and looked around, wondering why things were so quiet. Maybe Velvetstar was around. If she could tell him that it was all in his mind, that it was only a dream and that Lilywolf was still trustworthy, he would believe her. But still the clearing was silent and Goldenstar sighed. A chilled breeze rushed the clearing and darkness fell. A voice came with it that sent the worst fear he'd ever felt in his life deep in his gut. "Hello Goldenstar," the voice hissed as he turned around, yellow gaze wide with nothing but fear. The normally brave tom knew better than to think he had any chance of standing up to him, and wasn't about to risk his life doing the impossible. What he saw when he faced Shadowstar made him sick with confusion, fear, and pain. Not only did he meet with Shadowstar but beside him was Lilywolf. ~Goldenstar (hope this works...)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    I enjoyed this book and have since read several more by Brenda N

    I enjoyed this book and have since read several more by Brenda Novak.  I have liked them all and would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Great story

    Her stories are real I love Dylan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    WELL WRITTEN!

    This was a difficult but interesting story to read. I cried a lot with the suffering characters. I had to search for book 3 in this series, but glad I found it and had the opportunity to read it. Thanks Brenda Novak, you really know how to touch the heart. LA-TXN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Team Free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    angelsWing

    Smiles

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Ha!

    I just realized, SnowClan's old camp was at snowfall res 2!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    SilverIce

    Pads out of the warriors den. Good morning everyone" she meows.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    FrostStar

    (Sorry had piano practice!) She pads in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5