Customer Reviews for

When Sparks Fly

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Really Good Sci-Fi Romance

A good Science Fiction Romance is hard to find. I am so happy I stumbled across this one. The plot line was well developed, the characters were likable, the sex was hot without being raunchy, and the science / technology was imaginative and well placed without being too...
A good Science Fiction Romance is hard to find. I am so happy I stumbled across this one. The plot line was well developed, the characters were likable, the sex was hot without being raunchy, and the science / technology was imaginative and well placed without being too 'hard' or 'high tech'. I've already purchased the other 2 books in the series and can't wait to read them.

posted by Tinman01 on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Different

My first scifi romance....i liked it.

posted by 7214097 on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    A Really Good Sci-Fi Romance

    A good Science Fiction Romance is hard to find. I am so happy I stumbled across this one. The plot line was well developed, the characters were likable, the sex was hot without being raunchy, and the science / technology was imaginative and well placed without being too 'hard' or 'high tech'. I've already purchased the other 2 books in the series and can't wait to read them.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Spark Series 1

    From the author's website:

    When Sparks Fly
    Polaris just got a little hotter.

    Perhaps it was his wild black hair and indigo eyes, or maybe it was his enigmatic aura, but there was something about Hyna Blue that drew Gem. The man had clearly done hard labor, his cybernetic implants gave him increased strength, but he was no longer whole.and now he was getting drunk in her tavern. Yes, Hyna Blue aroused instincts both carnal and nurturing. Gem's blood had been fiery to start with. Blue heated it even more.

    Of course, since the planet of Polaris discovered its trainum mine, things were hot all over. Prosperity had blown in on a solar wind, along with many disreputable types, the least deceptive of which were the shape-shifting aliens. The ruined beauty of one patron and his drunken proposals were the least of Gem's worries-and perhaps her one solace. Like her father had named it long ago, this inn was The Spark. Gem had to survive the blaze. autumndawnbooks.com

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read!!!

    Great book at a great pace. Keeps you entertained and wanting the next chapter. I really hope the author continues this series. I'm hooked!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    Love When Sparks Fly. I highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    When Sparks Fly - Autumn Dawn

    This story is really an out of this world story. I think this maybe the second book of this kind I've ever read. Really different, but very good.
    Three girls inherit a bar/diner from their father. Its good business and eveyone comes back. Then something happens to the brewmaster and eveything falls apart. They are being watched because of a possible drug bust and find out that the brewmaster plays a big part. Two of the girls know whats going on. The eldest has no idea that anything is going on. Shape shifters, a guy that appears down on his luck and many more characters all of a sudden change the entire story.
    This story is non stop action, and thrown in there is a love story too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    A good read-Recommend

    This is a story of 3 sisters who acquire an Inn when their father died. Each handled the situation in a different manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Different

    My first scifi romance....i liked it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Very good book, with a good plot line. I can't wait to read the

    Very good book, with a good plot line. I can't wait to read the next two books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Pretty good... 3.5 stars

    Not a bad read, but extra long with arduous instrospection. Very near the end became excessively slow and somewhat boring when the sexual attraction wasn't so in-your-face early on...perhaps an afterthought to extend the page count? Sci-fi tech was handled well and not over the top. Likeable characters. Overall, pretty well written. I'd read another story by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Good

    I love Autumn Dawn's work. I read this first book in the series after I read the other two, so it wasn't as.....exciting. But, it was still a good sci fi love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Sci-fi romance

    Approx 500 pages. Not bad read. Kept interest with all that was going on. Dont usually like sci-fi but this one i read in a day. Found book 2 but not a book 3. Figured there would be one for each sister? Hope you enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    GOOD READ IF YOU ENJOY SYFI ROMANCES

    GOOD READ IF YOU ENJOY SYFI ROMANCES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Great

    I really enjoyed how different it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    A amazing visit to the future

    522 pages. This was a very detailed and interesting read. Great character development and lots of twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Pretty good but a little lost...

    It was good read. I enjoyed the twists here and there, allowing it to be more than just another love story. It was very discriptive and detailed. However, i had a had a hard time keeping track with Blue and Gem's romance. It didn't transition very well. One minute Gem hires him and doesn't like him then all of a sudden she's smitten him. It was a little confusing and unreal to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great read

    When i started this book i did not think i would like it, but it was a good book. Space who would have though it would make a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Good story.

    Don't really read many space books but I enjoyed this one. Lots of action and a little steamy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Really surprising!

    Ill be honest, i bought this because it was free, but this turned out to be by far the best free book i have evr read! At first when i read the synopsis i was about to pass it up because while i like paranormal/sci-fi with a bit of fluff i usually cant get into the cross galaxy-space and prefer urban fantasy with a play on mythology; i was so gladi picked it up. The plot was fluid with the perfect amount of action, humor and sexual tension. The characters were enjoyable, even the minor ones only mentioned as plot fillers. For those of you like me that get annoed over hokey alternate worlds that seem to fit the steriotype, fear not, even a nongenre fan would enjoy this and digest the world Dawn creates. I finished this book wanting to find the next in the series and completely surprised that it was free. My only complaint would be that the resolution with the villian seemdd alittle rushed like she couldnt quite figure how to end it, otherwis i am completely satisfied withthis book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Wonderful

    Loved it. Loved it. Unlike the previous comments i didnt think the hero unneccessarily used sex as a tool, it was not a confusing read or abrupt ending. And the lost of the dog was not a problem. Great read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Whitestar

    "Here!" ~Arriving Whitestar (creative meeting places!)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7