BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Summer Comes (Whiskey Creek Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

When Summer Comes by Brenda Novak 5 STARS when Summer Comes is

When Summer Comes by Brenda Novak
5 STARS
when Summer Comes is a Whiskey Creek book. It took me longer to read this book because I got so emotional and had to wipe the tears.
Thier are few in my family & friends who are dealing with kidney transplant, so it hit clo...
When Summer Comes by Brenda Novak
5 STARS
when Summer Comes is a Whiskey Creek book. It took me longer to read this book because I got so emotional and had to wipe the tears.
Thier are few in my family & friends who are dealing with kidney transplant, so it hit close. Plus I like the characters in Whiskey Creek.I look forward to coming back and visiting them again.
Callie Vanetta heard her door knock loudly in the middle of the night. She lives alone at a family farm. The voice on the porch demanded help and asked if a man was thier to help him. He needed a first aid kit.
Callie knew it was a stranger than because pretty much the whole town knows she is staying thier to fix up the place to sell it.
Callie dialed 911 and told them someone was banging on her door saying he needed help.
She told the man that she had called the cops. The stranger had said why did you call them it will only make things worse. He took off.
The cops did not find him and the blood trail ended. After they left Callie went back to bed. She is really sick and if she does not get a liver transplant by end of summer she will die. Callie is hiding it from everyone.
Callie wakes up to noise in her bathroom. Levi McCloud is in her bathroom trying to find first aid kit. He fell in the bathtub. Levi has bite marks all over him and has lost a lot of blood. He won't go to emergency room and makes her promise to not call the cops again.
So Callie calls her neighbor a retired vet. They both fix him up. Levi has been back from war for two years traveling around the country on his motorcycle. He broke down up the road from Callie and while pushing his motorcycle was attacked by two dogs and he fought them off. All he owns is his bike and backpack.
Callie makes him a deal he can stay in the room in the barn and help fix it and paint it and she will toss in food and money to fix the bike.
Because Callie is facing death she is acting different. She is not to worried about him hurting her. Since noone knows about her illness they want her to be careful and get rid of him.
Thier were so many places that got my tears flowing. This book made me feel so much.
Thier is so much drama in the book besides what Callie is facing. Her friends have different problems, Levi has lots of issues, someone tries to kill Levi. I only put the book down to wipe my eyes. Thier is one love scene.
I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley
01/29/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin Mira 400 pages ISBN-13: 978-0778314233

posted by rhonda1111RL on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

recommend

love her books

posted by 1949640 on May 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    When Summer Comes by Brenda Novak 5 STARS when Summer Comes is

    When Summer Comes by Brenda Novak
    5 STARS
    when Summer Comes is a Whiskey Creek book. It took me longer to read this book because I got so emotional and had to wipe the tears.
    Thier are few in my family & friends who are dealing with kidney transplant, so it hit close. Plus I like the characters in Whiskey Creek.I look forward to coming back and visiting them again.
    Callie Vanetta heard her door knock loudly in the middle of the night. She lives alone at a family farm. The voice on the porch demanded help and asked if a man was thier to help him. He needed a first aid kit.
    Callie knew it was a stranger than because pretty much the whole town knows she is staying thier to fix up the place to sell it.
    Callie dialed 911 and told them someone was banging on her door saying he needed help.
    She told the man that she had called the cops. The stranger had said why did you call them it will only make things worse. He took off.
    The cops did not find him and the blood trail ended. After they left Callie went back to bed. She is really sick and if she does not get a liver transplant by end of summer she will die. Callie is hiding it from everyone.
    Callie wakes up to noise in her bathroom. Levi McCloud is in her bathroom trying to find first aid kit. He fell in the bathtub. Levi has bite marks all over him and has lost a lot of blood. He won't go to emergency room and makes her promise to not call the cops again.
    So Callie calls her neighbor a retired vet. They both fix him up. Levi has been back from war for two years traveling around the country on his motorcycle. He broke down up the road from Callie and while pushing his motorcycle was attacked by two dogs and he fought them off. All he owns is his bike and backpack.
    Callie makes him a deal he can stay in the room in the barn and help fix it and paint it and she will toss in food and money to fix the bike.
    Because Callie is facing death she is acting different. She is not to worried about him hurting her. Since noone knows about her illness they want her to be careful and get rid of him.
    Thier were so many places that got my tears flowing. This book made me feel so much.
    Thier is so much drama in the book besides what Callie is facing. Her friends have different problems, Levi has lots of issues, someone tries to kill Levi. I only put the book down to wipe my eyes. Thier is one love scene.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley
    01/29/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin Mira 400 pages ISBN-13: 978-0778314233

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Callie has received bad news.  She needs a liver transplant or o

    Callie has received bad news.  She needs a liver transplant or only has a few months to live.   The one thing she doesn't want is to live the last months with pity from her friends.  She decides to move to her grandparents  farm for her last summer.  It's the one place that has always made her happy.

    Levi is just passing through Whiskey Creek when his motorcycle breaks down and he is attacked by vicious dogs.  He goes to the closest place for help, Callie is unsure about opening the door to  a stranger.  When she sees the blood left on her porch by the stranger, she knows he needs help.  After getting Levi patched up she strikes a deal with him.  She'll front him the money for repairs for his bike if he helps out at the farm.

    Living and working around the farm, is making it harder for both of them to keep their secrets.   It's also harder for them to keep their feelings from each other.  Callie is afraid of leading Levi  on, and Levi is afraid  of  betraying a lost love.Brenda takes us back to Whiskey Creek a small town where your friends will always be there for you, even if you are not sure their help is what you want.  When Summer Comes,  will keep you turning the pages, hoping Callie & Levi can see what is right in from of them, and how family and friends will always be there for you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    recommend

    love her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    I cried and cried

    I cried through the whole ending!!! This author is so good at creating realistic characters...when one of them is dying, you feel like you're losing a friend. I guess I'll have to read this whole series. I have loved all the books so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Goldenstar 4

    have to get away," he thought frantically. He didn't want to leave Lilywolf, but he shecat before him was no longer Lilywolf, it couldn't be. Goldenstar turned and ran, having both cats on his tail instantly. The sound of beating paws came behind him along with Lilywolfs words, "I'm trying to help!" But Goldenstar only ran. Eventually the world around him began to fade to darkness. Next the Horseclans leader opened his wide yellow gaze to the sky above. He was laying on his side in the ravine looking up, out of breath and very much afraid. How could any of this be happening. (Okay maybe you can respond back at gone away!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.7 Star Review - When Summer Comes Callie has gotten horrible

    4.7 Star Review - When Summer Comes

    Callie has gotten horrible news. She needs a liver transplant. She has decided that she will tell everyone about her condition later. She moved out of town to her farm. She will live out the rest of her time how she wants.

    Levi is on the run. After being attacked he seeks shelter with Callie. She will allow him to stay if he does things around the house and barn in exchange for a place to stay.

    As the days go by they grow closer but she can feel Levi holding back. But what does she really know about Levi and what does she really want from him?

    When he finds out she is sick and keeping it from him he leaves.

    As the days pass and she gets sicker she wonders if she will ever se him again.

    Will Levi come back and see her before it's too late?

    Loved The interaction between Levi and Callie in this story. Her pain comes through in the words. Brenda knows just how to make you feel all the emotions during her stories and makes you keep turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Wow, just when I think that I can't possibly love this series mo

    Wow, just when I think that I can't possibly love this series more than I do, I read the next installment.  The characters are amazing!  In
    the other books I wasn't really a big fan of Callie's but after reading her book, I like her just as much as all the rest.  The story is just
    amazing, it's got so much heart and thank goodness things that I won't mention because I don't want to spoil it turn out the way they do.
     There were definitely tears involved but in the end they were happy tears.  I really like the fact that this series centers around this group
    of friends that have known each other for so long and have developed such a deep relationship.  These books aren't just about
    romance, or small town life, they are about enduring friendship and the strength that you can gain from those who care the most about
    you.  They are an eclectic bunch of folks and they just mesh, which amazes me to no end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Light summer romance

    This was my first book by Brenda Novak – A light summer romance with Callie (a photographer) who has liver cancer and needs a transplant. She has a group of friends with lots of romance in the small town with many nosy neighbors. She has moved to her grandparent’s farm house to live the remainder of her life and one day a good looking drifter shows up on her doors step with a mysterious past. She has nothing to lose and falls deep – with two secrets this couple face many challenges along the way to happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Lovely book!

    This is the first book by Brends Novak I have read anf I really liked it" The story was iwonderful without being too sickening sweet and there wss humor anf heartbrrak in equal proportion. The characters eere rralistic except I got s little frustrated with Callie ssI felt she kept hrr secret way too long" I also didn't like the stereotype of the sheriff straight out of an old Western movie and dudn't see the point. Some of the men's behavior got downright silly. Still on the whole it was a good book thst held my interest snd msnsged not to be too cloyingly sweet or over dramatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    It was ok but something was missing.

    It was ok but something was missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Home to Whiskey Creek has it all...deep friendships, endless com

    Home to Whiskey Creek has it all...deep friendships, endless compassion, unforgettable romance, and love that conquers all! If you like those types of stories, then this book is for you! I laughed, I cried, I even got frustrated! It's a book that once you start, you won't be able to put it down! Every time I read one of Brenda's book I think to myself, this one is the best...and yet the next book comes out and it's even better than the last! Prepare to be blown away...this book is phenomenal!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!

    I love this series!! It is a must read. I just bought the latest in the series last night and can't wait to start reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Whiskey Creek is a place you want to come home to at the end of

    Whiskey Creek is a place you want to come home to at the end of the day. The people and their relationships are well written with all the ups and downs of reality. Brenda Novak handles the stress of a potentially terminal illness with compassion. Our hero and heroine learn compassion, forgiveness, and how to hope for a forever in When Summer Comes.

    Looking forward to returning to Whiskey Creek to see what this group of friends will get into next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    This is not my first book by Brenda Novak.  But this one reminde

    This is not my first book by Brenda Novak.  But this one reminded me of how much I love her writing style.  Even though this book was on the longish side (just shy of 400 pages!) I read it in an evening, in between feeding kids, watching tv, and all the other assorted chores that I was doing.  Granted, I’m a fast reader, but still, I couldn’t put it down.  I also realized that I’m dying to read the rest of the Whiskey Creek series gosh darn it, so I’m guessing that means I’m going to have to go back and purchase #1 and #2!




    If you’ve read my blog at all, you know I mostly read YA.  But I have a SERIOUS weakness for romance novels.  They call to me.  They make me pick them up and read them. I can only avoid them for so long and then I have to read them. So when this one came through on email, I jumped all over this puppy.  (Sort of like my 5 year old on a chicken nugget after all I’ve let her eat is broccoli, trust me it ain’t pretty!)




    Anyway, my heart was breaking as I read Callie and Levi’s story. I sorta felt like I was part of the group that goes to the coffee shop with them. I wanted everything to work out for them.  I really, really liked this couple.  And my heart broke just a little bit for them and their situations.  Yep, the story is that good!




    Plus, it fixed my romance need, at least for a little while!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Aubrey Book provided by: NetGalley Review originall

    Reviewed by: Aubrey
    Book provided by: NetGalley
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    Returning to Whiskey Creek was like going back to my grandma’s house for dinner. I felt like I was returning to a place that I would belong and a place I would love to live. I am really enjoying Brenda Novak’s contemporary series set in Whiskey Creek. I love how each book is set around one couple but you get to see how the couples from the previous novels are doing and you get to read about budding relationships between other characters.




    Callie is the main character in the third installment of the series. She’s a photographer that finds out that she is dying from liver disease. The majority of the novel is dealing with how she is dealing with the news that she will die if she does not receive a new liver. Her story hits home because my father died from Hepatitis C in 2008. He did receive a liver but the diseases attacked his new liver. I felt for Callie and knew how scared she was.




    Levi is a stray or vagrant that Callie takes in. Little does she know that he is the man she has always wanted. Novak did a great job of showing the progression of their love story. Levi had many demons that he had to go through before he could give himself freely to Callie.




    I’m very excited to read the fourth novel in the series. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves small town love stories where everyone knows your business and cares about you. Where friendships are just as important as love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    This book was not what I expected, but I am glad I have had the

    This book was not what I expected, but I am glad I have had the opportunity to read it. Brenda Novak has a way of writing to completely opposite characters who are destined to heal eachother perfectly.
    Callie is destined to death as her liver is failing her and she desperately needs a transplant. But no one in her small town knows. By no one, I mean her family and friends don't even know. She has the opportunity to move out to her grandparents farm to get it up and running and ready for sale. She takes the opportunity quickly, she wants to be alone and embrace the life she has left without friends and family worrying about her. Until one night when everything in her life changes...
    One knock at the door and she meets her destiny. But her destiny has plans of his own. Levi has been attacked by dogs and desperately needs assistance. Callie reluctantly offers assistance, and then she realizes that though he is alone is this world, a vagrant or drifter, she desperately wants him to stay.
    Levi has his own demons and battles he must fight. Growing up was rough on him and his father didn't help the situation any. As soon as he was able, he enlisted in the military. He has battle wounds that may never heal. His heart may never recover from his journey through the military. He is just looking to escape.
    What he didn't plan on was how Callie made him feel.
    This book pulled at every heart string and though I spent most of the book deeply depressed for both characters, I still couldn't help but hope they would find their way to eachother. It was a beautiful story of two completely separate struggles. Callie with her and Levi with his. They both had thing they had to overcome, if it was even possible.
    Brenda Novak does an amazing job with her characters emotions and pain and I seemed to feel their pain right along with them. The struggle and the love. The characters in this book were so well written and I felt such an amazing connection to them.
    The book was a fabulous story of love and loss and the struggle to find peace within. I adored this book even though it was a mostly sad story for the two main characters. It reminds us that there are always things worth fighting for if you want them bad enough. I really enjoyed this book and thought it was beautifully written.

    *I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    A Good Read

    Sweet story of two lost souls. Levi, a war veteran, is trying to escape death. He's seen too much of it. Callie needs a liver transplant but doesn't want anyone's pity. So she keeps the secret from her friends, family, and especially from the handsome man who dropped, quite literally, at her feet. Neither is looking for a permanent attachment, but happy to explore what lies between them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was such a nice story. Its not often that a book will make

    This was such a nice story. Its not often that a book will make me cry but this one did just that. Watching Callie and her progression with her liver failure was just heartbreaking for me. I haven't read any of the other books in this series but I definitely want to now. The characters were very likable for the most part and I can see that future books and even ones I haven't read have got to be equally as good or better.

    One day, Callie Vanetta receives devastating news...

    She needs a liver transplant. But her doctors warn that, in her case, the chances of finding a compatible donor aren't good.

    Determined to spend whatever time she has left on her own terms, she keeps the diagnosis to herself and moves out to her late grandparents' farm. She's always wanted to live there. But the farm hasn't been worked in years and she begins to fear she can't manage it, that she'll have to return to town.

    One night, a stranger comes knocking at her door...

    He's an attractive and mysterious drifter by the name of Levi McCloud, and he offers to trade work for a few nights' shelter. Callie figures she doesn't have anything to lose. He needs a place to stay until he can fix his motorcycle; she needs an extra pair of hands. The arrangement seems ideal until what was supposed to be temporary starts to look more and more permanent. Then she realizes she does have something to lose--her heart. And, although he doesn't yet know it, Levi stands to lose even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly recommend...a must read

    I could not put the book down...author keeps your interest throughout book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3