Customer Reviews for

When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Buddhist Teachings for Western Ears

How many times have you heard a Buddhist intellectual relate a teaching by saying, 'this reminds me of a Gary Larson cartoon I saw once?' Ane Pema Chodron, an American Buddhist Nun, truly knows how to bend the Western ear toward Eastern thought. Further, she does so w...
How many times have you heard a Buddhist intellectual relate a teaching by saying, 'this reminds me of a Gary Larson cartoon I saw once?' Ane Pema Chodron, an American Buddhist Nun, truly knows how to bend the Western ear toward Eastern thought. Further, she does so with honesty, humor and clarity in this amazing book. I purchased this at a time when for me things seemed to be 'falling apart.' It reminds one of the need to attend to and, indeed, love one's self as a path to attending to and loving others. Pema Chodron is truly someone I would love to meet one day.

posted by Anonymous on February 24, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

When things Fall Apart They Really Fall Apart so Let them

I had to read this book for one of my english classes as Saint Norbert College and it isn't really a self help book but it sure has helped me. Now I have this little pema that sits on my shoulder when I start to panic and she just tells be let it fall apart it will go b...
I had to read this book for one of my english classes as Saint Norbert College and it isn't really a self help book but it sure has helped me. Now I have this little pema that sits on my shoulder when I start to panic and she just tells be let it fall apart it will go back and fall apart again and again there is no use freaking out about it. I really like the stories in the book that she uses to get her point across as well. One book from school I don't mind hanging onto

posted by kcacciotti on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    Buddhist Teachings for Western Ears

    How many times have you heard a Buddhist intellectual relate a teaching by saying, 'this reminds me of a Gary Larson cartoon I saw once?' Ane Pema Chodron, an American Buddhist Nun, truly knows how to bend the Western ear toward Eastern thought. Further, she does so with honesty, humor and clarity in this amazing book. I purchased this at a time when for me things seemed to be 'falling apart.' It reminds one of the need to attend to and, indeed, love one's self as a path to attending to and loving others. Pema Chodron is truly someone I would love to meet one day.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2000

    Very Powerful

    This is a very powerful book. I am a Christian and a therapist but she raised some questions and issues that I wished I had studied many years ago. This is the most impactful book I have ever read

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    When things Fall Apart They Really Fall Apart so Let them

    I had to read this book for one of my english classes as Saint Norbert College and it isn't really a self help book but it sure has helped me. Now I have this little pema that sits on my shoulder when I start to panic and she just tells be let it fall apart it will go back and fall apart again and again there is no use freaking out about it. I really like the stories in the book that she uses to get her point across as well. One book from school I don't mind hanging onto

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    Helped me at a difficult time

    I bought this book after my mother died, and it did help me. Specifically, I found helpful the concepts that suffering connects us to other humans, not just today but who have suffered down through history, and that such events can be viewed as a gift, to 'wake us up' and help us become enlightened. Nobody wants pain, but it is better to face it and have a way of dealing with it positively.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    We all need to read this in these difficult times!

    I highly recommend this book to help us all survive these difficult times with loving kindness toward one another instead of blame and "me-first" mentality. It helped me "lean into" difficult times instead of running to the refrigerator or the mall. Just READ IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Life Changing - perhaps the only book you ever need to read

    I’ve read a plethora of “self-help” books over the past years – most of which had at least some useful nugget. This book was different. When I finished I commented to a friend “I don’t think I need to read any more books – I just need to read this one over and over.” Of course, the key is that it’s not just about reading but about doing what’s suggested – that’s the hard part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good tool for improving meditation practice

    I think this audio book was helpful to me in learning more effective ways to use meditation in my life. It's definitely a must read for those who are interested in improving and refining their meditation practice. Pema Chodron reminds us, however, that there is no right or wrong way to practice meditation but there are some useful suggestions you can incorporate into your practice. I enjoyed several concepts she discusses and the references she makes are helpful. One important point she makes is about the challenge we face in making changes in our lives. Pema explains that our lives are similar to the rotating mill wheel that we decide needs to reverse it's rotation. She reminds us that at first, it takes a lot of effort and energy to begin the process of reversing the wheel's direction, but once you make the commitment and invest that time it then starts spinning in the other direction almost effortlessly. She also talks about fear and how we have to learn to face it in order to overcome it. She gives the example of a Buddhist monk visiting a Monastery where a fierce dog ready to attack is chained to a gate from which he breaks free and starts running towards the group. While the others run away in fear, the monk runs towards the dog with an equal fierceness that stops it in its tracks. I like that analogy in terms of how we must learn to face scary things in our own lives. We can either choose to run away from them or face them and defeat them. It's a profound read and not for the faint of heart. It definitely is a book I'll need to go back to often, because there is a lot of deepness to it that can't be fully absorbed in one setting. I find myself reflecting and journaling on many of the key points. I love the audio version because I can pause the CD where I need to and then go back to it when I'm ready for the next major point. I think I'll be re-reading it (or listening to it) soon. There's always something new to absorb each time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    When things fall apart

    This is a good book because things will fall apart, even this book. Everything in the universe falls apart. We should learn and know how to deal with it. Pema Chodron expresses this truth wonderfully.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Interesting Take/ Refresher on Buddhism for Experienced Meditators

    Pema Chodron reminds us that the only way to get through life's difficult moments is to go through them. Not to escape, to hide, but to face them head on, face them consciously. If we do this, she proves, we will get richness from our difficult experiences, even if we do not get comfort.

    Her take on the powerful and often misunderstood practice of tonglen is first rate. She shows us how to use tonglen to make our difficulties digestible, instead of pennances to be endured.

    In her view, spiritual progress is a move down to profundity, where we can find compassion to relate to others no matter what we --or they -- they are called to do. Much more satisfying than a climb to the peak where we stand alone, as if that would make us "better than others." Maybe at the profound bottom, other readers will find her promise of "the love that does not die," something I can't yet claim.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Great reading

    Thoroughly enertaining and enjovable. If you didn't love Charleston before you will after reading this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent insight into utilizing Buddhist traditions

    There is a gentleness to the way Pema Chodron writes. Clearly, she comes from the Buddhist perspective - she is a Buddhist nun. However, she is also an American woman who has come to this spiritual tradition and represents it in a way a Western reader can easily relate to for their use in daily life.

    Great stuff!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Nice book

    This is a nice book for anyone, not just for those who feel that things are falling apart. It offers insight into accepting life just as it is, in this moment. The author shares her 'wisdom mind' in this concise and compassionate book about finding peace within the fundamental groundlessness of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    This book calmed the fear that lives in me sometimes.  Thanks to

    This book calmed the fear that lives in me sometimes.  Thanks to Pema I remember to love for the sake of all livings things and live my life by that code.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Police road block

    Everyone must be serched

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Drake to "Jade"Or Whatever she or her calls herself

    Im done rping so if we're still "together" or whatever then its over.Becase honestly i think your a liar.And frankly i dont have time for your games.I have a rl gf and i dont have time for a rp one.Especially a sneaky b i t c h like you.Im still in love with jess but i don really think it matters now that shes dating that tyler/you guy.Thats why im quitting rp unless i can get jss back.But i guess that will never happen and she will never know how deeply i really feel for her.So goodbye and have fun with your games.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Jade

    Rolls eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Life changing

    If youre sad, scared, angry, hurt or alone read this book. It will change your life. I always come back to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Simply great.

    Pema Chodron is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Wonderful advice

    Very helpful in putting things into perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4