Customer Reviews for

When We Were Married - Volume 1 The Long Fall

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My favorite Story Ever

The characters are riveting. The story moves at a great pace. The descriptions are vivid what more can you ask For? It's a great book.

posted by StangStar06 on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent adventure

A gripping tale of high energy inter-personal relations

posted by 10736056 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    My favorite Story Ever

    The characters are riveting. The story moves at a great pace. The descriptions are vivid what more can you ask For? It's a great book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    An excellent, compelling read

    I read this book continuously over a couple of days, staying up late to finish it, and found it a compelling book. The main characters are complex people and like any good narrative story how you view the characters changes. Unlike many such tales of a couple splitting apart, the author goes into enough depth that you actually start understanding the human feelings at the center of this, this is not the evil spouse leaves the good spouse, the good spouse is devastated then gets their life back together, it is a lot more complex then that, there are nuances, wheels within wheels, that keep you guessing and at least in my case made my change my opinions about the people. I think maybe because I have been married for 23 years and have had my ups and downs and elements of the story remind me of my own life, in many ways it haunted me, made me think about my own feelings and emotions and as a result dug me in deeper.

    Some might find the characters a bit larger then life and maybe some of the background drama could be too much for one person, but keep in mind this is basically a variation on the adult romance novel genre and they always have larger then life characters and situations. On the other hand, the situations themselves are believable enough that if maybe on the other side of common situations, they make for one heck of a read.

    The surrounding characters are interesting, too, and like the main character, there are tons of gray in them, while many of them are decent people, they all have very human traits and frailty, and there is also the element that in the interests of doing the right thing people forget about the harm doing so can cause others or that when faced with difficult choices, sometimes the right choice isn't necessarily the purest one.

    The only hard part is after finishing this book if your experience is the same as mine, you want to be able to race ahead and find out what happens to the characters but of course this is a work in progress, we have 3 more books to get through before we know what happens.

    Mr. Steele's writing is excellent, it isn't overly wordy and the dialog is both jarring at times and realistic, the anger and love and confusion expressed in the words paints a vivid picture of people in turmoil.Defining this book simply based on its category would be like defining a Raymond Chandler story as just another mystery and dismissing it as such without reading it would be a major mistake.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    highly recommend. plot twists and turns worthy of the best of his genre.

    I have read Mr. Steele's first book in his series, and eagerly await reading the balance. There is a rich texture to his work, and he fills characters out with descriptions that seem to put them exactly in the situations he intends them to be. There is a complexity to his story telling, yet the characters are simple people with everyday, simple needs and aspirations. Their stories are akin to those we see every day, and are very much like people we know. Unfaithful spouses, neglect in marriage, mid-life crisis, rebellious children, not to mention the topics that are in the major reviews. I found the interpersonal dynamics much more compelling than the work environment of William Maitland, protagonist of Mr. Steele's work.
    It is a "can't put down" piece, and one finds oneself hurrying to finish a page to turn to the next, yet savoring each new and different dynamic to its end. As an avid reader, I have found Mr. Steele to be quite accomplished (I believe this to be his first work, but might be mistaken) and well worthy of both time and money.
    Just FYI, I read Stuart Woods, Lee Child, Kellerman, the Alex Cross series, John Sanford, and many others of that genre. I think Mr. Steele is on his way to fitting nicely into that circle. As stated, I do look forward to the series of his "When We Were Married" books.
    WR

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    A must read!

    I've read this story and it's one of the most compelling tales I have read in recent times. It's quite the adult tale and, as such, always aproaches any situation acordingly. The writing style is superb, and all the plot twists populating the pages will keep you reading until you complete the last page. Characters very well portrayed and a plot that interested me from begining to end. I highly recommend this book. You won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    W.W.W.M. is a GREAT read!

    W.W.W.M. is a GREAT read! Story line is very real & true to life. Suspense, murder, love, sex, violence, romance, and a GREAT STORY. It has dark places and high places and in between places and runs you thru all kinds of emotions. Super well written. Simply could not stop reading it once I got started.
    michael77080

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    A very intriguing story - I rate it very highly

    I have read some of this author's earlier work and it is almost always exceptional.
    There is a high degree of appropriate emotion in all of Daniel's work, together with a solid story line and a sizzling sense of expectation - you don't know what's going to happen next but you really DO want to know. He grips your emotions tighter than a violins E-string and you can't wait to turn the page, yet there is a depth to the characters he creates which puts you in the room watching events unfold.
    All in all Mr. Steele is a rare find.
    N

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Love the book! Can't wait when volume 3 will be available. 5 sta

    Love the book! Can't wait when volume 3 will be available. 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    My Favorite Story. Its a Must Read!

    Excellent story line, plot and character development. Ive read this 4x now and each time I dont want to stop till its done. I cant wait for volume 3 and 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    A well written and enjoyable read as any novel written by noveli

    A well written and enjoyable read as any novel written by novelist's such as James Patterson, Tom Clancy, Dean R. Koontz, and Clive Cussler. I look forward to parts 3 and 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Mr. Steele's writing is excellent this book is like a movie. I s

    Mr. Steele's writing is excellent this book is like a movie.
    I so love the characters there so real I read part 1 4 times on my iPhone I love part 1 as much as part 2 :)

    If you want to read about a guy resing from the ash's like a phoenix this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Great Story-

    I originally read this story on a web site where it was posted a section at a time every 5-6 weeks for over a year. I quickly became addicted to it and quicly found myself anticipating the latest chapter, rereading it until I almost had it memorized. It is the story of a marriage that falls apart and the family that is destroyed by it. This book depicts real life and there is no feel good ending. But it is a must read. Mendon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    My favorite story from my favorite author!

    A wonderful tale with many interesting stories within! This is a great novel with terrific characters in addition to the main protagonist. I found this story to be like '1001 Arabian Nights' with all of the peripheral characters with their own interesting stories to tell. Be warned, though, this is a book that will keep you up reading long after common sense has told you to put it down and go to bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I not a reader. I don't read a lot of books. I could not stop reading this book. Great plot line and riveting characters. I highly recommend this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Very well written! It draws you into the story on an emotional basis like few books do!

    This is one of those "can not put it down until you've finished" books. I'm looking forward to the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Real Good Read

    Hard to back away from the screen, just a couple more pages, the next thing you know its really late and your still not asleep.

    Well worth the investment of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great read!

    Reminds me of my DA. Never thought of him as the Angel of Death, but the shoe did fit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    WWWM--where flaws+foibles=excellence.

    Most all the characters have flaws and foibles--much like the rest of us. I have loved the story and read it four times while awaiting Volume Two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    I highly recomend it

    This is the second time I have read this and it is one of my all time favorites. I also went bank and read another story Separate
    Vacations and it too is great . I enjoy all of the sotories Mr. Steele writes and really look forward to new ones but the When we were Married series is by far his best work. Anyone can relate to the characters and places inn this story he makes it so real you almost feel like you are there and part of the story . I am looking forward to more great stories as soon as possible Larry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Good Read!

    Exceptional story, excllent character developement, well written, I can't wait for the next chapters to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Perfect

    Good writing and fast paced story. It´s long but never loses my interest, even after reading it two times.
    My next trip to the US will have to include JAX to visit all the sites; if I´m lucky I´ll meet some of the characters and see some of the type of action described!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2