Customer Reviews for

When You Give a Duke a Diamond

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Characters are superbly crafted - A must read!

William, Duke of Pelham, also known as the “Dangerous Duke” was about to become betrothed to a lovely, stable Lady – totally suitable as his Duchess. He lived his life in an orderly routine manner, any other way of living it is frivolous. That is until the day the paper...
William, Duke of Pelham, also known as the “Dangerous Duke” was about to become betrothed to a lovely, stable Lady – totally suitable as his Duchess. He lived his life in an orderly routine manner, any other way of living it is frivolous. That is until the day the papers run the story that William has had secret liaisons with Juliette – the Duchess of Dalliance, one of London’s notorious courtesans and a member of the infamous Three Diamonds. William finds that his orderly, structured routine life is about to change.

Juliette, loved the notoriety being the Duchess of Dalliance, at first, but now she is growing tired of basically living a false life. When she sees the headlines of her ‘dalliance’ with William – the Dangerous Duke it amuses her. If only the Ton knew the real truth about her life.

When William and Juliette meet at the next social function, William is snooty, rude and demeans Juliette in front of the Ton. Maintaining a brave face and with the support of the other two Diamonds, Juliette rebukes his comments. Inside, however, the insecure girl is cringing, Juliette seeks the solace of the empty balcony – or so she thinks. The next moment she witnesses the murder of a member of the Ton. Not only does the death have repercussions for William but Juliette finds her life in danger.

Juliette turns to the one person she thinks can help her – William. Together they embark on a journey to keep Juliette safe and at the same time William discovers that taking risks can actually turn out to be quite fun. Juliette learns that someone does see the real her.

Ms Galan has created another humorous, engaging story. Her use of the word “Diamond” in different meanings throughout the book is cleverly and subtlety constructed. This is the first book in her new trilogy “The Jewels of the Ton”. The romance is wonderfully woven through the story and you have many laugh out loud and*sigh* moments throughout. Especially when William sees there’s more to life than having the same meal every night. I highly recommend this book and cannot wait for the next two in the series.

I was fortunate enough to receive this book from the author.

posted by NicoleF on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not nearly as good as other reviews!

Do not buy into the other reviews of this book. It was average at best! I finished, which is the only reason I gave it 2 stars. I'm not sure it was even that good. The relationship seemed so forced! The hero at times seemed almost weird, so not really a good leadin...
Do not buy into the other reviews of this book. It was average at best! I finished, which is the only reason I gave it 2 stars. I'm not sure it was even that good. The relationship seemed so forced! The hero at times seemed almost weird, so not really a good leading man. The heroine was just okay too. Sometimes she was actually annoying! There was also not really any romance or chemistry! I would not waste your time or money!

posted by 9044802 on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Not nearly as good as other reviews!

    Do not buy into the other reviews of this book. It was average at best! I finished, which is the only reason I gave it 2 stars. I'm not sure it was even that good. The relationship seemed so forced! The hero at times seemed almost weird, so not really a good leading man. The heroine was just okay too. Sometimes she was actually annoying! There was also not really any romance or chemistry! I would not waste your time or money!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Jewels of the Ton Series. When Yo

    This is the first book in the Jewels of the Ton Series. When You Give a Duke A Diamond is a nice Historical Romance that has some twists and turns. Its entertaining and a real page turner. The characters must deal with murder, mystery and conflict. We meet Juliet and William. They must work together in this story to keep Juliet from danger after she witnesses a brutal incident. The friction between them brings out their true selves and a connection that they both needed. This book is a great start to a series that I'm sure will be amazing. 4 stars to Shana Galen. Can't wait for the rest!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Characters are superbly crafted - A must read!

    William, Duke of Pelham, also known as the “Dangerous Duke” was about to become betrothed to a lovely, stable Lady – totally suitable as his Duchess. He lived his life in an orderly routine manner, any other way of living it is frivolous. That is until the day the papers run the story that William has had secret liaisons with Juliette – the Duchess of Dalliance, one of London’s notorious courtesans and a member of the infamous Three Diamonds. William finds that his orderly, structured routine life is about to change.

    Juliette, loved the notoriety being the Duchess of Dalliance, at first, but now she is growing tired of basically living a false life. When she sees the headlines of her ‘dalliance’ with William – the Dangerous Duke it amuses her. If only the Ton knew the real truth about her life.

    When William and Juliette meet at the next social function, William is snooty, rude and demeans Juliette in front of the Ton. Maintaining a brave face and with the support of the other two Diamonds, Juliette rebukes his comments. Inside, however, the insecure girl is cringing, Juliette seeks the solace of the empty balcony – or so she thinks. The next moment she witnesses the murder of a member of the Ton. Not only does the death have repercussions for William but Juliette finds her life in danger.

    Juliette turns to the one person she thinks can help her – William. Together they embark on a journey to keep Juliette safe and at the same time William discovers that taking risks can actually turn out to be quite fun. Juliette learns that someone does see the real her.

    Ms Galan has created another humorous, engaging story. Her use of the word “Diamond” in different meanings throughout the book is cleverly and subtlety constructed. This is the first book in her new trilogy “The Jewels of the Ton”. The romance is wonderfully woven through the story and you have many laugh out loud and*sigh* moments throughout. Especially when William sees there’s more to life than having the same meal every night. I highly recommend this book and cannot wait for the next two in the series.

    I was fortunate enough to receive this book from the author.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    I always enjoy Shanas books. She has a wonderful way of telling


    I always enjoy Shanas books. She has a wonderful way of telling a story. Of building characters and relationships.
    And this book thoroughly surprised me.
    Clever words. The courtesans are not what you think. The diamonds are not what you think. The duke and Juliette are definitely not what you expect.
    It was a fun story. And I cannot wait for the rest of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great

    Very good book!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great adventure!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    William, the sixth Duke of Pelham, enjoys his punctual, securely structured life. Orderly and predictable—that's the way he likes it. But he's in the public eye, and the scandal sheets will make up anything to sell papers. When the gossip papers link him to Juliette, one of the most beautiful and celebrated courtesans in London, chaos doesn't begin to describe what happens next...

    Until she came along...

    Juliette is nicknamed the Duchess of Dalliance and has the cream of the nobility at her beck and call. It's disruptive to have the duke who is the biggest catch on the Marriage Mart scaring her other suitors away. Then she discovers William's darkest secret and decides what he needs in his life is the kind of excitement only she can provide...
    REVIEW:
    When You Give a Duke a Diamond was a very intriguing read. I found that I was looking forward to each turn of the page and anticipating what was going to happen next. There were several twists and turns, surprises, and hair-pulling decisions throughout this piece. But in the end, it is a great book that gives you an enjoyable read.
    The character building was great and as a reader you feel the connection to each one. I see this book having the capability to turn into a series, and if it does, I will be following along.
    The love story was sweet and the action great. I liked the plot and again, can see it stretching throughout the entire potential of a series.
    The only thing I was hung up on was a few of the writing pieces. At times, I felt as if I was being taken from my own imagination and told what to think, with too many details. Also, it seemed as though the wording had a bit of extra fluff to it.
    In the end though, I did enjoy this piece and look forward to reading more.
    Four out of five stars for a job well done.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    stupid storyline

    first and last book I'll read from this author. if you want the main character to be an interesting courtesan than do so and have no regrets - don't back out at the end and say it was a cover story to make us accept her as good enough to marry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Beautiful, well-written story of courtesan, Juliette, known as t

    Beautiful, well-written story of courtesan, Juliette, known as the Duchess of Dalliance for her exceptional beauty and perceived scandalous behavior, and her unconventional relationship with stoic, regimental, unemotional, and anal Will, the Duke of Pelham. A series of unfortunate events: a gossipy newspaper article, missing diamonds, a murder, force Juliette and Will into close proximity as they hide out from unsavory characters. Juliette’s unique way of viewing life causes Will to wake up and see that he does have the opportunity to make changes and choices in order to obtain his HEA.

    I found Juliette to be refreshingly open with her zest for not letting life get her down. I liked that she went after her heart's desire and tried to show him ways to break out of his "duke" mold. It took me longer to warm up to Will who was so indoctrinated to his ducal role and what he should do and can't feel. My heart went out to him when he realized what he had lost /given up. Galen made me care for these characters. I felt they deserved their HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Great series

    Great series; read one and had to read all; will check out more of author's work in future purchases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    A fun read

    Easy to read romance with a couple of twists. Very enjoyabe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    I liked the intrigue and mystery surrounding the "diamonds,

    I liked the intrigue and mystery surrounding the "diamonds," and I think this will get even more involved as the series goes on. I also enjoyed the pairing of Juliette, the social butterfly, with William, the dignified duke. Once they could look beyond each others' reputations and see the real person, they found someone they could genuinely love.

    I'm looking forward to reading about the rest of the jewels and more background on Lord and Lady Sinclair, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Read a second time... (LVR)

    This series of three books by Shana Galen are so intertwined, I felt I had to go back and read the first two again since there was a long break before I got to the third. This first book sets the stage for the other two and you should read them in order. All three are heavy on action and full of gratuitous sex scenes. If that's your idea of Regency romance, then you'll come away satisfied. They were entertaining, but did not inspire me as the better authors of this genre do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Robin Book provided by NetGalley for review Review o

    Reviewed by Robin
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    As a fan of Ms. Galen’s for some time I jumped at the chance to read her new book When You Give a Duke a Diamond, from her ‘Fallen Ladies’ series, I was not disappointed. I was once again transported to the past only to fall in love all over again. I have always loved a well written regency romance and Ms. Galen leaves you breathless with this one.

    The Earl and Lady Sinclair took in three young girls and helped them to become three very well brought up young women. Although to the ton they are thought of as courtesans, right now only the Sinclair’s and the three of them know the truth. By doing this an allowing the deception it in a way wards off unwanted men vying for their hands. As far as the ton believes they each are mistresses to the Earl and sometimes perhaps he has all three of them at one time.

    In When You Give a Duke a Diamond, the Duchess of Dalliance as the ton knows Juliette, is remarkably beautiful, smart and looking for someone to love and have a family with. In walks the Duke of Pelham…William from when he was younger. He is William no longer he is the Duke, somehow he has lost his fun spirit.

    The paper has hinted of a dalliance for lack of a better word between William and Juliette, funny though they have never met. At a ball later that night he looks up to see these three beautiful women walk in one is just a stunning as the next but it is the one in the middle that takes his breath away. She has already had a run in with an unsavory guy named Lucifer looking for the ‘Diamonds” which she believes to be her and her ‘sisters’. That evening she witnesses the murder of William’s fiancée Eliza. When she takes him to the body it is missing.

    This throws them together and sends them on the hunt for the body and the diamonds. Along the way they beginning sharing the secrets from their past, Juliette finds herself falling for this man thinking it may finally be a possibility to shed all the secrets so that she can have what she dreams of. Thinking they also are being chased by Lucifer in his quest for the ‘Diamonds’ when it really was…well, I am not one to spoil the story.

    Will finds himself drawn to Juliette as he tends to keep fighting those feelings only to give up in the end. She helps him change back to the fun loving person. The steamy sex…well, let’s say that it is…

    Ms. Galen writes with passion as she brings the romance between Juliette and Will out into the open throwing two unlikely people into a situation that gives us teasing sexy kisses, steamy sex that is sensual, natural and oh so perfect.

    The adventure had this reader guessing to the very end. Ms. Galen writes with passion. She brings a strong plot, great dialogue, and adventure that are fast paced; not to mention very sexy characters that you can relate to. Only to spin them into a tale that is hard to put down keeping you interested until the very end. Did I say that I loooooooooooooooved this book?

    I can’t wait for Lily and Fallon’s story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Shana Galen is always worth reading.

    Shana Galen's first book of a new trilogy makes me look forward to reading the next two books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    This was an interesting story of Juliette and Will. I was shocked by who the diamonds were at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Captivating Regency romance I really enjoyed reading When you g

    Captivating Regency romance
    I really enjoyed reading When you give a Duke a Diamond by Shana Galen
    This is the first book in her "Jewels of the Ton" series.
    Her character is one the three Diamonds in this series who also shares
    a mysterious past. It's the story of Juliette, the Duchess of Dalliance,
    a Courtesan and William, the sixth Duke of Pelham. It's really a charming romance
    filled with mystery, romance and intrigue! Very well written, it was a page turner.
    I first won and read, her second book If you Give a Rake a Ruby it was the story
    of Fallon, the Marchioness of Mystery, a Courtesan also and Warrick Fitzhugh.
    You will enjoy every minutes of these two delightful and wonderful romances set in the Regency era.
    Ms. Galen is an excellent writer and I can't wait to read the story of Lily, the Countess of Charm.
    Her third book Sapphires are an Earl's best friend expected to release in 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Had fun reading this series!

    Had a lot of fun reading this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

         All of London is talking about the Dangerous Duke and the D

         All of London is talking about the Dangerous Duke and the Duchess of Dalliance. Their affair is followed by everyone! London is holding its collective breath when word gets out they have both been invited to the Prince's upcoming ball.  It will be the first chance for society to see the two of them together.  Society didn't count on a Duke who lived a very rigid, scheduled life and a Duchess who couldn't wait for this moment.  Their first meeting was less than smooth when they clashed like oil and water.  The worst part was the Duke of Pelham cut her in front of  most of London's society.  Juliette would not give them the satisfaction of seeing how hurt she was.  
          Out of necessity, the two of them begin working together when a man named Lucifer threatens Juliette and causes the disappearance of Pelham's fiance.  




         The plot for this book is absolutely wonderful and original.  I don't want to give anything away but you will see once you read this book what I'm talking about.  The characters are well defined and very likable.  You can see these people in London society. I loved the fact both the Duke and Duchess had a common denominator in the abuse in their lives.  Romance, fun, danger and so much more make this a book you have to have in your collection. Shana Galen never disappoints with her books.




         I found no issues with this one.




         I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it really is a page-turner.  ~Copy of book provided by author in exchange for a fair review~

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good read

    Slow start but after around page thirty five the book started to pick up. It also had some pretty steamy scenes which i wasnt expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great book

    Well done superb read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2