Customer Reviews for

When You Reach Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 818 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(531)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Very Good

Purchasedbook for my 10 year old granddaughter. She couldn't put down and really excited her. For the first time she wasn't hung up on how many chapters she read orhow many pages to go but actally got into the story. That was a true change. That meant it really tapp...
Purchasedbook for my 10 year old granddaughter. She couldn't put down and really excited her. For the first time she wasn't hung up on how many chapters she read orhow many pages to go but actally got into the story. That was a true change. That meant it really tapped into her!!!

posted by GrandmaCN on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Spectacular...

My mom heard about this book on the radio, and searched everywhere for it. I've been a fan of A Wrinkle in Time for years now, reading it so many times I can't count. She thought I might like it, but when I read it the story-line was simplistic, the plot random, and a l...
My mom heard about this book on the radio, and searched everywhere for it. I've been a fan of A Wrinkle in Time for years now, reading it so many times I can't count. She thought I might like it, but when I read it the story-line was simplistic, the plot random, and a lot of unneeded superfluous elements. Though the overall concept was intriguing, it did not seem to fit with the setting of the book, and half of the information was not even pertaining to the main plot line. Maybe if you're young enough, like 9 or 10, it could be interesting, but for the most part go with another intriguing time travel book.

posted by Lyra_Asya on February 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Sci-fi? Book (even for this non Sci-Fi reader)

    Miranda starts receiving cryptic notes and then everything stops making sense, or starts making sense, depending on how you look at it. Sounds confusing doesn't it. It really isn't confusing at all. Rebecca Stead does a fabulous job of keeping readers guessing and drawing them in at the same time. She pulls off something that I wish more adult authors could do, use less words and tell a more compelling story. Oh how I love "children's" literature. I have not read much science fiction in my life, but I am starting A Wrinkle in Time today.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    <3

    I have read this book so many times. This is my favorite book and I love Stead and how she wrote this book. This really deserved the Newberry. For the people who don't like it you are not open to trying new things. This book is unlike any other and i LOVE it.

    Please read it

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    My child loves me reading this book to her. The illustrations are great and just a great story behind it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    When You Reach Me

    I was a very heart-felted book with a wonderful story. The only problem with it was it was a little confusing on who Miranda was talking to, but you get it in the end. It was a wonderful book about time travel.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    This Year's Newberry

    I look forward to reading the annual Newberry and doing a presentation about the book with students. Usually a Newberry will give me goosebumps with the incredible writing and story. I could have put this book down without regret several times. It is quite a good book, don't get me wrong. I just expect a Newberry to be exceptional.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Wow

    I only read the sample and it sonds amazing

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Amazing!!

    This is one of the best books I ever read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Short and sweet

    I wasn't expecting much from this book, and I was wrong! It's short, but packed full of information about Miranda (the narrator) and her life, and it makes you feel like you really know her and the people who surround her. So when the big reveal of the story comes, it's not quite shocking - especially if you've read a lot of time travel stories - but it packs a good emotional punch.

    I enjoyed it because the time travel was handled gracefully and didn't overshadow all of the little human moments.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Definitly a awesome book!

    Great book! It has a lot of suspense and mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Click here pleses

    Iyfegehrhgjjhggfggfffffffffffdfjuhjufredsfghgebjuhiugdxdavklmijhfedgvbhedcvhuibdtdexawdzoopimmjgfdwcuompm.jgyrdvnjbjgggdtdaDffsfhrsfrjhftsdvjipktxgewqfz

    Prank
    I never read it but my friend siad it was good.
    I seak for you Marie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    ++++++++++

    Lov it so much gave it 4 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well Deserved Newberry Award Book! 4 1/2 Stars

    I am so glad this won the Newberry, which is what prompted me to read this. It's actually hard to review without giving away the story. So I will just say this is a great coming-of age story, a great friendship story, a great mother daughter story with a dash of time travel and books about books thrown in for good measure. I would recommend this book to anyone from 9 years old and up. Our protagonist Melanie is a great character whose favorite book is A Wrinkle in Time and we learn the story of that book throughout the story. I am embarrassed to admit that I have never read A Wrinkle in Time and it has now earned a spot at the top of my TBR pile.
    Get this book for your kids and yourself you'll see why it deserved to win the Newberry!If you have read and enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Good Book

    So this book is really confusing at the start but dont give up on it! It makes more sence as you go along. Happy reading!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I read when you reach me and I have to say it is a really good b

    I read when you reach me and I have to say it is a really good book if like mysteries you should read it and if you like fiction you should read it I recommend this book to ages 9-12. i loved when you reached and i think you should read it to:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Apop

    When You Reach Me is mystery and science fiction mixed toghether. I started reading it and I couldn't put it down! I've suggested it to some friends and they have loved it. This is a great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    A very cute story

    I thought this was a really cute story .i love all the characters especially frankie.it's weird to think none of them were in the mafia .i know my family was back then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Pretty good, really worth reading

    i loved the whole mystery part, it all unfolded until everything made sense i really think u should read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Love this book.

    So great and awesome. The author did a great job at writing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Super

    This was a great book but thee rest of her books are kind of lame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Ruby

    I loved this book. But its sad in the end but it is still such a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7