Customer Reviews for

When You Reach Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 813 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(527)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Very Good

Purchasedbook for my 10 year old granddaughter. She couldn't put down and really excited her. For the first time she wasn't hung up on how many chapters she read orhow many pages to go but actally got into the story. That was a true change. That meant it really tapp...
Purchasedbook for my 10 year old granddaughter. She couldn't put down and really excited her. For the first time she wasn't hung up on how many chapters she read orhow many pages to go but actally got into the story. That was a true change. That meant it really tapped into her!!!

posted by GrandmaCN on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Spectacular...

My mom heard about this book on the radio, and searched everywhere for it. I've been a fan of A Wrinkle in Time for years now, reading it so many times I can't count. She thought I might like it, but when I read it the story-line was simplistic, the plot random, and a l...
My mom heard about this book on the radio, and searched everywhere for it. I've been a fan of A Wrinkle in Time for years now, reading it so many times I can't count. She thought I might like it, but when I read it the story-line was simplistic, the plot random, and a lot of unneeded superfluous elements. Though the overall concept was intriguing, it did not seem to fit with the setting of the book, and half of the information was not even pertaining to the main plot line. Maybe if you're young enough, like 9 or 10, it could be interesting, but for the most part go with another intriguing time travel book.

posted by Lyra_Asya on February 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good

    Purchasedbook for my 10 year old granddaughter. She couldn't put down and really excited her. For the first time she wasn't hung up on how many chapters she read orhow many pages to go but actally got into the story. That was a true change. That meant it really tapped into her!!!

    71 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Another Newberry Winner!

    As a middle school English teacher, I am always looking for books that will engage a wide range of readers. This book hits the mark. It is a great mystery with a surprise twist at the ending. I loved the book - and the students that have read the book have really enjoyed it as well.

    48 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect for kids and adults

    Attention adults...if you enjoyed Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Travelers Wife then you will like When You Reach Me. Its a young adult novel with the same twists and turns. It is written from a child's point of view and provides great insights and lessons about life. A great read for any child or adult.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    A Mystery That Will Take You Back In Time!!!

    If you're looking for a good read that keeps you guessing up until the very end, but you kind of knew it all along, then this is the book for you! I really enjoyed this one! Rebecca Stead has done a marvelous job of placing hints and clues along the way that you never fully understand until the end of the book. There's a wonderful sense of mystery throughout the book that really kept it fresh and made me want to keep reading. The characters that she has created are so real. Although I am not a preteen anymore, there were times in the story where I was brought back to what life was like back when I was that age: how I was starting to shape my character and become a "real" person; what it was like losing friends, but also gaining new ones; how I was starting to think of boys in a completely different light. The list could go on, but it really made me remember, if even for only a little while. This is definitely a book that I would recommend to anyone!

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great book

    I truly enjoyed this book. It was never confusing for me it was fun to put the parts of the book together. I think this is a wonderful book for kids and adults. Hope you enjoy

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Best Book Ever!!!

    Ok so this book is touching. Though it can be confusing at times, its an emotional, life lesson teaching book. I recomend it to anyone 11 and up.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great Book!

    Could not put this down! The ending was a little sad and it was at times confusing but it is definatly 5 stars. Recommend this to anyone who likes short, real-life with a twist kind of stories. One of my new favorite books!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    I couldn't put this book down! It is most definitely a deserving winner of the Newberry Award. It probably helps to have read A Wrinkle in Time before reading this, as it is referenced a few times. This story is beautiful. It's about a young girl who has only ever had one friend, who is forced to make new friends because he's been avoiding her. At the same time, she starts getting weird notes that predict her future. It's a great combination of a coming of age story and a fantasy story.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good Book!

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is amazingly well written and very entertaining! I could not put it down and I can't wait for more of Rebecca Stead's work. If you like SciFi, Mystery, and Time Travel, this book is for you!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A truly wonderful book

    I bought this book for my grandchildren on the basis of reviews I read and the fact it is an award winning book. When they first looked at it, they expressed mild interest and they hadn't started it when I left to return home. A week after arriving home I received an email from my daughter saying, "The kids and I finished "When You Reach Me" yesterday -- what an amazing book. Really one of the best books I've read in a long time, and definitely one of the best kid's books I've ever read. They really enjoyed it too. Good pick!!!!!"

    This is the kind of email a long distance grandmother hopes to hear!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    This book is great

    When I picked up the book, When You Reach Me I couldn't put it down until I finished it. It was like a jigsaw puzzle you don't finish the mystery until the last piece. Miranda (the main character) has a problem. The problem is she keeps on getting notes from someone she doesn't know. She attempts to solve the problem by piecing together the notes to find out who sent them. Have fun reading the book to solve the mystery if you want to.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    Beautifully written. The author had a clear talent in writing. I

    Beautifully written. The author had a clear talent in writing. I have never fallen in love with a book so quickly. Every minute I read was time well spent. You won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Just awsome

    I'm ravein over dis book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A wonderful coming of age book. Moving and beautifully written.

    A wonderful coming of age book. Moving and beautifully written. A great read for lovers of time travel stories, no matter what their age.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Anonymous

    Dont listen to any of the bad reveiws, this book is amazing in every way. I could not put this book down. It keeps you on the edge of your seat through the end. Although it is confusing, if you read back a little bit, it will all be clear. I reccomend this book to everyone. I am in fifth grade and didnt have to read back more than twice. It is awesome and mesmerizing and is simply AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! I highly highly highly highly reccomend this great book to people of all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD

    Once I had to do a book report where you put items that reminded you of the story in a shoe box. This is the perfect book for that. If you like this book you will also like a wrinkle in time. Ps you will agree with Marcus on his theory.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Beautiful story

    Wonderful and touching. I cannot wait to share this book with my daughter, though we'll probably read A Wrinkle in Time first. The book itself is definitey about children waking up into who they want to be. The ending is a series of perfect little moments leading to a satisfying conclusion. Perfect without excess melodrama.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Amazing book! Must read!

    I borrowed this book from a friend using tge nook's lendme app. It was absolutely amazing. When I first started reading it, I didn't think it would be all that special, especially because the main characters are all so you. However, Stead takes this novel above and beyond. It really challenges the reader to think about the concept it explains. The ending finaly revealed the stories ambiguous nature in an amazing way.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Great book

    I read this book last year and love it! A great read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27