Customer Reviews for

When You Were Mine

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have to say a HUGE HUGE THANK YOU to Around The World ARC Tou


I have to say a HUGE HUGE THANK YOU to Around The World ARC Tours for allowing me to be a part of this tour. When I first heard about it in the summer I was intrigued because I love the story of Romeo and Juliet. I did a paper on them in English class and I wanted to s...

I have to say a HUGE HUGE THANK YOU to Around The World ARC Tours for allowing me to be a part of this tour. When I first heard about it in the summer I was intrigued because I love the story of Romeo and Juliet. I did a paper on them in English class and I wanted to see what kind of spin Rebecca would put on this story. All I have to say is Rebecca totally ROCKED IT! This book is EPIC!


Rose has loved Rob all her life and then some. She knows they were meant to be together. So when Rob starts to show signs of romance Rose is ecstatic! She knows that this year is going to be the year of her and Rob together as boyfriend and girlfriend. She has waited so long for Rob to notice her as more than just a friend she is having second thoughts about them having a relationship because she does not want to ruin their friendship. The only thing is Rose really wants Rob and she is willing to ride the waves to be with him.


Then disaster strikes by the name of Juliet. She is Rose's cousin and she will stop at nothing to take everything away from Rose even Rob. So when Rob goes from being hot towards Rose to cold in thirty seconds Rose realizes that she has lost Rob. She is hurt and angry and devastated by what happens between them. They go from being together everyday to not speaking to one another. Rose is heart broken but she has her best friends to lean on and even someone she never knew could be so supportive.


So when tragedy strikes and someone close to Rose dies she is left to pick up the pieces and learn to live again. What is a girl to do when her heart is broken and the one person that can heal it no longer can? What happens when someone else is there to love you, do you let them in or do you deny them? What is Rose to do? Will she ever heal from this tragedy? This is a MUST READ! Lord the pages just kept turning and before I knew it I was done. I cried and I laughed and I screamed at the book but hey what can I say I LOVED LOVED IT!

posted by Teelovesgio on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Everyone knows the story of the famous Tragedy of Romeo and Juli

Everyone knows the story of the famous Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet. The greatest love story ever told. Blah blah blah. But did you know that Romeo before Juliet was Romeo was betrothed to the lovely Rosaline? If you read closely, Juliet used her feminine wiles to woo Ro...
Everyone knows the story of the famous Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet. The greatest love story ever told. Blah blah blah. But did you know that Romeo before Juliet was Romeo was betrothed to the lovely Rosaline? If you read closely, Juliet used her feminine wiles to woo Romeo away. So this is where Rebecca Serle takes R&J and updates, deconstructs it and spins her own story.

Rob Monteg has been gone for the whole summer, working as a camp counselor. Rosaline Caplet is Rob's best friend, but there might be more going on between them once he gets home. See Rob left Rosaline with a mixed message when left.

This story was marketed as an intensely romantic, modern retelling. For me it fell a bit flat. Rosaline is a great character and she has a bit of a backbone, but once Juliet enters the picture, Rosaline becomes a wallflower. Juliet was deigned to be a terrible character, one who had serious mental issues and control issues where it concerned Rob. Right before Juliet enters the picture, Rob and Rosaline share a memorable kiss and it's decided that they are perfect for each other even if they are best friends. But this is probably the shortest lived relationship I've ever seen. It took about half a page. Because Juliet (Rosaline's cousin) is back in town when it is discovered that her father (a senator) had an affair. So for damage control they go back to the town where they once lived. A plot device that didn't work for me. It made no sense. But in order to get Juliet and Rob together, it was necessary.

Rob and Juliet are only together for a short time and we all know how the original story ends. It's just with this story, getting to the ending knowing what was going to happen wasn't fun. It was bleak and depressing. I was still waiting for the intensely romantic story I was promised. It could also be that I am not a fan of Wm. Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet that I just couldn't allow myself to enjoy this one. I went in wanting to.

Rebecca is a debut author and I do think she has a good writing style and could really write a great subsequent book. This one just didn't work for me.

posted by Laurab68 on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    A must read!

    What a fantastic book! WHEN YOU WERE MINE was incredibly fun to read, while simultaneously being absolutely moving and heartbreaking. I fell in love with Rose's story. She's a character ladies of all ages will identify with - either because you once went through something similar or you see her story in who you are now. Despite the heartbreak that Rose goes through, there are also wonderful moments of levity and sheer hilarity in the book. Also, the book is in the end hopeful and inspiring. You'll adore Rose, but you'll also really feel for the characters in her world: Charlie and Olivia, her nutty best friends; Len, the boy she should be with; Rob, the guy she thinks she should be with; and even the dreaded cousin, Juliet.

    This is a book that both teens and adults will love - Serle's writing is that good and universally appealing. Curl up with this book on a beach or in front of a fire and you'll be pleased. Happy reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say a HUGE HUGE THANK YOU to Around The World ARC Tou


    I have to say a HUGE HUGE THANK YOU to Around The World ARC Tours for allowing me to be a part of this tour. When I first heard about it in the summer I was intrigued because I love the story of Romeo and Juliet. I did a paper on them in English class and I wanted to see what kind of spin Rebecca would put on this story. All I have to say is Rebecca totally ROCKED IT! This book is EPIC!


    Rose has loved Rob all her life and then some. She knows they were meant to be together. So when Rob starts to show signs of romance Rose is ecstatic! She knows that this year is going to be the year of her and Rob together as boyfriend and girlfriend. She has waited so long for Rob to notice her as more than just a friend she is having second thoughts about them having a relationship because she does not want to ruin their friendship. The only thing is Rose really wants Rob and she is willing to ride the waves to be with him.


    Then disaster strikes by the name of Juliet. She is Rose's cousin and she will stop at nothing to take everything away from Rose even Rob. So when Rob goes from being hot towards Rose to cold in thirty seconds Rose realizes that she has lost Rob. She is hurt and angry and devastated by what happens between them. They go from being together everyday to not speaking to one another. Rose is heart broken but she has her best friends to lean on and even someone she never knew could be so supportive.


    So when tragedy strikes and someone close to Rose dies she is left to pick up the pieces and learn to live again. What is a girl to do when her heart is broken and the one person that can heal it no longer can? What happens when someone else is there to love you, do you let them in or do you deny them? What is Rose to do? Will she ever heal from this tragedy? This is a MUST READ! Lord the pages just kept turning and before I knew it I was done. I cried and I laughed and I screamed at the book but hey what can I say I LOVED LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I know there are lots of review out there of this book but this

    I know there are lots of review out there of this book but this is my own version.

    Well reading this book was an extraordinary experience I am glad I got this book for review. I have so much feelings about this book as I was reading this book some new feelings were created. I loved how Rebecca wrote the story of Romeo & Juliet in a new perspective or way which made me cry of happiness, sadness, and just be captivated by it. Let me start by saying that this book is my number 1 book in the whole world of all the books I have read. Not that I have read so much books in my whole life because I just started being totally obsess with YA books. But this book is amazing I loved most of the characters starting with Charlie, Olivia, Len, and the main character which is Rosaline or better called Rosie. There were so many events in this book that I can't really talk about because I don't want any spoilers I want you guys to check the book out because it was a new experience and terrifying, sad/happy book which made me cry smile all the way through the end.

    Rob was my favorite character at the beginning of the book but at the middle of the book something (event) happened that made me change every feeling I had about Rob turn into hate or may I better say dislike because I don't hate anyone. Juliet was Rose cousin and at first I was like okay I new girl was just introduced alright but after I kept reading my feeling for her turn into dislike for every trouble she caused. Even though this two characters pissed me off I still loved the book and I believe is because of all the tension happening in the book and the dislike is what made this book and extraordinary experience which I absolutely adored. When Len was introduced I was like his probably ugly, rebel, and not sweet but as I kept reading my feelings for him changed and he became one of my favorite characters. Charlie and Olivia are Rose best friend and were always there for her throughout the book which made them also my favorite characters. Of course Rose was also my favorite character because she was the main character as I kept reading I felt like I was feeling the same pain she was feeling. But enough of so much talk about this book all I have to say is that this book is truly amazing I am not saying you would like because everyone has a different taste but in my opinion this book would be a number 1 book everyone should think about reading this year.

    If your looking for a book to read I would recommend reading When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle and then tell me what you thought of it and comment and tell me what you think.

    I would give this book a rating of infinity/5 by infinity I mean the largest number in the world which does not exist so this book is over the top.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book deserves five stars! I liked this book better than the

    This book deserves five stars! I liked this book better than the original Romeo and Juliet story by Shakespeare. This was intoxicating and fresh! Ms. Serle will make a great addition to the YA field.


    If I had to pick a favorite character, it would definitely be Len. I liked him since the beginning. He was different, and sweet, in his own way. Charlie would be my second favorite character. I loved her wittiness!


    When You Were Mine basically just throws you into the plot. There are lots of flashbacks sprinkled all throughout the book. The flashbacks usually involve Rosaline and Rob when they were children. I wish I could have seen more Len and Rose. They were so cute together!


    The only complaint I have about this book was the feud between Juliet's and Rose's family. I wanted it to be a complicated feud, and when I found out the reason that began the fight, I was disappointed. But, besides that, this book was a quick, tragic and cute read. The depressing parts in the book were not executed to a point where it made you want to cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    When You Were Mine was phenomenal!! I couldn't put it down. It w

    When You Were Mine was phenomenal!! I couldn't put it down. It was a great read and even better if you have read Romeo and Juliet. Even if you haven't, it's still a great read!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    :D

    Best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    This book is so amazing!! It is romantic and dramatic. There are

    This book is so amazing!! It is romantic and dramatic. There are so many twists and turns to this book I couldn't put it down i just had to see what happened next. When You Were Mine made me feel so many different things, I cried I laughed I gasped and I smiled. I recommend this book to any teenage girl that likes or even doesn't like reading. I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** When You Were M

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle
    Publisher: Simon Pulse
    Publication Date: May 1, 2012
    Rating: 5 stars
    Source: Won a giveaway

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    In this intensely romantic, modern recounting of the greatest love story ever told, Romeo’s original intended—Juliet’s cousin Rosaline—tells her side of the tale. What’s in a name, Shakespeare? I’ll tell you: Everything.

    Rosaline knows that she and Rob are destined to be together. Rose has been waiting for years for Rob to kiss her—and when he finally does, it’s perfect. But then Juliet moves back to town. Juliet, who used to be Rose’s best friend. Juliet, who now inexplicably hates her. Juliet, who is gorgeous, vindictive, and a little bit crazy...and who has set her sights on Rob. He doesn’t even stand a chance.

    Rose is devastated over losing Rob to Juliet. This is not how the story was supposed to go. And when rumors start swirling about Juliet’s instability, her neediness, and her threats of suicide, Rose starts to fear not only for Rob’s heart, but also for his life. Because Shakespeare may have gotten the story wrong, but we all still know how it ends…


    What I Liked: 

    Oh, contemporary novels, whe have you done to me?! This book was one of the last books I read in 2012, and I absolutely LOVED it! I have to say, while I expected some things in this book to happen, with Rob and Juliet, I did not expect others (like, the end? I did not expect it to go that far - but I loved it). 

    The plot is so engrossing! I feel like I do not describe many contemporary novels as engrossing, but this one was! I read it between two days, within hours. It's one that is quick to read, but also very dense. It's not a light read all the time. 

    Okay, next, the characters. I really like Rosaline. I truly saw character development in her throughout the story, and it was nice, smooth character development (smooth meaning there were many events that tested Rosaline's character, but she handled those situations better each time, learning from her mistakes). 

    Rob is too perfect - so I was not on board with him from the start. I kind of liked Juliet, despite her standoffish attitude. Len, Olivia, and Charlie are all wonderful supporting characters. If there are any more books that deal with this story, then I definitely want to see more of Len. 

    Overall, this book is terrific - a real winner in the contemporary world. And guess what? No love triangle!!! Well. Kind of no triangle. It's the kind of triangle that I can tolerate. Girl like boy #1, and boy #2 likes girl. In the end, everyone is kind of squared away, though girl still harbors feelings for boy #1. and I like that about this book - the feelings don't just disappear. Rosaline still cares for Rob as a friend and more, even though he's not hers. 

    But things definitely end well in my opinion. And hey. When You Were Mine was one of my favorite contemporary novels of 2012! 


    What I Did Not Like: 

    I really, really wanted more from Len (like, more interactions). Otherwise, I have no complaints :)


    Would I Recommend It: 

    YES!!! Contemporary lover? GO GET IT NOW!!!


    Rating: 

    5 stars. SQUEE! I loved this book! Like, lots!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A new interpretation of one of the most read tragedies in the wo

    A new interpretation of one of the most read tragedies in the world? Yes, please! Romeo & Juliet was one of my favourite reads in high school and is one of my favourite classics in general. The two doomed lovers dying a tragic death. It was always a story I found myself fascinated by. So you can probably imagine how excited I was to read WHEN YOU WERE MINE.

    WHEN YOU WERE MINE is an amazing read, a fabulous YA contemporary romance with just the right amount of tragedy, drama and love. Some of you might say that a story like Romeo & Juliet can’t be copied so easily or that another retake only promises to be tiresome. Whereas the story follows the main events of the classic Romeo & Juliet, in the end it is only roughly based on it. This time it’s Rosaline’s story to be told.

    Rosaline is the girl no one has really thought about much, until now. Rebecca Serle chose the famous tale of the two Italian cult star-crossed lovers and transformed the story to California with a pretty impressive storyline in mind. I loved to find out what of the original story she decided to keep and in how far she adjusted single details, added characters or wrote riveting new dialogues.

    The book is divided into acts and scenes just like the original play and based on various tendencies and main events of Romeo and Juliet. The names of the WHEN YOU WERE MINE characters are very similar to the original names like Rosaline Caplet, Rob Montag, Juliet Caplet. That similarity bothered me a bit in the beginning, because just from the sound of their names, I imagined the characters to be copied, too (they are really not!). In the end I appreciated even that tiny detail, the names, that led to an excellent new telling about that ancient love story. Or better, the story of the girl who got hurt in the process and forgotten over the years.

    Without telling too much about the story, I can tell you that much about WHEN YOU WERE MINE. The focus doesn’t solely lie on one love story. There’s more to that book than Rob loving Juliet or Rosaline’s feelings for Rob. It needs some time to discover in which direction the story is headed and that was what made WHEN YOU WERE MINE such a spectacularly enjoyable read.

    A major plus is that WHEN YOU WERE MINE is not all about love, but friendship, too. You can imagine Rosaline must go trough many hardships and it’s an invaluable gift to have friends by your side. I’m sure you’ll love her best friend Charlie just as much as I did and highly appreciate the thread of their friendship’s story.

    Rebecca Serle wrote her book with the knowledge that her readers’ would be expecting a certain outcome or start into it with predefined pictures of the characters Juliet, Rob and Rosaline. Of course Juliet would be the innocently cute girl who captured Rob’s heart, Rob her knight in shining armour and Rosaline the jealous ex not worthy of an own story.
    Now Rebecca managed to shape the characters in a completely new and exciting way and I admit that Shakespeare couldn’t have done a better job. I was infuriated with the irrational, immature and mindless behaviour of some characters, moved by the emotional conflicts other characters had to go through and simply enraptured by the true major love story that hasn’t been told all that time.

    THE VERDICT

    WHEN YOU WERE MINE- The profound and adorable Romeo & Juliet retelling I didn’t know I had always been waiting for to find, devour, and love. Rebecca Serle makes YA and Shakespeare readers’ dreams come true.

    YA contemporary readers, there’s no way around Rebecca Serle’s debut WHEN YOU WERE MINE. This Romeo and Juliet retelling is inspired by Shakespeare’s story, yet bears ever new surprises and turns the story way round. Rosaline’s been the star all along!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great book

    When you were mine is a great book that everyonr should read. It is a modern day romeo and juliet.It will suprise you at the end though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Contemporary fiction usually isn't my thing. I am more of a para

    Contemporary fiction usually isn't my thing. I am more of a paranormal reader, or at least I thought I was. But for some reason, I thought I needed a change in genre. Well, When You Were Mine was exactly the change I needed! I absolutely loved this book, and everything about it: the characters, the storyline, the new perspective on an age old classc. This is the second 'retelling' I have read, and I have got to say, I am definately enjoying this trend.


    I fell in love with the main character: Rosaline. Everything about her was relatable and down to earth. I liked how I could see myself in her shoes from the very beginning of the book. Never while reading this book did I feel like she was an unrealistic character. Her emotions were real, and she handled the tough situations she was put in great. Her emotions and reactions throughtout the book were never rushed or forced. They were just what I would expect to feel if it were me in the same situation. That right there was one of the reasons I enjoyed the book so much. Another great plus for this book was the friendships. Rosaline's group of friends were close, and that was good to see. I like it when the friends of the story are close and an acutal support system for the main character.


    The plot flowed very smoothly. Even though it is a retelling of Romeo and Juliet, and everybody knows what is going to happen, I was still very pleasntly surprised by all the twists and turns the story took. I never found myself bored.


    I have to say that this was a very great read! Rebecca Serle is a very talented writer. One able to make an old classic play feel fresh and new. I loved her imagination in this book and her take on how Rosie felt and acted in Romeo and Juliet. It was nice. I would highly recommend this book! I hope Rebecca writes another retelling. I would love to see her take on other classics!


    As a side note, I really liked a quote in the book.

    "Sometimes...the hardest part about letting someone go is realizing that you were never meant to have them."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Love

    This book is my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    What a fantastic book! It is at times heartbreaking, yet overal

    What a fantastic book! It is at times heartbreaking, yet overall, incredibly heartwarming. I devoured this book in a matter of hours and eagerly await the next book from this author. She is now on my automatic must read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1