Customer Reviews for

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good but not the best

I like this book. We read this book in school. The only complaint i have is that it is kindof rude and possibly affensive to those who are above the average wieght. I dont suggust you buy it if you planned on reading this to younger kids that yoi are trying to teach not...
I like this book. We read this book in school. The only complaint i have is that it is kindof rude and possibly affensive to those who are above the average wieght. I dont suggust you buy it if you planned on reading this to younger kids that yoi are trying to teach not to steriotype. If you want to have a laugh though i do suggest it. The book is way better than the movie :)

posted by 11380695 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great book for anyone

This book is great when you want an easy fast clean good read. A tween classic.

posted by 16790466 on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Great book for anyone

    This book is great when you want an easy fast clean good read. A tween classic.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    When Zacbary Beaver Came to Town

    Slow in some parts.Overall it was pretty good though.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Weird

    I like it i just dont get it though

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Zachary Beaver

    This book was amazing! It was sort of slow in some places, but I really liked how te author developed the characters. The book did a great job talking about sensitive subjects like obesity, war, and overall: friendship. With characters and a story so real and true, this book would make a great read for anyone who likes realistic fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Boring book--age 10

    Took way too long for the plot to get going. However,a few of the scenes were funny. Also, I liked the lesson taught that someone shouldn't be judged by their appearance. Another negitive thing about this book--why another book about the Mom deserting the family?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Great Book!!

    Taufanau M. Latu Mr. Coulter Per.4 4/5/06 Book Review The title of my book is ¿When Zachary Beaver Came to Town¿ by Kimberly Willis Holt. She also wrote different books such as ¿My Louisiana Sky¿. The genre of this book is Fiction. The book takes place in Antler Texas during the Vietnam War. I believed that the setting play a huge part on the book, since Texas is nothing but desert and it¿s hot every day, so that limited a lot of things that they can to. Like they can¿t go swimming in the middle of the desert, which what I mean limited. Toby is the protagonist along with Cal his best friend. They will have a summer like no others. The fun begins when a side shows boy pulls in to the parking lot on a trailer. That¿s when the summer begin, and the main character Toby and Cal try to figure why his there, when he¿s going to live and how they can create a new friend. The writers style in this book is very unique meaning that it has a lot of description making you want to flip to the next page every time. A lot of the description is mostly describing smell and very detail subject of certain things and how they look, making you fill like your there. Theirs is a lot of description that it brings the picture to life. One of the major Conflict that hurt the relationship between the main character and his best friends. Is because that the Protagonist Toby got caught up with something and didn¿t get to go his best friend¿s brother funeral that died in the Vietnam War that week, but its really an external conflicts. In this book there is a dynamic character, that would be Zachary Beaver, because he changes big time in the story. He used to be stubborn and didn¿t like it went others starring at him or try to make funny jester. Until the end, he finds out that there is people out there that would not make fun of him for who he is, but love to help out in time of needs. The main character Toby and his best friend Cal help there friend Zachary Beaver by putting sack of grocery next to his Trailer door every morning. The protagonist is like a static character that doesn¿t really changes throughout the whole book. Toby will act the same from the beginning to the end. In this book you will know a lot about the main character¿s head since it is on the First Person point of view. Toby the main character shows a little interior monologue, like he shows us a little of what his or her filling about other character and what happened during his pass or how he liked them. In his head, we can tell that he had some crush on a girl which he things he has no chance. But, as you read this book, you will come to fine that he will give it one last chance. I¿ll let you find out what happened to that dream. All of these facts, are just little hinds of what you¿re about to read. But remember I¿ll let you find out what happened in this great book. I had read this book over and over and I would recommend this book to those who likes drama and curiosity about other. This book will held you on the edge on your seat, you will not put it down until your done.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1