Customer Reviews for

When in Doubt, Add Butter

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What I hope to find (and what will get me to spend my money quic

What I hope to find (and what will get me to spend my money quicker and invest hours upon hours of my own time) when I pick up a book is one that doesn't sound like 95 out of 100 books that I pick up and read the first few pages of, a voice that grabs my nose and yanks ...
What I hope to find (and what will get me to spend my money quicker and invest hours upon hours of my own time) when I pick up a book is one that doesn't sound like 95 out of 100 books that I pick up and read the first few pages of, a voice that grabs my nose and yanks harder than a semi-truck in the middle of I-95.

When in Doubt, Add Butter is such a book, and it managed this feat admirably from the very first sentence of the very first page. "When I was twelve, a fortune-teller at the Herbert Hoover Junior High School carnival said to me: `Gemma Craig, you listen to me. Do not get married. Ever. If you do, you'll end up cooking for a man who'd rather eat at McDonald's; doing laundry for a man who sweats like a rabid pig, then criticizes you for not turning his T-shirts right side out; and cleaning the bathroom floor after a man whose aim is so bad, he can't hit a hole the size of a watermelon--' " I could go on, but you get the general idea. This is a book that I'm invested in; where I want to know what happens; and that I can't wait to get to the ending, because like Beth Harbison, the author, I'm going all in. And then it becomes a mad rush to get to the finish line.

For me, this was such a book. The characters and the story line certainly kept my attention, but it was the voice, that voice kept me turning pages as fast as frying butter in a saucepan, and when I reached the end, I felt completely satiated. While this was the first Beth Harbison book I read, I'll certainly keep my eye out for another one with a voice as fulfilling and unique as this one.

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

posted by RobertDowns on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't get good until about 120 pages in

For some reason I just couldn't get into this book. I obviously read the whole thing, and once I got about 100 pages in, I finally became interested. It just didn't grab my attention like I look for. I had to force myself to finish this book, but I wanted to know wha...
For some reason I just couldn't get into this book. I obviously read the whole thing, and once I got about 100 pages in, I finally became interested. It just didn't grab my attention like I look for. I had to force myself to finish this book, but I wanted to know what happened. I would recommend it as a beach read, which is why I purchased it. Book wasn't bad, just not my favorite.

posted by 5571664 on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    What I hope to find (and what will get me to spend my money quic

    What I hope to find (and what will get me to spend my money quicker and invest hours upon hours of my own time) when I pick up a book is one that doesn't sound like 95 out of 100 books that I pick up and read the first few pages of, a voice that grabs my nose and yanks harder than a semi-truck in the middle of I-95.

    When in Doubt, Add Butter is such a book, and it managed this feat admirably from the very first sentence of the very first page. "When I was twelve, a fortune-teller at the Herbert Hoover Junior High School carnival said to me: `Gemma Craig, you listen to me. Do not get married. Ever. If you do, you'll end up cooking for a man who'd rather eat at McDonald's; doing laundry for a man who sweats like a rabid pig, then criticizes you for not turning his T-shirts right side out; and cleaning the bathroom floor after a man whose aim is so bad, he can't hit a hole the size of a watermelon--' " I could go on, but you get the general idea. This is a book that I'm invested in; where I want to know what happens; and that I can't wait to get to the ending, because like Beth Harbison, the author, I'm going all in. And then it becomes a mad rush to get to the finish line.

    For me, this was such a book. The characters and the story line certainly kept my attention, but it was the voice, that voice kept me turning pages as fast as frying butter in a saucepan, and when I reached the end, I felt completely satiated. While this was the first Beth Harbison book I read, I'll certainly keep my eye out for another one with a voice as fulfilling and unique as this one.

    I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Great book. A slightly slow start leads you down the path to a s

    Great book. A slightly slow start leads you down the path to a story you think you know that gives you a slightly different ending than the one you thought you saw coming.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I love this book, it was a fun, feel good kind of a story! I couldn't put it down! It made me laugh and smile alot! I can't wait to read more of Beth Harbison's novels!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Didn't get good until about 120 pages in

    For some reason I just couldn't get into this book. I obviously read the whole thing, and once I got about 100 pages in, I finally became interested. It just didn't grab my attention like I look for. I had to force myself to finish this book, but I wanted to know what happened. I would recommend it as a beach read, which is why I purchased it. Book wasn't bad, just not my favorite.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Everything is better with butter!!

    Great read :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Liked it

    Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Loved it

    Witty, relatable and heartwarming. The charcters are endesring and relatable and it has a great ending. I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For a title that asks for more richness when in doubt, there was

    For a title that asks for more richness when in doubt, there was no depth in the trials and tribulations of these characters

    The whole listen was like Meet the Parents – you know what was going to happen (Ahem – read: go wrong) waaay before the character. What should have been bread crumbs of prep for future twists, turns, and relevations were like bread loaves – scratch that – Big. Chunky. Bread Trucks. Thus making the story frustrating to listen to. Just because the heroine is completely unaware doesn’t excuse the fact that – for the reader – the jig is up!

    And what was the rushed ending about? Hours of prep, worry, 3 months of pregnancy (if I got the count right) and Paul [Mr. Tuesday] is totally OK with an unplanned pregnancy with Gemma. Seriously, if I went home tonight and announced to Mr. Librarian “Guess what honey I’m pregnant” wait – not just ‘pregnant’ but 3 months pregnant I think he’d flip…And we are in a committed relationship and have discussed having children!

    It was just so unrealistic as to be unsatisfying. Where were the issues? The emotional connections and reactions? If the pregnancy is – magically – a happy announcement the 3 months of gestation (during which Paul has known and dated her for half of!) should garner some…I don’t know…Shock?…Hurt?…Misunderstanding?…Anger?…Take your pick. Any emotion besides blithe agreement would have deepened the already slightly wooden character of Paul. All I have to say is that Paul was hotter as Mac and more complex as Mr. Tuesday. And the whole thing was one unsatisfying mess. Definitely could have used more butter.

    1/5 For a title that asks for more richness when in doubt, there was no depth in the trials and tribulations of these characters. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    This is a great book about a struggling chef, who inadverdantly finds mr right or does she

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Gemma! She's a good soul who can't help getting herself

    I love Gemma! She's a good soul who can't help getting herself into a
    situation which she's been in before, one that is unexpected and
    somewhat scary. The romance is sweet and the mystery surrounding Mr.
    Tuesday was great. Well done!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Nice!!! :)

    Really a niceand relaxing read! My first time reading this author but won't be my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Beth Harbison has done it again...I loved this book- just like h

    Beth Harbison has done it again...I loved this book- just like her others. If you haven't read her others, then you must!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Addvertize here

    For clans kit rps etc.

    1 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    I read this book in three days I thought it was a fun read and i

    I read this book in three days I thought it was a fun read and it felt like a friend talking to you rather than some boring book telling you a story. Right from the start it was a book I got into. Try it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Fawn

    Same

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Spike

    Your a h<_>oe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A fun little read - perfect for a day at the beach - light and e

    A fun little read - perfect for a day at the beach - light and easy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    First and last time for this author.  Bland and absurd character

    First and last time for this author.  Bland and absurd characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I could not put it down. A great sto

    I really enjoyed this book. I could not put it down. A great story with a twist for an ending. The characters were fun and engaging and a very nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    tried too hard

    The author was trying too hard to be funny - it got tedious. Glad I got in a sale box . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3