Customer Reviews for

When in Rome...

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Predictable, unrealistic, and too many shortcomings

    I would rate this book 2 1/2 stars. It wasn't bad to read, but it could have been better. First the story started off with the main character wondering what she could have had and might have the chance to have again with her ex-boyfriend Mike while she's with her currently reliable almost boring boyfriend David. That's a plausible and interesting start, but then the plot got ridiculous. Somehow it worked out way to well that she had an opportunity to follow Mike to Rome and David happened to be there to sweep her off her feet (so that the readers can see who we should be rooting for and why). The author talked about Roman Holiday and True Lies so much that the book wanted to be some sort of weird combination of the two and didn't pull it off well. The setting was from Roman Holiday, David was trying to be like Arnold S., and the romance from both movies. The main character's lack of thought was frustrating, her deeds predictable, and her epiphany anticlimatic. The ending wrapped up way too well and fast and came off unrealistic. I would remember this book for the wrong reasons; I would pass on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Fun Read

    Who hasn't wanted to run into an ex before? The main character does and she is then forced to choose between the ex and the current beau. Its a cute book filled with excitement. The writing style seemed like that of Sophie Kinsella/Madeline Wickham, so if you love any of her books then you would love this book. It is an easy and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Horrible!

    The plot in this book was so easily predictable. I couldn't get into the story or the character. I found Georgie to be very selfish, self-centered, and annoying. There were times when I wanted to reach into the book and just shake her for being so clueless. Gemma Townley is a good author and I've read some of other books but this one was just horrible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Fun Reading

    I really enjoyed reading this novel. It was hard to put down, and kept me wondering what was going to happen next. I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT

    Any fan of the movie Roman Holiday will adore this book....

    Gemma Townley is one of my favorite writers of all times. Her books are gripping from the first page and laugh-out-loud hilarious. Every story has great characters, heartwarming plots, and hilarious dialoge. You'll fall in love with all the characters from the beginning and want to read every book she has ever written. You won't regret this buy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Funny Chick-Lit

    While the heroine does have moments where she is selfish, I like her. Sure, her reasoning and thinking can be a little out there, but I'm sure all of us have been there, which makes it easy for us to relate to her. David is such a great boyfriend, but he does have his flaws. Georgie wasn't perfect and messed up more than he did, but this couple was really endearing. It was a funny read and there were some parts where I felt so much for Georgie! She really does mean well, she just needed to get certain things in tact and find out what was important to her (which she does)! Read it, it's funny :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    A must-read for Roman Holiday Fans!

    As an Audrey Hepburn Fan, I really enjoyed this book, simply for the references to my favorite movie 'Roman Holiday'. The story was cute as well... A woman torn between two men. I was surprised to find a bit of a mystery involved and it was a little hard to really get into what was happening, but at the end it all starts to make sense. I was hoping for a lot more references to Roman Holiday, but for the effort This author deserves an 'A'. She knows how to keep people interested and injected lots of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Fun, Funny, Fast and Fresh!

    Classic Chick Lit. This book was a great weekend read. The main character is so much fun to follow as she delves into a life that she can't help, but think that she wants again with her old boyfriend. Along the way she tells a few lies here and there and slowly, but surely discovers what she really wants in life and what was in front of her the entire time. Sometimes it takes a little blast from the past, getting mixed in business that you should be mixed in and doing a little detective work to figure what really matters in life and what other people might not be telling you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    Fast and funny...

    I read this book in two days, and I was laughing all the way through. She is kind of predictable, but Georgie is such a mess and so naive that you can't help but love her. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a fast, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    So-So

    This was a cute story. Georgie was likable, but I frequently found myself yelling at her for being such a ditz and sometimes selfish. Still, it was a quick, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Good, but I've read better novels like Little Kingdoms by Michael Lubarsky

    OK, I liked this book. I even enjoyed most of it, but it lacked detail and the characters do take a little while to develop. However, it just is not as good as so many other books available here at Barnes and Noble. For example, if you want a romantic, well written book set in Europe then you should check out Little Kingdoms by Michael Lubarsky. The depth of the chracters in such a short novel is breathtaking. You can feel their pain and love amid the salt air of Greek beaches and the joy of falling in love in the German countryside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Great book!

    I enjoyed this book. It look some time to get used to the characters in the beginning but with a little mystery, romance and the always needed drama, it was just what I was looking for. Great read and love the writing style. Georgie was a lovable character that I related to... always up to something but can't help but love her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    Nothing like Shopaholic...

    This book was horrible. It was unbelievably frustrating how stupid, indecisive, and immature the main character was. What pissed me off even more was that she got the guy in the end. I would have like the book even more, b/c she def. did not deserve him. The only reason why I read this book was b/c I found out that the author is Sophie Kinsella's sister...I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Fun Book!

    This book has all the spunk of a Sophie Kinsella novel. You just have to laugh out loud. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Fun Read

    This book was so entertaining I couldn't put it down. What a great summer read, unexpected twists and adventure make it a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    W O W

    ok..i didn't have any expectations for this book..seriously, how many love triangles can authors put on paper and try to sell as a novel idea...but 'when in rome' had spunk, charisma and extremely witty humor. georgie's promblems reminice our own: love or lust...and gemma townley write her story in such as way that you don't ever want to put it down...YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    Really funny and sweet

    I haven't read anything else by this author, but this book was really funny and entertaining and I couldn't put it down. It's light but there aren't any boring bits. It would make a great holiday read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Funny, light read

    A great, light read; kept me laughing the whole time; I couldnt put it down and read it straight through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2