Customer Reviews for

When the Bough Breaks (Alex Delaware Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Book by a Great Author!

If you have never read a book by Jonathan Kellerman, this is a great place to start. His characters, Alex and Milo are superbly developed and really make you want to root for them in their discovery of some devastating facts that lead to an even more devestating discov...
If you have never read a book by Jonathan Kellerman, this is a great place to start. His characters, Alex and Milo are superbly developed and really make you want to root for them in their discovery of some devastating facts that lead to an even more devestating discovery. Pick up this book today, I couldn't put it down!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad for a First Attempt

After 'Over the Edge', this is the second book by Mr Kellerman that I have just read. Not bad for a first try, though it also shows the author was still rather immature in his plot-creating skills. At times it felt like reading a strange medley of pulpfiction thriller p...
After 'Over the Edge', this is the second book by Mr Kellerman that I have just read. Not bad for a first try, though it also shows the author was still rather immature in his plot-creating skills. At times it felt like reading a strange medley of pulpfiction thriller plus the story of a medieval detective mixed with the straightforward confessions of a top lover who never ever disappoints a gal in bed and has the most immaculate woman in the world for a partner. On top of this all, put Milo and a required knowledge of psychopharmacology. Nonetheless, one has to be lenient in their opinion when reviewing a first book . . .

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Great Book by a Great Author!

    If you have never read a book by Jonathan Kellerman, this is a great place to start. His characters, Alex and Milo are superbly developed and really make you want to root for them in their discovery of some devastating facts that lead to an even more devestating discovery. Pick up this book today, I couldn't put it down!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excited to read the rest of this series.

    This book starts out a little slow, but only because it gives some background information on the main character so that you can understand him a little better. Then it jumps right into a great story with an interesting ending. It was a little hard to follow towards the end because of the different characters involved, but it comes together nicely.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    It tells the beginning ...

    I have always enjoyed Jonathan Kellerman's books featureing Alex Delaware. I recently decided to read all the older stories, from Book #1 on. This is the book that actually introduces us to Alex and Milo. I especially enjoyed this book and will read the second and third books in the series soon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Good book. Well written. Some dark topics.

    Good book that is great especially if you like to read from a psychologist's perspective. Love the way the mystery unfolds in the end. Some dark content that I don't like reading about: child abuse, rape, etc. Some readers might not be bothered by it as the author didn't go into great detail. I would consider reading more of his books as he is a good writer and I love psychology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Interesting.....

    The story line is interesting and the characters are fairly well developed. But when Alex goes off on his own investigation, Mr. Kellerman begins to make his story sound a lot less logical. The end of the story, in particular, is quite unbelievable, and happens so quickly as to make one think Mr. Kellerman had a word limit! This is the only novel of Mr. Kellerman's I've read and I enjoyed most of it. Considering it was his 1st to write, and expecting improvement, I'll be reading another!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great first book to get you addicted to Alex Delaware.

    This is a great first book to get you addicted to Alex Delaware. There is a lot of explaining, who Alex Delaware is, what made him what he is, but it isn't done in a boring way, but it is detailed. But it is well worth it...the books are GREAT. These are books that i eagerly look forward to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    When the Bough Breaks

    Dr. Alex Delaware is a child psychologist who has seen enough violence and evil done to children to burn him out and break him down at the age of thirty-three. Now retired, he has plenty of money to live on while he ponders the question of what to do with his life. That is until his friend, a police detective, Milo Sturgis asks him for help on his latest case.
    Alex's interest is piqued by the case, but doesn't plan to get overly involved, just help out. Then he met Melody Quinn, the seven-year-old, lone witness to the double murder. She and her mother live in the same apartment building as the psychiatrist and his girlfriend that were murdered and she is the only one that can help with this case now as Milo has no other leads.
    As he gets Melody to trust him and open up, Alex realizes there is more to this case than just a double murder. He digs deeper and deeper until he opens the door to secrets that several 'well to do' people would rather keep closed.and would do anything to keep it that way.
    Intense, traumatic, and suspenseful, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Reviewed by Ashley Wintters for Suspense Magazine

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Alex Delaware & Milo Sturgis first brake out of their fabulous series.

    I really enjoyed this story. It was great to see how Alex and Milo start off from their basic crime solving tactics. I admit that I didn't start reading the series from order but it was still excellent. Like the rest of the stories. Alex & Milo never lose their wits nor my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First in a long series

    I love Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus series, and I'm hoping to love Jonathan's Alex Delaware as well. This first book was not as compelling as I hoped, but I'll continue on for at least a few books hoping they don't disappoint. I've even branching out to the books their children are writing. What a prolific literary family!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    If this book is what it takes to win an Edgar for Best First Mystery and to kick-start what is now a 25 book sereis, what does that say about us, the readers?

    For a book that says almost nothing about anything, it is decently written. The little it does say about anything is to keep your hyperactive kids off prescribed drugs unless absolutely necessary. Other than that, which I already knew, I would have been better off spending my time doing almost anything else.

    Our new Post-Modern Detective, a burnt out ex-karate enthusiast with a 2-hour refresher in which he gets the cr-- kicked out of him by an old instructor, escapes death, not once, not twice, not three times, but four times, five, if one counts his being rescued just in the nick of time.

    First, our hero is attacked by the biggest dog this side of King Kong. Our hero dives for a pitchfork and saves himself intact albeit for a bite of his arm, described as not really bad, but severe enough to render it almost useless in a fight, into which, of course, our hero soon gets himself.

    That's ONE!

    The killer, an already successful one, puts a gun to our hero's head, and our hero escapes, in what I suppose is meant to be an exciting car-motorcycle chase. The bad guy dies. Well, of course. Our hero is so well trained at this stuff.

    That's TWO!

    Then, our hero with the bad arm fights someone substantially bigger and at least somewhat trained. The author tells us, "He was strong and skilled." But, of course, our well-trained hero wins that battle as well, bad arm and all.

    That's THREE!

    Then, a real bad guy-killer has a gun on him. He gets away from that one as well.

    That's FOUR!

    But, our hero doesn't quite get away from number four. The bad guy is huge, gets to our hero and begins choking him to death. No way our hero can get away. But, wait! The author arrives with the cavalry just in the nick of time.

    Maybe, that's not really number FIVE since our hero was saved from a certain death by another person, but it's close enough.

    We readers can console ourselves with the knowledge that the hero is a man of principle, at least that's what the author keeps telling us.

    But, the hero's buddy, a homicide detective, admits in the last pages that he has murdered in cold blood one of the villains. He has done so because he believed the murderer was a man of power, wealth and influence and would get away with his horrid crimes only to commit them again.

    When our hero, our man of principle, hears the cop's confession, he says "Okay."

    OKAY?

    Though I don't remember anything about having read this book when it was first published 25 years ago, I am sure that I did since I do remember having read 2 or 3 of the earlier Alex Delaware books, and it is my nature to start at the beginning. But this re-beginning is surely the end.

    This book's low quality has finally driven me back to my own, too long neglected novel. I assure you, my 'hero," if there is one, won't beat up or otherwise get physical with the bad guys or the big dogs. He oe she will just be a more normal human being.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent

    This book was decent. There is almost a little too much going on at one time, so can be hard to follow. I would reccomend this book though. It is very thrilling, and worth your time and/or money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great First book by Kellerman

    The first book in the series that builds information as you go along. Alex is asked to provide assistance in solving the crimes, which seem to be interconnected. Milo uses Alex to get information about those that are suspect in their truth telling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    Not Bad for a First Attempt

    After 'Over the Edge', this is the second book by Mr Kellerman that I have just read. Not bad for a first try, though it also shows the author was still rather immature in his plot-creating skills. At times it felt like reading a strange medley of pulpfiction thriller plus the story of a medieval detective mixed with the straightforward confessions of a top lover who never ever disappoints a gal in bed and has the most immaculate woman in the world for a partner. On top of this all, put Milo and a required knowledge of psychopharmacology. Nonetheless, one has to be lenient in their opinion when reviewing a first book . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Waste of time for me

    Not impressed. Should have been 100 pages not 300+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Dr. Delaware is great!

    I really like the Jonathan Kellerman series with protagonist Dr. Delaware. There is lots of psychological insight into people. I have started at the beginning with this book, series #1, and plan to read all books in chronological order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    A great mystery.

    Jonathan Kellerman is an author I just recently found. I am now an avid reader of his other Alex Delaware mysteries. I highly recommend these books for anyone who likes a good mystery you have a hard time putting down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Great start to the series.

    I liked the part where Milo was scolding Alex for not locking his door.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Nice Read

    It has a decent storyline and original characters. Didn't expect a couple of the turns it made. Nice book to sit down and read over a weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Publish dates

    WHY CAN'T WE GET THE CORRECT PUBLISH DATES FROM BARNES AND NOBLE? WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS WAS PUBLISHED IN 1986? I USUALLY HAVE TO DO RESEARCH ON AMAZON FIRST BEFORE MAKING A PURCHASE? THEY OFFER CORRECT DATES AND BETTER FILTER OPTIONS WHEN SHOPPING?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    The first I read by Jonathan Kellerman was " Over The Edge&

    The first I read by Jonathan Kellerman was " Over The Edge" and I had skipped his first two books. This is the first book in the Series of Alex Delaware.
    I loved it so much I stayed up reading it. 
    This is one of his best and it maybe better than "Over The Edge". 
    If you are or were a fan and you have not read it all I can say "If you have to read this book! it is Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5