Customer Reviews for

When the Emperor Was Divine

Average Rating 3.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Powerful

A very troubling look at a time in our past. You will carry this around inside for a good while.

posted by gmanpma on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easy read

This book follows the hardships forced upon Japanese Americans without excessively ridiculing or shaming. Nice read.

posted by 10077754 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Easy read

    This book follows the hardships forced upon Japanese Americans without excessively ridiculing or shaming. Nice read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    The book wasn't one of my faves, the cover of the book was an in

    The book wasn't one of my faves, the cover of the book was an interest, but once I read the hardships and the context of the story, it lost my interest after a few chapters. Not bad if you have to read it for a class, but otherwise, outside of the classroom it wasn't a good read. I would recommend this book to English majors if they find this sort of stuff intreguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Decent

    There were good and bad parts in it. I did not like the killing of the dog or those condintions. Since I am a history geek I liked all the historical aspects. If you are a history geek or a normal history lover, I recomend it. Just have your tissues ready! (not kidding either!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Recommend

    Wonderful, quick easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Good Short Story

    I wouldn't say it's a book, short story really. Interesting, no real plot to it, but it was an easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Wasn't Divine; It was Good

    The story is told from four people's perspectives. This book opened my eyes to a part of history that I knew little about. I liked it. However, it was too short. If you don't enjoy different points of views in stories then, this isn't the book for you. Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is better than this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    not much story

    reading this book was an assignment and since i dont like the library i kinda had to buy this...
    the cover was really interesting so i hoped the book was too
    it was just okay...i could easy retell in five minutes:family of japanese are relocated to a "refuge" camp in the desert during a war between japan and the US.they had to leave behind a ton of friends and their home.they were also separated from the father.after years of hot dusty life, the war ended.but when they returned things were very different; their friends no longer said hi, the house wasnt the same warm home, and when father returned he was no longer the young fun-loving dad as before.gradually they are re-accepted.
    maybe it's cuz i'm young, i cant really understand this book...but i liked the ending...u have to buy it to see it ;)

    by the way, the other book i'm recommending is the other book i had to read...if you're gifting to a kid, this is a story they might enjoy more :)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1