Customer Reviews for

When the Game Was Ours

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Subilme read...

    MacMullan does a phenomenal job transporting the reader back to the good ole days when basketball was all about the love of the game. Hands down the best sports book I've ever read! Go Lakers!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Catching

    Insider information not made known to the general public through newspaper and magazine articles

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Awesome

    This book was fantastic. The development of magic and bird's developments as a person, athlete, and their feelings towards each other was written to perfection. A must-have for any fan of basketball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Great book

    This was when basketball was in its glory years. It was so well written i was sad when i was done. This is a awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Robby young

    Best book to learn about two of the greats that played basketball. Also great to learn about the history of the NBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Great Book

    Took me back to when the NBA was great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Two Legends Square Off

    Ever wonder about the Bird and Magic years? Ever wonder about what they were thinking as they prepared to play against each other. This book takes you inside the minds of two of the NBA's best, from the NCAA Championshipof 1979 to their final NBA game and beyond, this book does what no other book I have ever read does. It let's you know what these two highly competitive atheletes really thought of each other and how, from Boston and Los Angeles they made not only their teammates better but each other better. This is a one of a kind book and I simply couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    When the game was ours: Larry Bird & Earvin "Magic" Johnson

    I found the book to be as I expected it to be. Very informative as to how the rivalry and relationship between these two great players developed and grew over their years in college and the pro's. I particularly enjoyed reading their own accounts of how they followed each others success through each game and drove themselves to top the others statistics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    "When the Game was Ours" - a keeper

    Author Jackie MacMullan is a well respected sports writer who's written for the Boston Globe and is currently working as an ESPN analyst. Knowing her basketball expertise and being a long-time basketball fan myself, my interest was piqued when I read that she had just completed a book about the lives of two of professional basketball's greatest players, Larry Bird and Earvin "Magic" Johnson. Following the careers of both players. I was hoping that the book would be both insightful and well-written. I wasn't disappointed. Player and team information was enlightening, and the writing had a wonderful flow that kept me turning pages until the end. Older fans (1980's and 1990's)of the Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers will love this book. Basketball fans will enjoy this book. Sports fans in general won't be disappointed. All I can say is that this book is not a "lender," it's a "keeper."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Book Written on Bird & Magic

    Jackie MacMullen is a woman writing about basketball. She is a well respected voice in a male dominated field for good reason. This book demonstrates why she is so respected. For fans of Bird and Magic and the golden age of the NBA that they ruled, this book is the book you've waited for. The insight and personal access to the lives and motivations of these two basketball greats is unmatched. This book makes you want to turn back the clock and watch the Bird-Magic era over again with new eyes. This is easily one of the best basketball books ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    Maguc and Larry

    It's nice to get a look at Magic and Larry's relationship behind the scenes. They're two very different people that came together because of basketball, and formed a great friendship. Some people were jealous of this (Isiah Thomas), and that comes out in the book as well! Magicand Larry knew back then what we collectively know now, Isiah is an @-hole! Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3