Customer Reviews for

When the Heart Cries (Sisters of the Quilt Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

interesting comparison between the Amish and the Mennonites

Hannah Lapp loves her neighbor Paul Waddell, but her father Zeb refuses to see any of his daughters married to an outsider. Paul returns Hannah¿s high regard, but knows that her father would never tolerate a Mennonite in his Amish family and so fears any efforts on his...
Hannah Lapp loves her neighbor Paul Waddell, but her father Zeb refuses to see any of his daughters married to an outsider. Paul returns Hannah¿s high regard, but knows that her father would never tolerate a Mennonite in his Amish family and so fears any efforts on his part would leave Hannah considered dead by her dad. Still before he leaves in his English car for his fourth year of college, he asks Hannah to marry him. --- That same day that she and Paul become engaged, Hannah heads home carrying a basket of blueberries, when a man driving a car stops, pulls her into his vehicle and rapes her. Already in shock that God allowed such a terrible thing to happen to her, Hannah turns introspective especially when she feels the Old Ways of her family and community have failed her, but still turns to prayer especially when she turns out to be pregnant. --- WHEN THE HEART CRIES is an interesting look at the differences and similarities between the Amish and the Mennonites. Hannah is a deep protagonist who finds no solace with the Old Ways, with her family, or with her beloved as she feels that everyone holds her culpable for the rape. The story line focuses on everyday Amish life mostly through her perspective as a pariah, but though insightful that can turn tedious to the reader. Still overall this is a fine entry, and her will want Cindy Woodsmall to provide the further adventures of Hannah. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

When the Heart Cries

Hannah is part of an Old Order Amish family. Still, she's in love with Paul, who's a Mennonite. When he asks her to marry him, she happily accepts, even though there's a very good chance that it means she'll lose her family. This would be enough for a novel, I'm sure...
Hannah is part of an Old Order Amish family. Still, she's in love with Paul, who's a Mennonite. When he asks her to marry him, she happily accepts, even though there's a very good chance that it means she'll lose her family. This would be enough for a novel, I'm sure, but what the book is REALLY about is what happens after she gets engaged. On her way home, she is raped. Her family knows, but no one else in the community does. Slowly, rumors begin to spread about what's going on with Hannah, and it affects her relationships with her family, friends and, eventually, with Paul.

This is a very entertaining book (the first in a trilogy) and it's very interesting to see how things are dealt with in the Amish community. I like to think---I hope---that we're a little more sensitive here, but that may not be true.

This is very different from most of the Amish books I've read, in that the heroine does a lot of soul searching and spends a decent amount of time angry---at herself, at her family and even at God. It's a welcome change. I look forward to reading the other two books in the series. I like Hannah a great deal, and am excited to know what happens to her. (This could be read as a standalone book, although the book is open-ended.)

posted by khager23 on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting comparison between the Amish and the Mennonites

    Hannah Lapp loves her neighbor Paul Waddell, but her father Zeb refuses to see any of his daughters married to an outsider. Paul returns Hannah¿s high regard, but knows that her father would never tolerate a Mennonite in his Amish family and so fears any efforts on his part would leave Hannah considered dead by her dad. Still before he leaves in his English car for his fourth year of college, he asks Hannah to marry him. --- That same day that she and Paul become engaged, Hannah heads home carrying a basket of blueberries, when a man driving a car stops, pulls her into his vehicle and rapes her. Already in shock that God allowed such a terrible thing to happen to her, Hannah turns introspective especially when she feels the Old Ways of her family and community have failed her, but still turns to prayer especially when she turns out to be pregnant. --- WHEN THE HEART CRIES is an interesting look at the differences and similarities between the Amish and the Mennonites. Hannah is a deep protagonist who finds no solace with the Old Ways, with her family, or with her beloved as she feels that everyone holds her culpable for the rape. The story line focuses on everyday Amish life mostly through her perspective as a pariah, but though insightful that can turn tedious to the reader. Still overall this is a fine entry, and her will want Cindy Woodsmall to provide the further adventures of Hannah. --- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I just could not put this book down! Everytime I had the chance, I grabbed it to to read further. What was happening to Hannah? I needed to know. And this book is not enough. I had to have the other 2. That was all I asked for Christmas!

    When the Heart Cries literally takes you on a journey of the heart. You will become entranced with Hannah, feeling her love and her pain throughout the book. Through no fault of her own, her family pushes her aside and you will want to pull her back in, but that is not how it works in the Plain life. Once a decision is made, there is no turning back.

    You wil be touched by Matthew, who constantly sticks his neck out for his friend, Hannah, regardless of what the Bishop has to say. He will become a loving brother to you and you will want only the best for him.

    Although Mary Yoder is in love with Luke, Hannah's brother, her loyalty is to her best friend. She puts her relationship with Luke on the line to protect her friend and to show Luke his way of thinking is too narrow. She forces him to open his eyes to the truth about his sister, even though it goes against what his parents believe to be true.

    Sarah is Hannah's younger sister. Forever in emotional turmoil, this girl turns on her sister and causes an uproar in the Amish community that can't be extinguished. She is quite proud of her accomplishments and truly believes Hannah deserves the pain that has been put on her.

    Then there is Paul, the love of Hannah's life. A good, loyal man with strong values, but a soft heart which allows him to see both the beauty in the Plain and the value of some Englischer ways. His love for Hannah is shaken when he finds out the secret she has been keeping.

    The need to find out where Hannah's journey in life is taking her is captivating. You will not be able stop reading and when this book is complete, you'll want more. I was not able to stop until I had read all 3 books in the series.

    Fantastic reading! It takes you away from the problems plaguing the world today and makes the simpler life much more appealing than our materialistic world will have you believe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    When the Heart Cries

    Hannah is part of an Old Order Amish family. Still, she's in love with Paul, who's a Mennonite. When he asks her to marry him, she happily accepts, even though there's a very good chance that it means she'll lose her family. This would be enough for a novel, I'm sure, but what the book is REALLY about is what happens after she gets engaged. On her way home, she is raped. Her family knows, but no one else in the community does. Slowly, rumors begin to spread about what's going on with Hannah, and it affects her relationships with her family, friends and, eventually, with Paul.

    This is a very entertaining book (the first in a trilogy) and it's very interesting to see how things are dealt with in the Amish community. I like to think---I hope---that we're a little more sensitive here, but that may not be true.

    This is very different from most of the Amish books I've read, in that the heroine does a lot of soul searching and spends a decent amount of time angry---at herself, at her family and even at God. It's a welcome change. I look forward to reading the other two books in the series. I like Hannah a great deal, and am excited to know what happens to her. (This could be read as a standalone book, although the book is open-ended.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Just Ok

    I wanted to love this book but I thought it was just ok. I typically breeze through books but this one took a while to read and I really had to force myself to finish it. It was horribly predictable. At the end of chapter 1 I already knew exactly how it would end. I don't mind some predictability in a book but for every bit and piece to be easily predicted? It makes the book far too boring. Not to mention the utter negativity of the whole story. I kept hoping I was wrong in my assessments and that there would be happier experiences for the characters. But page after page was filled with heartache. This also contributed to my not really being interested in reading the book much.



    There are several plots within the story but none of them really developed nor were they resolved by the end of the book. As this is only the first book in a series I guess the point is for you to read the other books as well to find out how everything really wraps up. But at least some small sense of closure would have been nice, I think. The main character is 17 year old Hannah Lapp, a girl raised in an Old Order Amish community. She falls in love with her neighbor's grandson Paul who is a Mennonite. Naturally the families (particularly Hannah's) do not approve. Despite this Paul asks Hannah to marry him and she accepts. And this very brief joy of the story comes to an abrupt halt the very day Paul proposes when Hannah is a victim of rape. The story follows her struggles to deal with the event and how her family and community react, as well as a series of other events that challenge the girl and make her question everything she's ever known.



    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    When the Heart Cries by Cindy Woodsmall

    This book is rivoting. It tells what can destroy a family when an Amish goes outside of her family and marries outside her community. The author has the ability to authentically capture the heart of her characters because she has had real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families. This book was heartfelt and had me wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    Just loved this book!

    Such a heart warming book. I have been to Lancaster Amish country, they are amazing people. I haven't cried so hard with a book in a long time.
    I hope there will be a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    Love Love Love This!

    I thought this book was a great read and began a fabulous trilogy of Hannah's life. It was a great insight into the Amish and Mennonite lives of the characters. Some of the characters struggled staying loyal to their upbringing while others knew they would never sway. I enjoyed this book very much and read straight thru the other two books. I hope you enjoy them too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Light reading but not much else

    I wanted to like this book but from the beginning, the writing style was amateurish. I didn't hate it and read it to the end but the characters were never fully given life and the story line took such conventional turns that it never really engaged you. So many times when the story line should have been strong, the author briefly explains the situation, then quickly side steps giving it any validation or making you really care.

    It's like picking up a bad romance novel; it's quick reading and you don't miss it when it's done.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Title says it all.

    Very moving characters. Couldn't put the book down. Would love to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just cant put it down!

    this book is a good book when reading I just couldnt put it down now Im done with it and Im passing the book on

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    Highly recommended

    I just finished When the Heart Cries and must say, "This is an awesome book and would recommend it to anyone who loves to read." I started the book last night about 5 p.m. and finished it this afternoon about 3 p.m. It is so good to read Christian books instead of a lot of smut, cursing, and violent stories. Keep up the awesome work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No resolution to plot lines

    I love to read Beverly Lewis and Wanda E Brunstetter books because they show the positive and negative sides of Amish life. They have book series, but the main plot is resolved in each book so that you don't feel left hanging.

    This book really disappointed me. The Amish community was portrayed in a one-dimensional, negative way. I had to search for postive indications of these people. There were several plot lines, but none were resolved by the end of the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the hardest books I've ever read

    This was probably one of the most difficult books I've ever had to read. Normally it'll take me a couple days to a week to finish a book. However this book took me a month and a half to finish. I usually devour Amish fiction like there's no tomorrow. It's one of my favorite genres. This book unfortunately did not make my favorites list in this genre. I just dreaded reading about the horrible things that kept happening to Hannah and seeing how badly she was being treated by everyone especially her parents. Without spoiling the entire story, I was very disappointed at the way Hannah's situation was treated. I know that the Amish do not like to bring attention to themselves and are willing to forgive even the most heinous of crimes. However, that is no reason to blame your daughter for her getting raped! Then to top it off, the family doesn't press charges on the guy even though he might very well go and do the same thing to other women in the community! Rape is something in books that I feel justice must be served. I really hate it when I read about how the victim is blamed for the attack. It's one thing for the girl to blame herself from feelings of self guilt, but it's totally wrong when the PARENTS blame her for what happened. Hannah's whole life seems to be doomed from the beginning with Murphy's law just waiting for her at every corner. I did not like her sister at all, I have a feeling that there will be more trouble making from her. Her relationship with Paul seems to have the problem of a lack of communication. I wish the author had simply allowed them to sit down, talk things through, and get everything out on the table so no one would get confused or suspicious. But I guess if that happened there wouldn't be a story then.

    I will say though that if there's anyone in this story that is a positive influence to Hannah, it is her friend Mary. Even without knowing Hannah's problem and the fact that she's had a traumatic experience herself, Mary stays by Hannah's side throughout the book even to the point of defending her against the man she loves who happens to be Hannah's brother. I only wish Hannah's family could have acted in the same way. It was interesting to learn more about the Amish lifestyle but as I said, the subject matter in this book made me uncomfortable and did not help to entice me to read the book. I'm not saying that I needed a happy ending with the story, and I know that there are more books in the series. I just could not fathom being a parent, having your daughter be raped, blame her for it, refuse to do anything to help her, and then still call yourself a Christian. I do have the other two books in the series, and I know that things will eventually get better for Hannah. Hopefully it won't take me as long to finish those books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    There is only One that you can always depend on¿

    Hannah was raised in a traditional Old Order Amish family. She was only 17-years-old when she fell in love with Paul, an educated Mennonite. They knew their different backgrounds would lead to problems. However, the romance of Paul and Hannah acts as only the scenery behind this story. Through no fault of her own, tragedy struck Hannah. Not only does her family turn against her, so does Paul. Only her faith can carry her through the following events. Hannah finds herself questioning the Old Ways of her people. This is a moving story of Hannah, her faith, and beliefs. Things are not always the way some people see them. You have to believe in yourself even when it seems that no one else does. God is always there for you. Cindy Woodsmall calls on her background in this story. When The Heart Cries is a sad story. This book needs a bit of editing. Woodsmall already has plans to follow up with a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Outstanding Series!

    Cindy Woodsmall provides interesting insight into the lives of the Old Order Amish. The character of Hannah Lapp is intelligent, strong, and compassionate. Hannah, undergoing heart wrenching circumstances, perseveres despite many obstacles. The reader will be completely wrapped up in the story from beginning to end. The ending will then prompt the reader to begin the sequel, When Morning Comes, immediately!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Loved it!

    After reading When The Heart Cries, I immediately bought the other two books in the series and I'm currently reading #3. This is a very good series, the characters are introduced well and the story line moves along at just the right pace. Would highly recommend this series for a good read. Wish it would continue with more books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    This was a very different Amish story for me because everything

    This was a very different Amish story for me because everything is not all calm, loving and happy. It delves in some very hard topics that are not handled well. I had a hard time reading about a rape that was hidden from everyone and not acknowledged. The victim was never able to work through it and was shunned for it. Your heart goes out to her and I wanted to reach inside the book and knock some sense into some of the characters.
    The ending was not a warm fuzzy either. It really leaves with nothing resolved. I have to read the next one though because I have to know what happens!
    Obviously well written to draw me in so entirely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Good conflict and serious life issues, written in a believable w

    Good conflict and serious life issues, written in a believable way. It wasn't mushy. It had the feel of real Amish culture and real people. I like all the characters, but my favorites were the MC, Hannah Lapp and her friends, Mary and Matthew. The love and support the three gave each other through terrible trials is encouraging to everyone who reads it. It makes me want to be like them.

    What I didn't like: a couple of situations were too obvious -- placed there by the author to build wrong impression (girl falls into boy and is seen by boy's girlfriend who imagines the worst - that kind of stuff), but it wasn't enough to take away from the book.

    Overall, I REALLY, REALLY like it! Okay, I'm off to buy the next book in this series, "When the Morning Comes". I gotta find out what happens to Hannah Lapp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Ll Love these kind of books

    Very well done it is so nice when youccan really visualize your suroundings and charecters


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Great Series!

    This book was a great summer read. So good that I also read #2 and #3. They all were excellent and captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7