Customer Reviews for

When the Legends Die

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    The legend lives on

    When the Ledgends Die is a great book that i very much enjoyed reading and i reccomend it to anyone who likes to read. If you like suvival stories this is the book for you. This book is about a young Indian boy named Tom who runs away with his mom in the middle of the night to be with his father who is wanted for murder. After Tom's father dies his mother also dies in grief. Tom being all alone decides to return to his ancesters ways of life. Tom lays down a vow saying that he will never return to the white man's world. This is a good story because it shows how Tom finds his true idenity. The story is full of Tom facing obstacles in the wild and how he learns to survive them. The conflicts in the story are man vs society and man vs nature. If those are the book you like then this is the book for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    when the legends die

    i liked this book, but at the end when he was going through all this wierd stuff, it got pretty stressful. you start to feel like the character in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    wow this bok if cool

    wow this books is like my most favorite book in the whole intire would!! well i just have to read it again. LOVE ALWAYS. Sasha Dennis

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Whitney

    I'm in 5th grade and i understood every detail

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    Crossen's Opinion

    Hey i'm Mike Crossen and I just wanted to share that I thought this book was very thought out and written well. I thought the plot was very creative, how Tom and his mother leave in the night to be with his father who is a fugitive. Then Tom's father dies and later his mother dies in grief. I thought it was creative that Tom stays in the wild by himself making a vow that he will never return to the white man's world. I thought the detail put into the story was good and it so that i could image what was going on at times. For example i could picture Tom all alone surrounded by tons of forest waiting and preparing to kill for food. I give this book three and a half stars and recomend it to anyone who likes survival stories or just likes to read. Bye

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Borland and Blackbull: A Winning Combination

    Hal Borland writes an action packed novel involving descriptions of the Ute Indian tribe, the transition from a Native American way of life to the ¿white¿ ways, and the dangerous life of a rodeo star. I liked this novel because it had great messages for the reader. The author did a great job of explaining how isolated a person can feel when life does not go as planned. I would recommend this book to young adult readers interested in learning about the struggle to find out who you are. Thomas Blackbull, the main character in the novel, is a person that everyone can relate to in one sense or another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2001

    Great book about finding who you are!

    This is a great book about finding who you are...but it is a little too slow for my taste at first. After a while, when the story is developed, it gets exciting. This is a good book for people of all ages, especially guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    When the Legends Die

    In When The Legends Die Hal Borland talks about the themes of betrayal and remembering your heritage. He implies these themes by giving the reader menatal images about Tom and Blue Elk throughout the novel. Tom ' a typical Ute' has to deal with Blue Elk or 'Fat Belly' decieving him. Any person who has had traditions passed down can relate to the book which is why I enjoyed it. The book also has many of the same situations that teenagers go through. I also recommend this book to anyone who believes in doing what they want. Hope you enjoy reading this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    When the Legends Die

    In When The Legends Die Hal Borland discusses the themes of keeping heritage and mistreatment of Indians. Borland covers the themes very well using specific details and imagery of the harshness of growing up and the mistreatment of Indians. Tom 'self-sufficient and living alone' deals with the devastating death of his mother and father and is taken to a reservation to live. There he is severely mistreated and mad fun of by his roomate, Luther Spotted Dog. I liked this book because I believe many people can relate to the hard time he had growing up. If you don't like books that kind of deal with nature you probably wouldn't like this book. I also recommend this book to anyone who likes Indian stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    Rediscovering One's Past

    In the novel 'When the Legends Die', Hal Borland canvasses the themes of respecting one's heritage and the mistreatment of indians. Borland makes these themes easily seen in the way he uses specific examples of discrimination against indians and how the main character, Tom attempts to change his life. Tom who is a 'breech-clout indian' trys to sheild his past by forgetting who he is and where he comes from. During his life he meets several people that he feels 'he killed,' and they help him realize that he has destroyed all of the demons on his past. This is a story of rediscovering the pastand where he came from, and I enjoyed reading it. It was interesting at most parts, and I liked the story of an indian becoming a nationwide famous bronc rider that people made stories about. I recommend this book for anyone that trys to be someone they are not, because it shows them that the only important thing is your heritage and that is something that you can not escape from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    'My name is Tom Black Bull...or is it?'

    'Who am I?' 'I do not need the new ways!' These are the main quotes that depict the themes in Hal Borland's When the Legends Die. The book is about how a boy named Tom deals with Indian oppresion, and how he is forced to accept the white ways. The book also thoroughly dialogues a man's search for himself and his heritage. I enjoyed this book to a certain extent. It accurately views Indian oppression through the eyes of a survivor. If you are a reader who enjoys history, and the insights into people's lives, I strongly suggest you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    When the Legends Die

    In When The Legends Die Hal Borland discusses themes as of Betrayel and mistreatment of identity. Borland covers the themes really well with good detail that gives vivid images in the readers mind. Thomas 'Bear's Brother' feels betrayed by his brother the bear for not responding to his call, while Blue Elk 'an old native' keeps him captive on a reservation forcing him to use the new ways. Anyone wanting to learn of native American history and how they were changed, I strongly recommend this book. This, and another reason why I enjoyed it and recommend this to others is its suspenseful actions in major events of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    My review of When the Legends Die

    In 'When the Legends Die' Hal Borland writes about the discrimination and mistreatment of Native Americans, he also discusses a person who is trying to find his meaning in life. Borland discusses these themes by following the life of a ' Ute Indian Boy' as he grows up. In Tom's life he faces many difficult problems and tragedies. Some of them being tricked many times by a 'wiry red-haired man' named Red Dillon and trying to find hisself at the end of the book. The interesting life that Tom leads keeps one interested in the book throughout the whole thing. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Native American history and also American History.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Discrimination of Indians

    In When The Legends Die Hal Borland expresses the themes mistreatment and discrimination of indians.Borland gives good details and ideas to support those themes.One of Borlands main characters Bessie, is a loving and traditional person.She wants to keep her Ute heritage going.I really liked this book, one because it gave mental images and makes you want to keep reading. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to know about indians and how they live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    Importance of Finding your Identity

    In When The Legends Die Hal Borland infers the question 'who are you.' Borland covers this topic exceptionally well, by creating images that are extremely realistic you feel as if you are part of the story. Tom swears he will never return to the white man's world. He will dress in 'his moccasins and his clout.' I enjoyed this book for many reasons. I found the book outrageously interesting, never wanting to put it down. If you enjoy books that you feel incorporated in, this is the book for you. Borland creates realistic images that pull you into the book. I also found this book encouraging in that Tom accomplishes something no one thinks he can

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Searching....

    In When Legends Die Hal Borland stresses the theme of searching for yourself. He invisions this theme by having Tom have flashbacks and looking into his thoughts. Tom wants to destroy his past of being a Ute indian by being a rodeo rider. Thomas is a confused man that wants to take his feelings out on the horses. I really liked this book. This book is very easy to get into to and you will not want to put it down. The only part that I didn't like about this book was that it had to much detail and went on to long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    The Tragedy of An Indian life shown by Hal Borland

    In'When the Legends Die' by Hal Borland show what it was like to be an Indain in the early 1900's. He tells us how hard it is to be a 'young indian boy' like Tom Black Bull and finding your true identity when 'torn between two worlds' of the old ways and the new ways. The mean reason I like the story is because it shows how indians live in the old days and how difficult to be a child with no parents in the world. Also like the way he rides in the rodeos, and I recommend this book to anyone who likes the wild west and how Cowboys really lived back then. It also shows how Indians were mistreated wether they lived on the reservation or work with other. Tom was bosed around like a slave and threatened by everone. It started when they forced him to live in the city because his family got off the reservation with out a permant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    OoOoOh!

    I think this book was neato potato!! =D I was really surprised about the things Tom had to go through. The ending was happy though...it made me feel all warm and tingly inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    Really good!!

    I read it for school, and i really enjoyed it. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1