Customer Reviews for

When The Marquess Met His Match: An American Heiress in London

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Another Fun Read in an Entertaining Series

    I've been enjoying this series by Laura Lee Guhrke. The concept is clever and each story has been entertaining. I enjoy the character development and the amusing dialog for pure escapism into a simpler time period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    I liked this book. I've read a couple of this author's books bef

    I liked this book. I've read a couple of this author's books before but not all, and liked them. This is a good one, 
    likable characters, ok chemistry, ok storyline, entertaining. Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    This is the first Laura Lee Guhrke book I have ever read. I will

    This is the first Laura Lee Guhrke book I have ever read. I will definitely be reading more of her.

    I'm not a huge romance fan. I usually read them between murder mysteries and thrillers to bring my brain into the light, so to speak. I found Ms. Guhrke's writing refreshingly witty. Her writing is for women, not girls. Her characters are clever and the dialog witty.

    Her writing reminds me of Jane Austen because of the snappy dialog. She writes in detail about how the people are dressed and how social calendars were handled. Everything about this book was delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    I couldn't put it down

    I would strongly suggest this one. She does give him a hard time but there are valid reasons for it on both their parts. Overall a good read and well written. There are a few typos that were missed in the last chapter or so of the book, but they can be easily overlooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Laura Lee Guhrke and was excited when I found out that sh

    I love Laura Lee Guhrke and was excited when I found out that she would be featuring American Heiresses in her next series.  Although I am a fan of her work (see Girl Bachelor series), I was a little bit disappointed about this one which is why I rated it 3.5 hearts.

    I had a hard time warming up to Belinda Featherstone and a little bit put off my Nicholas.  The heroine is unlike LLG’s heroines that I know and love.  Belinda, being an American, is a widow of an earl who married her for her money, pretending to have feelings for her and revealing his true colors after their marriage.  Once she became a widow (husband died in the arms of his mistress), she starts supporting herself as a matchmaker for American heiresses, making sure to find the right match for them and also making sure that they are matched with the right peer who will not marry them only for her money.  This leads Nicholas, the heir of a dukedom, to hire her to find him an American heiress.

    I enjoyed the chemistry between Belinda and Nicholas, especially their verbal sparring.  The only thing that I did not like was Belinda’s low opinion of him despite him not giving her any reason to hate him other than being a scoundrel.  I thought that was a little hypocritical of her.

    The element that saved this book for me was the tension between the Nicholas and his father, the Duke.  I also loved the selfless way Nicholas went about confronting his father and giving up everything just to marry Belinda.  Of course, I also loved it when Nicholas found out that Belinda stormed the Duke’s residence and gave him a piece of her mind.

    I also love that my ebook had a short sneak peek of the next book in the series, How to Lose a Duke in Ten Days, which features Edie, one of Belinda’s “failure matches.”  Can’t wait to read that one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nicholas Stirling is quite the charming devil, he makes me wish

    Nicholas Stirling is quite the charming devil, he makes me wish I was an heiress born in a different place and time. Lady Belinda had me giggling out loud quite a few times as she dealt with the Marquess of Trubridge and while she was very stern in her judgement of him in the beginning; it was quite understandable given the circumstances. I do believe that he won me over well before he did his matchmaker. I think Nicholas is one of the most fascinating heroes I have ever come across, he is charming and appears to be carefree yet he has so many layers to his personality and an interesting history. Belinda is a product of her past as well and while she was very stern in her reactions I couldn’t help but understand why she came to the conclusions she had. The supporting characters are wonderful and add just the right amount of depth without taking over. This is the first book I’ve read by this author but I know it definitely will not be the last as I’m hooked on these cheeky American heiresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    GREAT STORY WITH REAL CHARACTERS

    Strong female character with a strong male lead. Have read several books now by this author and she never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    The heroine was not likable at all, and there was little chemist

    The heroine was not likable at all, and there was little chemistry between the two.  She maintained an unreasonable anger against the man which made me thing she was not terribly intelligent, and very, very bitter and unpleasant.  I couldn't finish the book.  Read 1/3 of the way and just gave up.  This is my first Guhrke book but will try another.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    fantastic

    fantastic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4 Stars...A Hero Strong Enough to Be Her Man Acceptance among

    4 Stars...A Hero Strong Enough to Be Her Man


    Acceptance amongst the Knickerbocker New York ‘aristocracy’ wasn’t attainable for a New Money girl from Cleveland, Ohio. Miss Belinda Hamilton found love instead…or so she thought. She was swept off her feet by the Seventh Earl of Featherstone, settled in England, and fleeced of all her money to pay her husband’s debt. The widowed Countess of Featherstone learned a hard lesson. As a sought after matchmaker, she earns her living while protecting naïve American heiresses from meeting the same fate she did.

    Nicholas, Marquess of Trubridge, is just the type of scoundrel she despises. He is a friend of Belinda’s squandering brother-in-law. She has heard about their exploits. Nicholas, with his dashing good looks and charming ways, is just the type of man who would win a young girl’s heart to later shatter it into a million pieces.

    Belinda’s interference in his desperate pursuit for a wealthy wife leads to skirmishes between the two. Eventually, there’s only one option left to Belinda, which is to become Nicholas’s matchmaker. She doesn’t count on learning there is more to him than meets the eye. Nor does she expect him to unintentionally offer glimpses of the vulnerable man he hides. Nicholas makes her feel alive for the first time in many years, but can he prove to Belinda that he is the man she wants and needs?

    This may seem like a story about an archetypical wastrel son in need of an heiress, but it’s not! Nicholas’s squandering ways are motivated by factors explained early in the story. Belinda and Nicholas reveal their wounds to the reader and to each other through their fears and actions. That they are perceptive characters is a rewarding characteristic; time is not wasted in the storytelling waiting for them to have revelations. In a way, Nicholas is the poor little rich boy rebelling against his father and Belinda is the lonely widow nursing a broken and bitter heart, but there is more to their characters to keep the reader engaged.

    When the Marquess Met His Match brings two vulnerable characters together and they ignite! Laura Lee Guhrke pares them down and puts them into impressive motion for the readers to enjoy. The hero and heroine have chemistry, wit, charm, and pride. The romance, dialogue, setting, and storytelling are what you would expect from a seasoned historical romance writer. Overcoming Fears. Earning Respect. Giving One’s Love. The characters have to work for it! When the Marquess Met His Match shows when love encourages one to be a better person. It is the first book (and a winner!) in the American Heiress in London series.




    *ARC courtesy of HarperCollins via Edelweiss

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1