Customer Reviews for

When the Mob Ran Vegas

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    excellent

    great read very informative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Confused

    I love history & after visiting Las Vegas last week, I was really interested in this book. Unfortunately, I am left confused trying to piece together this choppy timeline. On one page someone dies, next page they're alive, then dead again. Too much time spent flipping back, to figure out year b/c someone is suddenly alive again. Not what I was expecting......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good

    How things really were in Vegas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Very Poorly Written

    This is a really bad "memoir"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Terrible

    This was a total mess. Author kept repeating stories and the time schedule was non
    existent. If there was some chronologic order it would have been readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Excellent and very enjoyable read

    As a guy who grew up in Nj and was also fortunate enough to visitVegas a lot in the early to mid 80's, this book brings bavk so many grest memories from that period plus somuch grest info on the creation running of Vegas back in the early part of the cenrury. I recommend rhis book highly. I was hesrtbroken when the corporations and Disney destroyed Vegas like the have dedtroyed Times Square in NYC.. read this book and see how fun the world once was


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Ok OK Book

    Long on anecdotes, short on narrative continuity. If you are looking for a collection of interesting stories, this is a book for you. If you're looking for more of a historical narrative, look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a "Can't put down" book

    So many times I have heard the phrase-that would never have happened 'when the mob ran Vegas'that the book jumped out at me.This is a fast and easy read full of history of more than Vegas.You get a feeling of just how corrupt politics were and are. Names were named that made me go "Oh my God!".There is the Hollywood conection and so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Accurate depiction of Las Vegas before the faux

    This book by Mr. Fischer is an excellent rendering of what Las Vegas was before big business took over the strip. I couldn't put it down. It was engrossing, thought provoking and made me want to learn more. Thanks Mr. Fischer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Best audiobook of the year!

    I enjoyed this audiobook -- I got the book last year, but this was way, way, way better! I thoroughly enjoyed listening. I could listen to a whole story running errands -- it's not like you listen to part of it and then have to remember what was going on... each story is a separate story. I also enjoyed the authors voice and his laugh. I felt like he was sitting there telling me the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Murder, Mayhem and Money is RIGHT

    An incredible collection of mob stories from early Vegas. Author has a charming, funny writing style. My husband loved the book too. We're buying copies for all our friends who go to Vegas once a year and never knew the real 'inside' stories behind the casinos and the city.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1