BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When the Morning Comes (Sisters of the Quilt Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Awful read

    If you know anything at all about the amish, you'd know that the possibility of an amish girl getting pregnant and running away under such circumstances, is like 1 in 500.
    This book was very dumb, storyline, everything. Too many characters to follow.
    Ill stick with Lewis....thanks. And if you want first hand writing, based on real people, of the amish, read Beverly Lewis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Great Series!

    This book was a great summer read. So good that I also read #1 and #3 - in the correct order. They all were excellent and captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Great book

    Love this book and the other ones shes a great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Very enjoyable.

    Hated to put this book down. Can not wait to get on to Series 3. I'll read anything this lady writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this new author.

    When the Morning Comes is the second in a series. After reading When the Heart Cries I searched all over town to find this book. This series has so much more depth then some of the similar series I have read by other authors. I passed the books on to a friend and she read them equally as fast. Miss Woodsmall also gives a brief synopsis of the characters in the beginning of her 2nd and third book so it makes it possible to read without the reading the others. She also gives a glossary of the Amish words in the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    I can't wait for her next book, I've read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    I can hardly wait for the next installment¿

    This is another great book by Cindy Woodsmall. I can hardly wait to read the next installment. When the Morning Comes is about changes in life. You can think you have things all planned, but then something happens and everything changes. This book clearly demonstrates how tightly you need to hold on to your faith and to remember that although it seems like everyone is against you, God is always for you. This is also a lesson in learning from your choices. What you chose to do or not do will affect everyone around you. Hannah Lapp was shunned by all the people in her Amish community except a very good friend. Even Paul, the boy she loved, turned his back on her. Hannah left the Amish life and began anew. She moved in with her Aunt and adapted to the English culture. She is called back to the Amish community for an emergency. Now we must wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Another book that makes me feel like a new person.

    This book is so amazing. I can't begin to describe how it made me look at things differently. When I read that book I wanted to JUMP into the book and tell them where Hannah is so Paul could go and find her because in the end I think that Paul and Hannah are made for each other. It made me sad when I finish the first book because it left me hanging there and I didn't know what to do! The reason I got my hands on this book is because I think that the Amish are very cool. I imagine that they feel like they alone but I love how they are dedicated to their religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    TALK ABOUT A CLIFF HANGER! Dudette, you can not just leave me hanging like this, I don't know how I'm suppose to make it to September! Ugh! This book was really great, better than the first, and I really enjoyed that one. There is real issues that are tough on life and hard, but there is goodness. There are more characters to fall in love with in this book and the personalities are so real and so great, that you do not know who to love more as a reader and feel just as confused as the charac...more TALK ABOUT A CLIFF HANGER! Dudette, you can not just leave me hanging like this, I don't know how I'm suppose to make it to September! Ugh! This book was really great, better than the first, and I really enjoyed that one. There is real issues that are tough on life and hard, but there is goodness. There are more characters to fall in love with in this book and the personalities are so real and so great, that you do not know who to love more as a reader and feel just as confused as the character and then realize the things that you know that she/he doesn't and your heart breaks for them, but you still do not know which would be better! I could not read this book fast enough to find out what happens and each part is really unexpected and fascinating. I earnestly cannot wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    UNforgettable

    I LOVED IT and it was well worth my Sunday afternoon because I couldn't put it down and now I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE! Who does Hannah REALLY love? so much has happened now- will Hannah be able to help Sarah, or has she gone too far? Will Matthew be ok and be able to forgive Elle? Will Hannah be able to come back and help her family & FRIENDS that need her? I hope this is only the beginning of the MANY books I hope she writes!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    A fresh breath of air. . .

    Cindy Woodsmall once again carries us into the Amish world in her book When the Morning Comes, Book 2 in her series Sisters of the Quilt. We are brought once again into Hannah Lapp¿s life as she flees her Old Order Amish community to find peace and healing in the home of her aunt who was long ago shunned. Plunged into an unknown world Hannah struggles to find her way through the difficulties of education, job hunting, and understanding the Englischer world. Paul Waddell remains back in Owl Perch eaten away by guilt over his reaction to Hannah¿s secret. He tries fruitlessly to find Hannah through the help of her friends and brother. But the Amish life is strict and Hannah¿s father refuses to bend causing more metal anguish to Hannah¿s already mentally unstable sister, Sarah. Hannah begins to find purpose and fulfillment in her new life and friendship with Martin Palmer, but when the past finds her will she face her past and return home? Ms. Woodsmall once again makes it hard to leave Hannah¿s story and leaves us waiting impatiently for the next chapter of her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    awsomley written

    i loved this book it helped me learn how amish lives are differant from the 'englichers'. i hope to see more in the series and getting to know other carecters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Excellent Sequel!

    After reading the first book of the Sisters of the Quilt series, When the Heart Cries, I immediately read this sequel. I was not disappointed. The story of Hannah Lapp continues as she attempts to begin a life outside of the Old Order Amish community she was raised in. I eagerly await the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    A great book!

    I read the first book in the series, 'When the heart cries' and that was excellent! This second book in the series is terrific and it's hard to put down when you start to read it. Please read both of these books, I promise you won't be disappointed! The way it ends though I am sure there will be a third book to this series. Great, cause I love this author!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Great book!

    This is a fantastic sequel. I liked the first book, but I think this one is so much better. I love how the author took Hannah's tragedy and used it as the catalyst for Hannah finding herself. Hannah has grown by leaps and bounds in this book and I love her character and the woman she is becoming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Can not wait for next book

    Great easy read. Keeps you coming back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous modern day Amish tale

    When the Morning Comes Cindy Woodsmall Waterbrook, Sep 2007, $12.99 ISBN: 9781400072934 In Owl¿s Perch, Pennsylvania following the break up with her beloved Mennonite fiancé Paul Wadell after his betrayal left her reputation in ruins, Hannah Lapp leaves her family behind to live with her outcast Aunt Zabeth in Ohio. Her Amish father considers Hannah dead and her sister Sarah struggles with what she has done to her sibling. Paul wallows in guilt because he knows his actions not only destroyed Hannah¿s reputation, but their chance for a life together. In Ohio, as Hannah tries to adapt to life amongst the English, Paul pleads with her brother Luke and her best friend Mary to inform him where she went so that he can atone for his sin. Meanwhile, Hannah begins to move on with help from her aunt and from handsome Martin Palmer. --- The second Sisters of the Quilt tale is a fantastic tale that leads the audience to deeply feel for Hannah, but to a lesser degree the other Lapp family members and Paul. The story line is a tear jerker as readers will be so hooked they will want to offer solace and assistance to the heroine. Although it would help a bit to read Hannah¿s first tale (see WHEN THE HEART CRIES) to better understand the secondary characters like jealous Sarah, fans of modern day Amish tales will appreciate Cindy Woodsmall¿s fine character driven sequel. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved Cindy's first book, 'When The Heart Cries'. I almost cried at the end because of the trouble Paul and Hannah were going through. They seemed so perfect for each other, but then they didn't make it...it was really sad, especially when Hannah was ...raped... It is truly wrong how many girls are raped now. It probably happens at least once a month and none of these girls/women deserve it. I am completely against it, and I hope everyone who reads this also thinks it is wrong...Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    If you loved When the Heart Cries, you are really going to love this sequel. The story begins with Hannah searching for her Aunt. She ends up all alone, cold and hungry. You can't help but feel for her since the ending of the last book brought out the many injustices she faced at the hands of people who were supposed to be there for her. Of course, she does finally find her aunt and her life starts to finally turn around. Meanwhile, Paul hasn't forgotten Hannah, and her sister Sarah is completely losing her mind as a result of Hannah's disappearance. There is drama with other members of Owl's Perch, too, but I won't spoil it by sharing the details. In short, this story was just as hard to put down as the first book in the series. I personally think it was even more romantic. But you start to feel torn. Of course, the author resolves just enough of the issues that you aren't freaking out when the story ends, but she leaves some loose ends that make you crave the next installment. I can't wait to read the third book in this series to find out what Hannah decides to do with her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Cell phones meet horse and buggy in this journey of faith

    Book two in the Sisters of the Quilt series, When Morning Comes is the perfect sequel to When the Heart Cries. As Hannah comes of age in this journey of faith, she¿s exposed to a new world of opportunity. A world where many of her dreams can come true. Woodsmall is a gifted writer who once again turned off my inner editor, enabling me to suspend disbelief and experience Hannah¿s life-changing challenges. Have you ever read a sequel to a book you loved, and the author took the story in a direction you didn¿t want it to go? I was surprised with the end of When Morning Comes, yet it had a certain rightness to it, a satisfying end. But it isn¿t the end. There¿s more to Hannah¿s story to come. I for one, can¿t wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3