Customer Reviews for

When the Smoke Clears: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Enjoyed this book very much. Hard to put down. A real page turner. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great read

    For the person who likes suspense with romance thrown in, this book is a great read. The ending is a good lead in to the next book. It will be hard to wait for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Splashpaw

    Splashpaw~ -she stepped out in the sunlight and squinted. Her fur shone in the rays- Starpaw?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When the Smoke Clears by Lynette Eason

    Lynette Eason once again proves why she is a great voice in Christian romantic suspense with her latest novel, When the Smoke Clears, the first book in the new Deadly Reunions series. Eason's ability to get her message across while still giving the reader an intense, thrilling read is exceptional. Her characters are well written and multi-layered. Eason's knack for writing gritty crime drama is one of the reason's her books have been so successful.


    When the Smoke Clears is the first book in Lynette Eason's new series and I was thrilled to receive it for review after enjoying her first series so much. I am not always the biggest fan of what I would call crime writing or thrillers, but Eason certainly has won me over as a fan. Her blend of Christian beliefs with edgy, current story lines is anything but tame. I love the intensity with which she writes, there is an urgency about her books that appeals to me.


    This book is about a smokejumper, a profession that I have always found intriguing. Alexia Allen is a female firefighter who has a very dangerous career, but a rewarding one. I have a lot of respect for people who do this kind of work. The ones who go in when no one else will or can. I loved the background information that Eason gives the reader on Alexia and her job. I hope that future books will go into further detail and really expand that aspect of the story.


    Alexia is a great character. She is very introspective and very driven. I think that's the kind of person it would take to do the kind of work she does. I enjoyed her perspective on Christianity, as she saw it through the eyes of some of the other characters. It's interesting to think about how someone looking in might react to how a person believes. This aspect of the story was well written. It wasn't overbearing and it allowed the reader to ask the same questions. How can they react the way they do to hardship or danger? What do they have that makes them so different?


    There was definitely a lot of romance here. There was a lot of action and it was all from a Christian perspective. I liked the fact that Eason doesn't rely on her beliefs to carry the story, but sort of let's that part of the book take it's own path, kind like it does in real life. This is a really good book and I recommend it to Christian fiction and inspirational readers, as well as, those who are interested in reading a good clean story, that is taunt, suspenseful and full of twists and turns. A great first book in a new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    VERY INTERESTING!!

    WHEN THE SMOKE CLEARS by Lynette Eason is the first book in a new series,
    "Deadly Reunion".This is a very interesting book. It is a book you want to read it all before you put it down. There is lots of suspense thoughout the whole book. It is written with details. I liked the character Alexia.There is romance throughout the book,which leads Alexia to the love of her life. A must read for anyone who enjoys romance,inspirational,smokejumpers,secrets,and suspense. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Puslishing Group and My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews.



    **“Available February 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”**


    RATING: 5

    HEAT RATING: Sweet

    REVIEWED BY: DorothyA<My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Fantastic Romantic Suspense

    Lynette Eason is one of my favorite romantic suspense authors. This book continues to build on the strength of her prior books.

    This book has all the elements to be a book you can't put down. Alexia Allen is a heroine with a past filled with pain and a present filled with questions and danger. Hunter Graham is a detective who wanted to catch Alexia's eye in high school, but didn't. Now they are thrust together when Alexia reluctantly comes home in time to try to save a man who's been attacked in her mother's basement.

    Everything is stacked against them...from any hope of a relationship to trying to prove Alexia isn't the murderer. This books shows such growth in characterization from the author's first full length novel, that I literally couldn't put it down. I had to see how Alexia would overcome the intense pain of her past and whether she would risk hurt in the present or remain walled-off.

    One comment: this book is clearly the first in a series. Not all threads are wrapped up neatly in the end. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1