Customer Reviews for

When the Thrill Is Gone (Leonid McGill Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    A THRILLING read!

    I just finished this book last night and was getting ready to order the next one in the series,' All I Did Was Shoot My Man'. If you're a Mosley fan, you WILL enjoy this book. It's got all the things you read Mosley for, the kooky, quirky characters, the peek into the seamy side of human nature, a few twists and turns, a little offside humor and the 'Oh-I-didn't-see-that-coming' that you expect! I really liked some of the minor players in this one, like McGill's secretary, Mardi (a young lady he rescued from herself in a previous McGill novel) and his girlfriend, Aura (a woman he loves and depends on, but isn't in the position to commit to 100%). They're in his other books, but I felt their personalities came out a little more in this one. There are a lot of characters in this book, and you kinda have to pay attention. But it was such a good ride! You'll get to the point where you can't put it down because you have to know! And it all ties together and makes sense. Mosley fans, dive in!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Mosely has outdone himself. This is a brilliant novel with engaging story-telling and compelling characters. Human nature without any glossy covering: complicated lives, raw and thought-provoking. An excellent read and a lingering set of thoughts to ponder. Wow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down

    This is the first I've read by this author and it turned out to be a great introduction. I want to read the rest of the series and most likely, some of the other series by the same author. Couldn't put it down until the last page forced me to stop. Leonid, the main character, grew on me as the book progressed to the point I almost liked him after all.

    Note: This uncorrected proof was provided free through the GoodRead's First Reads program by Riverhead with an expectation of an honest review. My opinion is my own

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Walter Mosley never disappoints!

    Leonid McGill is a NYC private investigator. He's just been hired by Chrystal Tyler, a woman who claims to fear for her life. Her husband's first two wives met unusual deaths and she's afraid she's going to be next. Her story about being married to a wealthy patron of her art doesn't jibe with her clothing or demeanor but he really needs the large amount of cash she's offering as a retainer. But very quickly, Leonid discovers that many of the people in this case are not who they're pretending to be, including the woman who hired him.

    At the same time, McGill is searching for William Williams at the request of a local crime boss. No one has seen Williams in decades and his real identity is a shock.

    Quieter and gentler than Mosley's street-smart Easy Rawlins character, Mosley has infused McGill with an "uptown" style. As well as pursuing Tyler's case, he's dealing with a cheating wife, his good friend Gordo is dying of cancer and is staying at the McGill home, and one of McGill's sons is up to something illegal. He's also longing to rekindle his relationship with his lover, Aura, and assisting random people he meets along the way.

    I first discovered Mosley's books almost twenty years ago when then presidential candidate Bill Clinton, who is a fan of mysteries, said that Walter Mosley was one of his favorite authors during an interview. It was 1992 and I started with Mosley's DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS. I've been a devoted fan ever since and WHEN THE THRILL IS GONE did not disappoint. I hope to be happily entertained by Mr. Mosley for the next twenty years.
    Lynn Kimmerle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    When The Thrill is Gone

    P.I. Leonid McGill takes on the case of a beautiful woman and artist who hands him a bundle of cash, saying she is afraid someone is trying to kill her. Soon he finds out she is not who she says she is and yet she still may have been murdered. He also takes on the case of locating a William Williams that no one has seen in over twenty years. Enough to keep him bust, there is still his private life having to deal with his stepson who has disappeared, his wife and girlfriend and his best friend. So much going on, yet Mosley gives an entertaining and mysterious tale that is colorful and descriptive. This is another one of those novels that I am glad to have been introduced to or otherwise would have missed. Mosley is a master of his craft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Puzzle Wrapped Enigma

    When Winston Churchill spoke of, "a riddle wrapped in a puzzle wrapped in an enigma", he might well have been describing Walter Mosley's fictional detective, Leonid McGill. Everyone keeps secrets from him. Everyone tells him lies or half truths. His dad quoted him communist manifesto instead of reading him bedtime stories in the relatively few years he was around. He was last seen just before leaving his wife and young Leonid, to go fight in some South American revolution. Leonid knows his wife is seeing another man, but it seems to be improving her self image. Her attitude towards Leonid and her kids is getting better. At the office where McGill trys to run his detective business in a down economy, his clients are few and far between. So when a beautiful woman comes in telling him that she needs protection from her husband who may be out to kill her, he takes it with a grain of salt and a hand full of cash. His initial investigation reveals she is not who she said she was. Leonid, however, has to rethink everything when her body turns up colder than the cash she gave him. Riddles, puzzles, enigmas. You need to be open to all the clues if you want to stay on top of this one. Be prepared, the more Walter Mosley you read, the more you will want to read. This book provided for review by the well read folks at Shelf Awareness and Riverhead Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2