Customer Reviews for

When the Wind Blows

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 328 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining mystery/suspense

    When the Wind Blows is an entertaining mystery/suspense page turner. It's about some genetic researchers who create a small group of children with wings. They can fly like birds. They unethically experiment on children in a secret laboratory in the mountains. But one day, two of the children escape. And that's where the thrills begin.<BR/>The truly scary part is that it's all plausible. James Patterson writes at the end of the book how all the scientists he interviewed said that the things that happened in the book are already happening or are going to happen in our lifetimes. So maybe one day, all our childhood fantasies of flying will really come true. I'm looking forward to starting on the sequel, The Lake House.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Time passes quickly while reading When the Wind Blows.

    Time will fly & you'll be halfway through the book before you know it. It's a really cool book & hard to put down until you finish it. I can't wait to read the sequel to this one called The Lake House.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Just a Darn Good Read!

    As I always do when I read any book, I go through and read some reviews so I know what I'm up against. In this book's case, the very first review I read on this book said that it was "amateurish" writing and that the characters were one dimensional. In fact, there were quite a few negative reviews on this book. I came upon this book and ended up picking it up on the recommendation of my sister in law. This book is the .5 book in the "Angel Experiment" series so I got it, along with the first book in the series from my library, so I could read both. I wasn't sure how well I would like the books after what I read from reviews but I thought I'd give 'er a go. I am SO glad I did.

    I found this book to be a true page turner from the get go. Something about Patterson's writing style always draws me in even though I'm not a real fan of his books. Its weird because I like everything I've read that he's written, but his usual murder mystery genre doesn't work for me. THIS story though really struck me as fascinating and the fact that it *could* be true, really fascinates me more. One dimensional characters? I really found the opposite to be true. I found the dimension that was given was just perfect and worked well with the story. It was exciting and a little romance was thrown in (which for me is always a plus) and I am really anxious to start the next book in the series. Quite a few readers must feel as I do because the series is a popular one. The next book in the series seems to be a follow up to this book but then the Angel Experiment series branches out? I'm confused and I'll have to figure that out. All in all though, I say poo to the other reviewers, This was a darned good book! As much as it pains me to say this, my sister in law was right!

    What I disliked: Each chapter in the book represented the view of a particular character. One of the characters switched to first person and that switch between third person and first person back and forth annoyed me. I don't mind either view, I just don't like it switching back and forth.

    What I liked: This is going to sound sort of goofy, but as I am writing this I'm thinking back on the ugliness of scientific research that is set in the contrasting beauty of the Colorado mountains. I don't know if that was meant for the location of this story, but it hit me. When it did, I realized that the book affected me and I liked that. I am very anxious to start the next book in the series, whatever book that is.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    When The Wind Blows laid the foundation for Maximum Ride

    WTWB was my first introduction to James Patterson. Newer Patterson readers should know that WTWB was way before Maximum Ride. It's also a more scientifically plausable 'suspension of disbelief' that MaxRide. The fan response was so strong that Patterson continued the story with Lake House, then, as the preface to MaxRide reads, MaxRide morphed with similarities, but different. I highly recommend the audio set of WTWB. It's great. Great delivery, great for road trip. Max books are fun for young readers. WTWB is has a few more technical, graphical and bit of sexual content.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    This book is a great addition to any reader's library. The characters are a ton of fun, and Patterson's short chapters will reel you in, and you'll soon forget you've already been reading for four hours. While the plot doesn't always make sense in some regards, and the idea is very similar to Koontz Sole Survivor (not sure which was wrote first), the book is still a fantastic read. It is one of Patterson's best.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really didn't think I would like this book, my friend let me borrow this and The Lake House. It took me forever to start reading because they sounded so strange. I was really surprised, I really loved them. I love the genetic aspects of the plot. Now I need to go buy the other Maximum Ride books. I can't seem to find them used, I guess everyone is keeping their copies.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    LOVE IT !!!!!!!!!!!

    If you ask me it starts off a littil confusing but once you get into it its a whole lot better! Its starts off like that in most books, so owe'll. But its a really awsome book !

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Down below

    People who r confused about the series, dont be. If you actually read the maximum ride series that series does not have anything to do with the books: when the wind blows or the lake house. Im 8 and even i know that. Btw im smart for my age. Im in the sixth grade. Proof: an atom is made up of 3 different molicueles, a proton wich is positivily charged an electron wich is negitivly charged and a neutron wich is niether.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    The younger

    I LOVE IT WHEN I AM NOT THE ONLY 11 YEAR OLD!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Awesome

    If you've read Maximum Ride, knowing Patterson got his inspiration from this book, and you don't think this will live up to Max and the gangs journeys, then you're wrong.<BR/>When the Wind Blows is an awesome book. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Aawesome

    I absolutely loved this book!! Patterson is the best!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Wow

    I am reading this in class and this is probably the best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It may ruin his career but that's all Kit has left to lose.

    Kit knows there is something connecting the sudden demise of these doctors but his boss at the FBI has told him in no uncertain terms that Kit must drop it or lose his job.

    Frannie still is unable to move past her husband's death. Every night brings her yet another dream of him. She knows she's missing something but just can't place her finger on it.

    Max has finally escaped. Sure she's only eleven, but Max knows even running like this is better than staying there another minute. Now, she just needs to find out whether he made it out alive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Review of When the Wind Blows

    This book is about wonderful and not so wonderful things. There are several kids, that can fly, they are very skeptical of everything around them, including the people that found one of them, Frannie O'Neil, and Kit Harrison These kids are the most special kids ever made. They were designed and made in a lab that they named the school. There are several of these kids, their names are: Max, Oymandis (Oz), Icarus, Peter, and Wendy. Together they bring down the evil place that tortured them This book is one of many great books written by James Patterson, and is the first of two in a series, it is a great fast read, that puts every image in your head as you turn through the incredibly short chapters of this good book. Overall this book is a good book that could use some better editing and some longer chapters, but it is one of the best books that I have read, and it is definitely the most thrilling book I have ever read. This book is one of the best books written in the last 20 years, and it could remain that way for a very long time, overall it is a great book that needs some longer chapters, and some better editing, I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    This book should be a MOVIE!

    James Patterson is one of my favorite authors, and the library in our guest room looks like we ONLY read his books. Every time we go on a flight, both my husband and I choose a new James Patterson novel - and off we go into another dimension. My favorite Patterson novel of all times is "When the Wind Blows". When you read about the magical "science-created" children who have beautiful wings and hollow bones, and can fly and zoom through the forest; you think the book is a fairy tale. But, when James Patterson delves into the world of science and gene sharing, you realize that something like this could actually happen. I have a friend who has Love Birds in her home. I told her that this book was right up her alley, so bought it for her for her birthday - and she absolutely loved it! James Patterson can spin a tale like no one else - making the reader feel like they are right in there as part of the action. The reader gets all wrapped up in the characters; but as Patterson always delivers - there is always an undercurrent of evil. I truly hope that Hollywood recognizes this book as true entertainment - and decides to make a movie out of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Wings will rule

    This book will captivate anyone who loves scifi and mysteries. Franie O'neil finds 12 year old max who was being brutally abused at a place called the school. You will love this book i recomen you buy this book. You wont be abl to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    MAIN CHAT ROOM

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great reading!!

    I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Tap here

    This book is excellent ! I love it . From beginning to end it was amazing , I was sad to end it. I just got done reading it now im reading another book by James Patterson called 1st to Die. The beginning is kind of slow but im more into it now and it is amazing so far. I recommend this book ! Buy now ! Lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Grw Great book

    James Patterson has rapped si-fi and suspens into on great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 328 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17