Customer Reviews for

When the Wind Blows

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining mystery/suspense

    When the Wind Blows is an entertaining mystery/suspense page turner. It's about some genetic researchers who create a small group of children with wings. They can fly like birds. They unethically experiment on children in a secret laboratory in the mountains. But one day, two of the children escape. And that's where the thrills begin.<BR/>The truly scary part is that it's all plausible. James Patterson writes at the end of the book how all the scientists he interviewed said that the things that happened in the book are already happening or are going to happen in our lifetimes. So maybe one day, all our childhood fantasies of flying will really come true. I'm looking forward to starting on the sequel, The Lake House.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Just a Darn Good Read!

    As I always do when I read any book, I go through and read some reviews so I know what I'm up against. In this book's case, the very first review I read on this book said that it was "amateurish" writing and that the characters were one dimensional. In fact, there were quite a few negative reviews on this book. I came upon this book and ended up picking it up on the recommendation of my sister in law. This book is the .5 book in the "Angel Experiment" series so I got it, along with the first book in the series from my library, so I could read both. I wasn't sure how well I would like the books after what I read from reviews but I thought I'd give 'er a go. I am SO glad I did.

    I found this book to be a true page turner from the get go. Something about Patterson's writing style always draws me in even though I'm not a real fan of his books. Its weird because I like everything I've read that he's written, but his usual murder mystery genre doesn't work for me. THIS story though really struck me as fascinating and the fact that it *could* be true, really fascinates me more. One dimensional characters? I really found the opposite to be true. I found the dimension that was given was just perfect and worked well with the story. It was exciting and a little romance was thrown in (which for me is always a plus) and I am really anxious to start the next book in the series. Quite a few readers must feel as I do because the series is a popular one. The next book in the series seems to be a follow up to this book but then the Angel Experiment series branches out? I'm confused and I'll have to figure that out. All in all though, I say poo to the other reviewers, This was a darned good book! As much as it pains me to say this, my sister in law was right!

    What I disliked: Each chapter in the book represented the view of a particular character. One of the characters switched to first person and that switch between third person and first person back and forth annoyed me. I don't mind either view, I just don't like it switching back and forth.

    What I liked: This is going to sound sort of goofy, but as I am writing this I'm thinking back on the ugliness of scientific research that is set in the contrasting beauty of the Colorado mountains. I don't know if that was meant for the location of this story, but it hit me. When it did, I realized that the book affected me and I liked that. I am very anxious to start the next book in the series, whatever book that is.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    This book is a great addition to any reader's library. The characters are a ton of fun, and Patterson's short chapters will reel you in, and you'll soon forget you've already been reading for four hours. While the plot doesn't always make sense in some regards, and the idea is very similar to Koontz Sole Survivor (not sure which was wrote first), the book is still a fantastic read. It is one of Patterson's best.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Wow

    I am reading this in class and this is probably the best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It may ruin his career but that's all Kit has left to lose.

    Kit knows there is something connecting the sudden demise of these doctors but his boss at the FBI has told him in no uncertain terms that Kit must drop it or lose his job.

    Frannie still is unable to move past her husband's death. Every night brings her yet another dream of him. She knows she's missing something but just can't place her finger on it.

    Max has finally escaped. Sure she's only eleven, but Max knows even running like this is better than staying there another minute. Now, she just needs to find out whether he made it out alive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Review of When the Wind Blows

    This book is about wonderful and not so wonderful things. There are several kids, that can fly, they are very skeptical of everything around them, including the people that found one of them, Frannie O'Neil, and Kit Harrison These kids are the most special kids ever made. They were designed and made in a lab that they named the school. There are several of these kids, their names are: Max, Oymandis (Oz), Icarus, Peter, and Wendy. Together they bring down the evil place that tortured them This book is one of many great books written by James Patterson, and is the first of two in a series, it is a great fast read, that puts every image in your head as you turn through the incredibly short chapters of this good book. Overall this book is a good book that could use some better editing and some longer chapters, but it is one of the best books that I have read, and it is definitely the most thrilling book I have ever read. This book is one of the best books written in the last 20 years, and it could remain that way for a very long time, overall it is a great book that needs some longer chapters, and some better editing, I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    This is a surprisingly good page-turner. Frannie tries to help a

    This is a surprisingly good page-turner. Frannie tries to help a child and ends up uncovering  a diabolic genetic engineering plot. After reading this I had to read the sequel, The Lake House to find out what happens to the children . Fans of science thrillers will enjoy this ( and leave you wondering if this is really possilble)..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Wonderful book to read. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Fjiy

    Ahtuiy tu

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Great Read!

    I have read the series Maximum Ride that was the teen take off from this book and The Lake House. I much prefer this version. Very realistic and their take on the science is intriguing. I recommend to anyone looking for a quick fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Flowerbud

    (I can train you in starclan)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great easy-read novel with drama, romance, and action.

    I really enjoyed reading this novel. It was my 1st Patterson novel, and I definitely enjoyed it. I was so involved I could not put the book down and found myself carrying it with me everywhere until it was finished. I could not wait to dive into the second one. This was definitely at the top of my favorite book list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    Alright

    I recently read the book When the wind Blows and was impressed. The book does have allot of exciting and suspenseful moments. However some of the downfalls are the short chapters and poor description of the characters. I felt as if the author could have described the childrens wings more and the way they worked. Also it seems as if the character max could have done a whole lot more butt kicking in the book. I meen yes she is a 12 year old girl but she's stronger and faster and ultimetly the perfect human. The biggest thing i didnt like about the book was the fact that the children had wings. I felt that the only things that should have wings were angels which are created by God. And since the children were created in a lab then they where somewhat demonic in the sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    Good but a bit juvenile

    This is a good story, good characters but the book reads like a young adult story rather than a good suspense novel. I almost gave it to my granddaughter to read until I got to the later part of the book and the love interest. I will read the sequel but do not expect too much more than a pretty story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Makes you wish you could fly

    This was my first James Patterson novel, so it would be very difficult for me to compare this to anything else he has written, but I found the story to be overall very enjoyable and engaging. I felt that there were some off-notes: no real good explanation of what 'The School' was truly attempting to accomplish (aside from an apparent fascination with bird-people) and a fairly obvious romantic interest between Frannie and 'Kit'. Not high literature but clearly deserving of it's status as one of the author's most popular books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    a page turner

    From the first sentence, this book kept my attention. I couldn't put it down. He just keeps you turning the pages.I guess it might be that when i was a child, I used to dream alot about flying and sometimes, even now, in my adult life, I dream of flying. So this book really touch a fantasy that we can only dream about. I'm now reading the Lake House which is a sequel to 'when the wind blows' and it has me again. I feel this book calling me back so I gotta go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Felisha: A James Patterson Fan

    It was a wonderful, and very interesting story. I was sorry to see it end. I can't wait to read the Lake House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    First Timer

    This was the first book of Patteson's that i ever read... and i have to say i was quite impressed! i hope the rest of his books are as intriguing as this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    James Patterson Comes Through Again

    When I picked this book up, I was in the mood for escapism. I got it! The concept of genetic engineering, cloning and other scientific manipulation mixed with conspiracy, murder and disinformation is always fun. The main reason I enjoyed this particular book is that it made me want answers...Is this really happening? How would children such as this adjust? How would I adjust? When does science and technology go too far? If you can suspend reason and reality, this is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    An eyeopener on science

    This book is one of the many examples of things we know are true but yet we choose to not believe. When you sit down to read this book open your mind to belief and you will enjoy the passion that James Patterson has put into this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5