Customer Reviews for

Where Are You Now?

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Always a good read with Clark.

I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad o...
I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad of mysteries that boiled down to one person I would least suspect. The characters and scenes were depicted perfectly, and MHC is back to her old self portraying the glitz and glamour of Manhattan's lifestyle coupled with gripping suspense. MHC is an amazing woman and I can't say enough good things about her writing style and the research she puts into her novels. She is my role model. Congratulations and keep up the good work! Just check it out and see.

posted by 166983 on October 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Up to Par

I generally enjoy all of Mary Higgins Clark's books. I also enjoy looking for clues to tip me off to who might be the killer and the suspense leading up to it. This book didn't have the usual pulse pounding suspense and the eventual revelation of killer and accomplice s...
I generally enjoy all of Mary Higgins Clark's books. I also enjoy looking for clues to tip me off to who might be the killer and the suspense leading up to it. This book didn't have the usual pulse pounding suspense and the eventual revelation of killer and accomplice seemed to come out of nowhere. It was enjoyable but not up to the usual standard I am accumstomed to.

posted by jiuan1986 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A very good who-done-it

    Each Mother¿s Day brings a call to Carolyn MacKenzie and her mother from the missing Charles MacKenzie Jr. It has been 10 years now since Mack first went missing. She plans to find her brother ¿ dead or alive. With her father dying in 9/11 and Mack missing, Carolyn has had enough.<BR/><BR/>And now young women are going missing and the police think that Mack has something to do with it. Carolyn goes back to the investigator that her parents had hired and asks him what he remembers. He does not believe Mack has a part in the disappearance of the missing women and looks into the case again.<BR/><BR/>Carolyn doesn¿t stop there. She talks with the managers of the apartment that Mack and two friends shared just before he disappeared. They are very nervous and don¿t want her ask them any more questions. Nick and Bruce were the roommates. Carolyn had a crush on Nick but Mack didn¿t want him to be around his sister. Bruce is hostile to Carolyn. Maybe because his wife, Barbara, was in love with Mack before he disappeared. With all these possibilities, you won¿t believe the twist the ending has. All in all, this is a great book.<BR/><BR/>Jan Maxwell is easy to listen to and does do a good English accent. Most of the other characters sound about the same. She speaks clearly so you don¿t misunderstand any of the words and you don¿t lose track of the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    GRREAT

    I am a 2nd year college student and I hate reading but one day I was looking through my moms books and fell in love with this book, its been awhile since I could find any book I could keep flipping pages for and this one was non stop. I couldn't put it down even to go to sleep. I am even passing this book onto a friend because I told her it was a great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    It wasn't horrible...

    This wasn't MHC's best, but I wouldn't say I'm disappointed because the mystery was good. There was an overload of characters and more police work than I usually care to read about...it didn't add to the strength of the story for me. Also, I didn't feel the connection between Carolyn and her missing brother, Mack. She talked about him a lot, but it seemed to be just that - talk. I didn't feel sad at the end the way I'm sure MHC intended her readers to feel. It was an OK ending, and the epilogue certainly wrapped things up nicely, but it lacked a lot for me to be able to call this a satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    VERY ENJOYABLE, FAST READ

    How can you go wrong with M.H. Clark !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Great Book

    Mary Higgins Clark is always good for GREAT quick books!!! Very suspenseful as always and you never figure it out until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    A Fast Read

    I really enjoyed this book and like the others had no idea who had 'done it'. This one was sad, yes, but I did love the ending. I was surprised how much I liked it because there were quite a few of her recent books I thought were boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    What happened?

    Mary Higgins Clark is losing the ability to develop characters in her writing. There are too many characters in the book for the reader to keep track of when reading. Also, the short chapters disturb the flow of her writing. I am wondering if it is time for her to put her pen down. Her recent books are in no way comparable to her early work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    As usual, good storyline - horrible delivery

    I always love Clark's story ideas, and this one was no exception. However, there is a reason that your writing professor stressed POV's .... shifting is too distracting, and this book is certainly no exception. The constant shift from first to third person view was irritating.....and never really allowed me to fully get involved with any particular character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Great Story!!

    I have read several MHC books. This was a very good book it was very suspenseful. I had no idea who it was until the end of the story I could hardly put it down. I was surprised by the ending and a little sad. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Good Read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It is suspenseful and keeps you guessing till the end. You can never go wrong reading one of mary's books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just finished this book today. What a great book. I could hardly put it down, but all of M.H.C's books are this way. I was wrecking my brain through the whole book trying to figure out who did it, and boy was i surprised!!!!!!!!!!!!! you won't be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    New Mary Higgins Clark fan!

    This was the first book I have read by Mary Higgins Clark & although it took awhile for me to keep all the characters straight I loved this book & am looking forward to purchasing & reading another book by her. I felt so bad for Mack & felt like crying at the end. I definately recommend this book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    The Best!!

    Mary Higgins Clark is my absolute favorite author. This book was fantastic. You can't put it down. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    disappointing

    I have read all her books. I think this one is not as good as others. The killer has no character nor depth. The story is just not credible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    outstanding read

    My first reading of Mary Higgens Clark. I loved the characters and really felt bad for Mack. It was interesting too see it all come together. Where Am I Now? Starting another book by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    really MHC??

    I was sorely disappointed in this last book. Her books are usually can't put it down. This book really dragged and reminded me too much of the other HC. Not a thriller this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    so great i cryed

    This book is so well written. I could not stop crying it is so sad ,but it makes you want to think about your life and see what kind of changes you can make for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    fantastic

    This is her best yet. I really enjoyed wondering 'who done it' . The book seemed so small but it packed an exciting story. I found myself rooting for Mac. I wish she would write a novel more often now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Awesome

    Awesome I give this 2 thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    Mary Higgins Clark has had me hooked since Where are the Children. I picked this book up when I was a a teenager babysitting and have never missed a book. I can't wait for her next book. I have also past the love of her books now on to my grandchildren with her children's book. So in other works Mary Higgins Clark is like the Durracell Bunny she keeps going and going... Thank you Mary Higgins Clark

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4