Customer Reviews for

Where Are You Now?

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Always a good read with Clark.

I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad o...
I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad of mysteries that boiled down to one person I would least suspect. The characters and scenes were depicted perfectly, and MHC is back to her old self portraying the glitz and glamour of Manhattan's lifestyle coupled with gripping suspense. MHC is an amazing woman and I can't say enough good things about her writing style and the research she puts into her novels. She is my role model. Congratulations and keep up the good work! Just check it out and see.

posted by 166983 on October 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Up to Par

I generally enjoy all of Mary Higgins Clark's books. I also enjoy looking for clues to tip me off to who might be the killer and the suspense leading up to it. This book didn't have the usual pulse pounding suspense and the eventual revelation of killer and accomplice s...
I generally enjoy all of Mary Higgins Clark's books. I also enjoy looking for clues to tip me off to who might be the killer and the suspense leading up to it. This book didn't have the usual pulse pounding suspense and the eventual revelation of killer and accomplice seemed to come out of nowhere. It was enjoyable but not up to the usual standard I am accumstomed to.

posted by jiuan1986 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Always a good read with Clark.

    I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad of mysteries that boiled down to one person I would least suspect. The characters and scenes were depicted perfectly, and MHC is back to her old self portraying the glitz and glamour of Manhattan's lifestyle coupled with gripping suspense. MHC is an amazing woman and I can't say enough good things about her writing style and the research she puts into her novels. She is my role model. Congratulations and keep up the good work! Just check it out and see.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Where Are You Now?

    Mary Higgins Clark is my favorote author without a doubt. She did not disappoint me in this book. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and I didn't want to put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    I thought I knew who did it and then I turned the page

    Where are you now is a great page turner keeping you guessing all the way 'til the end about who is the "bad guy". I thought it was well written and the characters stay with you even after you have finished the book. A must read if you like thrillers!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book. I bought it because I am a part of my school's Literary Club, and had to choose a bestseller. I am so glad that I chose this one! It is easy to understand and follow, but the ending is a real shocker! It has a sad ending, but you will love it. If you like her other books, or mystery novels in general, then you will love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Great Read

    This was the first book that I've read by MHC. I really enjoyed it. Though I must say there were ALOT of characters in this book. This would definetly be a book that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys mystery and suspense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Over a decade ago Charles ¿Mack¿ Mackenzie Jr. disappeared while attending Columbia University with plans of going to Duke University law School after he graduated. However, since he vanished Mack has called his mother annually to wish her a Happy Mother¿s day and to let her know he is okay. Although he knows she became a widow on 9/11, he has not changed his annual routine as he tells her nothing else about where he is, what he is doing, and why he left. --- Mack¿s younger sister, Carolyn, a recent graduate of Duke Law School, informs him when he calls that she will find him to bring him home. However Mack leaves a note for his uncle, Father Devon Mackenzie of St. Francis church, to tell Carolyn to leave well enough alone and not seek him out. Carolyn becomes even more resolute to at least confront her older brother face to face to ask why. --- The queen of suspense is at her best with this riveting tale that has the audience enthralled with wondering why Mack vanished. Readers are hooked from the onset as we learn of the ¿vigil¿ that his mother and sister do starting midnight on Mother¿s Day Like Carolyn, fans want to know. The heroine¿s investigation is terrific as she begins to learn the truth why her brother vanished. Mary Higgins Clark provides her fans with an excellent family thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Great!

    This book was a real page turner, I didn't want to put it down, good twist at the end. --K--

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    good suspensful book!

    I really enjoyed reading this. It kept me in suspense the whole time so I had trouble putting it down until I finished it. There were times that I got confused and had some trouble keeping track of what was going on, but overall it was a fantastic book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Keeps you guessing

    Other than always expecting the unexpected, Mary Higgins Clark's books are not predictable. Her characters are varied and interesting; her writing style is smooth and easy reading. The only complaint is that once I start I don't get much else done until I finish. I appreciate that she writes spell-binding stories without foul language, explicit sex, or gory details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Not Up to Par

    I generally enjoy all of Mary Higgins Clark's books. I also enjoy looking for clues to tip me off to who might be the killer and the suspense leading up to it. This book didn't have the usual pulse pounding suspense and the eventual revelation of killer and accomplice seemed to come out of nowhere. It was enjoyable but not up to the usual standard I am accumstomed to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Clark picking up speed since Two Little Girls in Blue.

    Mary Higgins Clark is back in the groove with this gripping story of -- why did my brother disappear? Why does he only call on Mother's Day? This suspenseful story will leave you on the edge of your seat until the last page. I highly recommend this new book by Clark.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    Fantastic!! I am totally a new M.H.C fan!!!

    This book was absolutely wonderful!!!! All these years I can't believe Ive never read her books. I always thought she wrote romance for some reason. This was an excellent suspense novel!!! Highly recommend this book!!! You will be guessing the entire time!! great job Mary Higgins Clark! To think I met her not too long ago, had I known she was such a wonderful author I would have asked for an autograph!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slow starter, good finisher

    Slow start but good once I got going. Surprise ending though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Just when you think you know who did it, think again.

    It was fun trying to figure out who took Leesay, was it Mack??? This book is an easy read that will keep you entertained. I always enjoy reading Mary Higgins Clark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    If you want riveting, this isn't the book for you.

    I have read several of Mary Higgins Clark books, but not for awhile because they all seemed so alike and predictable in style. The book was OK, but it didn't have the WOW factor for me like several other books I've read lately. If was an OK read, but if you want to find something captivating and riveting you to your chair, this just didn't do it for me. That's not to say that I won't try one of her books in the future, but I'll have to pass on hers for now. I think I would have given this book 2 1/2 stars instead of 3, but I hope whoever reads this book gets more enjoyment out of it than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Exciting,Captivating and Interesting

    I enjoy Clark's writing style. It is crisp and clear. Her plots are very interesting and she keeps you guessing up to the end. An excellent mystery novel. If you are one of the few of us who still like a clean read, ie no foul language and explicit sex, you will love this book and this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Fast paced romp

    This is a fast paced romp full of twists and turns. It does keep you guessing until the end. Don't start this book unless you have time to finish it. This is classic MHC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    First, anything by Mary Higgens Clark always makes me want to take a look, but this one captured my interest. I like thrillers, so this one made me take notice. And I was happy I did.

    The book was very good, kept me interested through the entire story. It was one that I had a hard time putting down. I've always been a fan of the author, but haven't read everything she's written, as not all are as good at grabbing a person's interest. This one grabbed and held on. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    One of her better ones

    This is written in typical Mary Higgins Clark sytle so from that perspective there isn't anything new. And she does like to have stories about disappearances, so yes that is here too. But to her credit there are a number of twists and turns that will have your heart racing a bit before the final conclusion. Of course you have to be someone that gets into books with a supspension of disbelief in which case you will get caught up as I did in this story. The characters are well developed and the story moves along. She doesn't do too much of her patterned review of the events to date to use up pages. All-in-all a good read for the a rainy day. If you have to watch your time, say at the beach or on a train where you have to keep track of the stops, I would be cautious because you will get caught up in this one. The uniqueness of some of the twists and turns makes it one of her better ones - less predictable. I read it in one day. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Predictable

    This one was so similar to a previous book of hers that I read, that I actually figured it out about mid-way - don't get me wrong, I think Mary Higgins Clark is great and she's a favorite of mine. But this one was just too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4