Customer Reviews for

Where Are You Now?

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Always a good read with Clark.

I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad o...
I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad of mysteries that boiled down to one person I would least suspect. The characters and scenes were depicted perfectly, and MHC is back to her old self portraying the glitz and glamour of Manhattan's lifestyle coupled with gripping suspense. MHC is an amazing woman and I can't say enough good things about her writing style and the research she puts into her novels. She is my role model. Congratulations and keep up the good work! Just check it out and see.

posted by 166983 on October 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Up to Par

I generally enjoy all of Mary Higgins Clark's books. I also enjoy looking for clues to tip me off to who might be the killer and the suspense leading up to it. This book didn't have the usual pulse pounding suspense and the eventual revelation of killer and accomplice s...
I generally enjoy all of Mary Higgins Clark's books. I also enjoy looking for clues to tip me off to who might be the killer and the suspense leading up to it. This book didn't have the usual pulse pounding suspense and the eventual revelation of killer and accomplice seemed to come out of nowhere. It was enjoyable but not up to the usual standard I am accumstomed to.

posted by jiuan1986 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Always a good read with Clark.

    I've read every one of MHC's novels, and her latest "Where Are You Now?" rates high on my list as one of her most entertaining reads. I can't believe any one would call this novel predictable! I couldn't put it down wondering who was behind the tangled web of a myriad of mysteries that boiled down to one person I would least suspect. The characters and scenes were depicted perfectly, and MHC is back to her old self portraying the glitz and glamour of Manhattan's lifestyle coupled with gripping suspense. MHC is an amazing woman and I can't say enough good things about her writing style and the research she puts into her novels. She is my role model. Congratulations and keep up the good work! Just check it out and see.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Where Are You Now?

    Mary Higgins Clark is my favorote author without a doubt. She did not disappoint me in this book. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and I didn't want to put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    I thought I knew who did it and then I turned the page

    Where are you now is a great page turner keeping you guessing all the way 'til the end about who is the "bad guy". I thought it was well written and the characters stay with you even after you have finished the book. A must read if you like thrillers!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book. I bought it because I am a part of my school's Literary Club, and had to choose a bestseller. I am so glad that I chose this one! It is easy to understand and follow, but the ending is a real shocker! It has a sad ending, but you will love it. If you like her other books, or mystery novels in general, then you will love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Over a decade ago Charles ¿Mack¿ Mackenzie Jr. disappeared while attending Columbia University with plans of going to Duke University law School after he graduated. However, since he vanished Mack has called his mother annually to wish her a Happy Mother¿s day and to let her know he is okay. Although he knows she became a widow on 9/11, he has not changed his annual routine as he tells her nothing else about where he is, what he is doing, and why he left. --- Mack¿s younger sister, Carolyn, a recent graduate of Duke Law School, informs him when he calls that she will find him to bring him home. However Mack leaves a note for his uncle, Father Devon Mackenzie of St. Francis church, to tell Carolyn to leave well enough alone and not seek him out. Carolyn becomes even more resolute to at least confront her older brother face to face to ask why. --- The queen of suspense is at her best with this riveting tale that has the audience enthralled with wondering why Mack vanished. Readers are hooked from the onset as we learn of the ¿vigil¿ that his mother and sister do starting midnight on Mother¿s Day Like Carolyn, fans want to know. The heroine¿s investigation is terrific as she begins to learn the truth why her brother vanished. Mary Higgins Clark provides her fans with an excellent family thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Great!

    This book was a real page turner, I didn't want to put it down, good twist at the end. --K--

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Keeps you guessing

    Other than always expecting the unexpected, Mary Higgins Clark's books are not predictable. Her characters are varied and interesting; her writing style is smooth and easy reading. The only complaint is that once I start I don't get much else done until I finish. I appreciate that she writes spell-binding stories without foul language, explicit sex, or gory details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    Fantastic!! I am totally a new M.H.C fan!!!

    This book was absolutely wonderful!!!! All these years I can't believe Ive never read her books. I always thought she wrote romance for some reason. This was an excellent suspense novel!!! Highly recommend this book!!! You will be guessing the entire time!! great job Mary Higgins Clark! To think I met her not too long ago, had I known she was such a wonderful author I would have asked for an autograph!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Exciting,Captivating and Interesting

    I enjoy Clark's writing style. It is crisp and clear. Her plots are very interesting and she keeps you guessing up to the end. An excellent mystery novel. If you are one of the few of us who still like a clean read, ie no foul language and explicit sex, you will love this book and this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A very good who-done-it

    Each Mother¿s Day brings a call to Carolyn MacKenzie and her mother from the missing Charles MacKenzie Jr. It has been 10 years now since Mack first went missing. She plans to find her brother ¿ dead or alive. With her father dying in 9/11 and Mack missing, Carolyn has had enough.<BR/><BR/>And now young women are going missing and the police think that Mack has something to do with it. Carolyn goes back to the investigator that her parents had hired and asks him what he remembers. He does not believe Mack has a part in the disappearance of the missing women and looks into the case again.<BR/><BR/>Carolyn doesn¿t stop there. She talks with the managers of the apartment that Mack and two friends shared just before he disappeared. They are very nervous and don¿t want her ask them any more questions. Nick and Bruce were the roommates. Carolyn had a crush on Nick but Mack didn¿t want him to be around his sister. Bruce is hostile to Carolyn. Maybe because his wife, Barbara, was in love with Mack before he disappeared. With all these possibilities, you won¿t believe the twist the ending has. All in all, this is a great book.<BR/><BR/>Jan Maxwell is easy to listen to and does do a good English accent. Most of the other characters sound about the same. She speaks clearly so you don¿t misunderstand any of the words and you don¿t lose track of the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Great Book

    Mary Higgins Clark is always good for GREAT quick books!!! Very suspenseful as always and you never figure it out until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    A Fast Read

    I really enjoyed this book and like the others had no idea who had 'done it'. This one was sad, yes, but I did love the ending. I was surprised how much I liked it because there were quite a few of her recent books I thought were boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Good Read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It is suspenseful and keeps you guessing till the end. You can never go wrong reading one of mary's books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just finished this book today. What a great book. I could hardly put it down, but all of M.H.C's books are this way. I was wrecking my brain through the whole book trying to figure out who did it, and boy was i surprised!!!!!!!!!!!!! you won't be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    The Best!!

    Mary Higgins Clark is my absolute favorite author. This book was fantastic. You can't put it down. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    outstanding read

    My first reading of Mary Higgens Clark. I loved the characters and really felt bad for Mack. It was interesting too see it all come together. Where Am I Now? Starting another book by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    so great i cryed

    This book is so well written. I could not stop crying it is so sad ,but it makes you want to think about your life and see what kind of changes you can make for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    fantastic

    This is her best yet. I really enjoyed wondering 'who done it' . The book seemed so small but it packed an exciting story. I found myself rooting for Mac. I wish she would write a novel more often now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Awesome

    Awesome I give this 2 thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    Mary Higgins Clark has had me hooked since Where are the Children. I picked this book up when I was a a teenager babysitting and have never missed a book. I can't wait for her next book. I have also past the love of her books now on to my grandchildren with her children's book. So in other works Mary Higgins Clark is like the Durracell Bunny she keeps going and going... Thank you Mary Higgins Clark

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2