Customer Reviews for

Where Are the Children?

Average Rating 4.5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

MHCfan

I first read this book back in the 80's. It was the first "adult" chapter book I ever read & I loved it! Mysteries/Suspense became my very favorite book genre and I followed MHC's books all through my teens. Along with Agatha Christie, Clark became 1 of my top favorite ...
I first read this book back in the 80's. It was the first "adult" chapter book I ever read & I loved it! Mysteries/Suspense became my very favorite book genre and I followed MHC's books all through my teens. Along with Agatha Christie, Clark became 1 of my top favorite authors.
When reading Where Are the Children? keep in mind this book was written 34yrs ago &things were done differently back then (ex.police investigations) & little conviences such as cell phones were unheard of! It is still 1 of my favorites &I revisit it every 5-6 yrs or so.

posted by 10710006 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great suspense

I've read most of her holiday books, and wanted to see what else she's written. I believe this was a controversial book in it's time because it touches on taboo subjects like pedophilia.
Great suspenseful read.

posted by nj2az on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    MHCfan

    I first read this book back in the 80's. It was the first "adult" chapter book I ever read & I loved it! Mysteries/Suspense became my very favorite book genre and I followed MHC's books all through my teens. Along with Agatha Christie, Clark became 1 of my top favorite authors.
    When reading Where Are the Children? keep in mind this book was written 34yrs ago &things were done differently back then (ex.police investigations) & little conviences such as cell phones were unheard of! It is still 1 of my favorites &I revisit it every 5-6 yrs or so.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Can't Escape The Past

    Imagine escaping your horrific past. What if that past has found you again? Now you have to go through the same nightmare all over again? Well that is what's going on with Nancy. Her past was full of horrors. She lost her mother and her children. Seven years later she's remarried. But something similar is about to occur. Her children have gone missing. She can't escape the past. I think anyone that's going to read this book is going to understand the true meaning of fictional mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    An excellent fast read!

    This would be a great book for the business commuter or traveler and for a book club as well. It is a satisfying and tautly wrapped mystery with an unexpected conclusion. It has all the elements of a well constructed mystery and well drawn characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Excellent Book dont hesitate to buy.

    This book was excellent and had many twists and turns. As soon as I thought I knew what was going on, everything changed. It was a very good book. My only other comment is I would like to have known more about how the kidnapper "rose from the dead."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Amazing

    I am only 12 and i love this book. Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is a really good mystery that will keep you reading to the wee hours of the morning. Once you start the book you will not be able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Great book

    Read this 30 years ago and have since read everything she has written...just got through with I'll Walk Alone...Fantastic Book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Middle of road

    This was a book written thirty years ago, so keep that in mind when reading it. I don't think it really holds up well to some suspense novels these days, but back thirty years ago it probably did. With that being said...
    This book is by far not my favorite, with too many charcters to follow, some pretty out there coincidences and being somewhat predictable this book is a decent book and an easy read, but not the best suspense novel out there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Awesome!

    Loved it! This is the first book I have read by this author, will be reading more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    This heartbreaking thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the book. It is suspenseful, yet incredibly sad. You can feel the emotions of the young mother, and put yourself in her shoes. Get ready to be scared in a way that you've never been scared before. Where Are The Children is an alarming, shocking story about a woman who has already lost two kids, and is now going through the kidnapping of two more. This is definitely a hair-raising book that will give you chills.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!! Romantic and SUSPENSE in one!!

    This was a very exciting page turner!! Suspence, mystery, romantic all in one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    I love it!

    I have always loved this book,and because I have read it so much, I needed a new copy. I love the new cover, and I am happy about the chance to read it again. Mary Higgins Clark is one of my favorite mystery writers, and this book is one of her best! I highly reccommend it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Where Are the Children?

    I had read Where Are the Children? many years ago but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it again. As a woman, this story touches me deeply.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great suspense

    I've read most of her holiday books, and wanted to see what else she's written. I believe this was a controversial book in it's time because it touches on taboo subjects like pedophilia.<BR/>Great suspenseful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    An aivid MHC Reader

    I read this book about a month ago for the first time. I loved it I can't believe this was her first mystery novel. It was very suspenseful I did not want to put it down a real page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Want a great read?

    This book was by far in my top two favorite book list! I could not put it down. I read the entire book in less than three hours. Mrs.Higgins' writing style definitely allows the reader room for imaginaton and to keep on guessing. I would definitely recommend this book but only under the condition that yu have a few quiet hours to yourself because I guarantee that once you pick it up you will be unable to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Loved It!

    One of her best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    R Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    I liked this book a lot!

    I had to read this for a book report and I thought it was great! It took me only one day to read and I am not lying. Mary Higgins Clark you are an awsome mystery writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Great

    Wow is all I can say!!!! One of my new favss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9