Customer Reviews for

Where Are the Cocoa Puffs?: A Family's Journey Through Bipolar Disorder

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    Highly recommended

    This book is one that you don't want to put down till you're finished and even then you wish there were more. A great story with charming characters. Breakthrough in that it deals with a topic that so many are afraid to talk about - bipolar disorder.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Exciting! Keeps you interested frrom first page to last.

    Couldn't put it down. This is one of the books that you must read...and read now. Riviting and believeable.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Great book!

    Characters very real, story raw, scary, and humourous, a great read. Taught me much about the desease of bipolar while entertaining me, I saw the familie's experiences from many angles, helped me to understand what folks are going through.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Truth in Fiction

    As a Clinical Psychologist, I have eagerly awaited the release of this novel, and I can assure you that it does not disappoint. The story provides a non-stop read which offers truth, insight, and hope regarding the many challenges of coping with Bipolar Disorder, not only for the individual diagnosed, but for her loved ones. I look forward to many more creations from this engaging author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Book!

    From the very first page of Where Are the Cocoa Puffs? the reader is drawn into the folds of this family; and once there, you really just don't want to leave. Funny, sad; this novel depicts the ties that bind. In spite of its subject matter - bipolar disorder - this story is ultimately about love and of family. Pick up this book; you won't be able to put it back down. Although I was glad as I read the final words at one o'clock in the morning that the book was only 270 pages long, when I awoke, I was missing the Benson family and longing for more!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Devastating Effects Of Mental Illness

    After receiving a heartbreaking diagnosis as being manic depressive, eighteen-year-old Amanda Benson's life soon begins to spin wildly out of control. As her thoughts, words, and deeds swing violently between euphoric highs and abysmal lows, her family struggles to embrace her worsening condition while simultaneously coming to grips with the unpredictable new reality they all face. Further adding to the complications: the unwitting Ryan, Amanda's love interest who soon becomes inextricably ensnared in her and her family's tortuous world. Together, they're forced to learn how to support, empower, and embolden one another as all sense of normalcy as they once knew it is forever changed...

    Where Are The Cocoa Puffs? is a strikingly eye-opening read. Even though it's a fictional account, author Karen Schwartz's vivid tale paints a compelling portrait of a family in crisis, highlighting the incredible strain that mental illness can place on even the tightest of bonds. Given the difficulty of her plight, Amanda serves as quite the sympathetic protagonist, but as the tale unfolds Schwartz does a commendable job of displaying the very personal ways in which her illness affects everyone; as such, anyone who's ever wondered what it would be like to experience the emotional roller coaster of mental illness will find a sterling example in Where Are The Cocoa Puffs? A thought-provoking account of just how fragile even the strongest of family ties can often be.


    Karynda Lewis
    Apex Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Kept pulling back....

    A first novel? This is better than 'The Notebook'. Karen Winters Schwartz is a terrific story teller. Don't pass it by.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    BRILLIANT!

    This book takes the reader through the labyrinth of emotions that is associated with having a family member that is suffering with a mental illness. A must read for mental health professionals and anyone that care about or works with persons with a mental illness. The characters are portrayed brilliantly - should be a movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Very Good Read - Definitely recommend

    I am not a voracious reader, yet, I devoured this book in two sittings. An interesting and insightful look into a world I had little understanding of. It's the kind of book you hope there is a sequel to, so you can find out how the rest of the character's lives play out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Truly Absorbing

    Simply put, the kind of read where you're drawn into the characters' lives and almost feel estrangement and alienation once you're done reading, still wanting a window--a vein, a pulse--into their lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Remarkable and real characters - a "must read"!

    I laughed and cried and cared for the characters right away, especially for the mother and her struggles. This book does more than simply entertain; it makes one more grateful for mental health and more compassionate and understanding towards those and their families, friends and loved ones who suffer from mental illness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    A Roller Coaster Ride That Offers Insight and Hope

    What would it like to be part of a family when one of its members, an eighteen year old, Amanda, begins to exhibit wild mood swings that are finally diagnosed as a bipolar disorder? By entering the interiors of the young woman's mother, father, sister, boyfriend, and Amanda, Karen Winters Schwartz's novel, Where Are the Cocoa Puffs?, takes the reader on that roller coaster with insight and sympathy for all. Spending time with this family will be a comfort to those who have had similar experiences and it will deepen the compassion of those who haven't. The novel accurately portrays the complexities and strain of living with someone who has a mental illness, but it also offers hope as a result of the medical world's increasing understanding of biochemical imbalances in the brain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Insightful Read

    I found this novel to be very insightful into the modern day family with teenagers. The big "dip" on the roller coaster happens to be bipolar disorder but the novel addresses the deeper issues of conflicts found within a family. It is a novel with substance and Karen's prose is a delight to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Now I get it

    This is a must read for EVERYONE. After reading I have such a better understanding of mental illness, but also of one of my bestfriends lives, as this was her story also. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Very good, A must read

    I have a nephew that has this disease and this book was so similar to what our family has been through. It is a tough road.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1