Customer Reviews for

Where Demons Fear to Tread

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You will be tempted...

This was the debut book for Stephanie Chong and her Company of Angels series. The main character of this story is Serena St. Clair, who, when killed trying to save others in a car accident, was offered a position as a guardian angel. Her first assignment as a guardian...
This was the debut book for Stephanie Chong and her Company of Angels series. The main character of this story is Serena St. Clair, who, when killed trying to save others in a car accident, was offered a position as a guardian angel. Her first assignment as a guardian angel is Nick Ramirez, a young rising Hollywood star, who is having trouble resisting temptation. Serena finds Nick hanging out at the nightclub Devil's Paradise where temptation is everywhere, especially in the form of the club's owner, Archdemon Julian Ascher. Julian wants to count Nick's soul in his tally and once he sets his sights on Serena, he'll stop at nothing to see her in his bed.

This story starts out hot right from the first confrontation between Julian and Serena at the nightclub. Things sizzle between the Serena and Julian, and being a demon with no conscience, Julian really will stop at nothing to get Serena to bend to his will. This was a great story with well-written characters and with each subcharacter left with an open-ended story at the end of the book, I can't wait to see where this series goes next.

You should definitely give this book a try.

posted by ldosch on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Predictable, But Hot

Where do I start with this book? Ah yes, the predictable, boring Venn Diagram of romance novels - the dichotomy of good and evil with overlapping qualities, providing ample room for sexual tension. Nailed it! Unfortunately, Where Demons Fear to Tread wasn't at all what ...
Where do I start with this book? Ah yes, the predictable, boring Venn Diagram of romance novels - the dichotomy of good and evil with overlapping qualities, providing ample room for sexual tension. Nailed it! Unfortunately, Where Demons Fear to Tread wasn't at all what I expected. I knew there would be some sort of romance between Serena and Julian, but I didn't think the entire book would revolve solely around that. Adding to the tedium is the fact that their relationship and its future are completely foreseeable from page 1, yet you're stuck reading the incessant push and pull between the two characters. Julian believes he can corrupt sweet, innocent Serena and blackmails her along the way to get what he wants. Serena repeatedly resists, but with hardly any fortitude whatsoever (Really? Right away you want to jump the demon's bones?). I spent some time mulling over Serena's misplaced lust for Julian and there seems to be only one logical explanation for an angel without a shred of willpower .Axe body wash.

After revising my longstanding postulation to 'all angels are pure whores', I hoped that Serena would follow suit and finally succumb to this debonair demon for my sake, `cause Julian's sexy bod was the only thing worth reading about. Despite thoroughly enjoying his pectoral muscles, I felt that the author should have focused more on Nick, since, ya know, his life is hanging in the balance and whatnot. But alas, Where Demons Fear to Tread reads like most romance novels I've had the misfortune of picking up - total disregard for any sort of external plot, cheesy lines, and sex.lots of sex. I wouldn't recommend this book to any of my friends. However, I'm sure fans of this genre and my widowed grandmother would love it.
2/5 for getting me all hot and bothered, though.

Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable, But Hot

    Where do I start with this book? Ah yes, the predictable, boring Venn Diagram of romance novels - the dichotomy of good and evil with overlapping qualities, providing ample room for sexual tension. Nailed it! Unfortunately, Where Demons Fear to Tread wasn't at all what I expected. I knew there would be some sort of romance between Serena and Julian, but I didn't think the entire book would revolve solely around that. Adding to the tedium is the fact that their relationship and its future are completely foreseeable from page 1, yet you're stuck reading the incessant push and pull between the two characters. Julian believes he can corrupt sweet, innocent Serena and blackmails her along the way to get what he wants. Serena repeatedly resists, but with hardly any fortitude whatsoever (Really? Right away you want to jump the demon's bones?). I spent some time mulling over Serena's misplaced lust for Julian and there seems to be only one logical explanation for an angel without a shred of willpower .Axe body wash.

    After revising my longstanding postulation to 'all angels are pure whores', I hoped that Serena would follow suit and finally succumb to this debonair demon for my sake, `cause Julian's sexy bod was the only thing worth reading about. Despite thoroughly enjoying his pectoral muscles, I felt that the author should have focused more on Nick, since, ya know, his life is hanging in the balance and whatnot. But alas, Where Demons Fear to Tread reads like most romance novels I've had the misfortune of picking up - total disregard for any sort of external plot, cheesy lines, and sex.lots of sex. I wouldn't recommend this book to any of my friends. However, I'm sure fans of this genre and my widowed grandmother would love it.
    2/5 for getting me all hot and bothered, though.

    Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You will be tempted...

    This was the debut book for Stephanie Chong and her Company of Angels series. The main character of this story is Serena St. Clair, who, when killed trying to save others in a car accident, was offered a position as a guardian angel. Her first assignment as a guardian angel is Nick Ramirez, a young rising Hollywood star, who is having trouble resisting temptation. Serena finds Nick hanging out at the nightclub Devil's Paradise where temptation is everywhere, especially in the form of the club's owner, Archdemon Julian Ascher. Julian wants to count Nick's soul in his tally and once he sets his sights on Serena, he'll stop at nothing to see her in his bed.

    This story starts out hot right from the first confrontation between Julian and Serena at the nightclub. Things sizzle between the Serena and Julian, and being a demon with no conscience, Julian really will stop at nothing to get Serena to bend to his will. This was a great story with well-written characters and with each subcharacter left with an open-ended story at the end of the book, I can't wait to see where this series goes next.

    You should definitely give this book a try.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Such a great read! I highly recommend Stephanie Chong's Where Demons Fear to Tread. You won't regret it. I cannot wait for her next book to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A New Spin on Angels and Demons

    Stephanie Chong has created a fabulous new world where Angels and Demons rarely mix, but both have their purposes on Earth. When Serena St. Clair gets into a car accident she soon finds herself turned angel and sent on assignment to save a rockstar. What she does not expect is to be sent into the den of one of the most powerful Demons, while at the same time finding herself soon falling in love and about to fall herself if she is not careful.
    Julian Ascher is exactly the demon to find himself one the opposite end of that Angel, finding himself falling for Serena while at the same time trying to keep her from his entire race.
    The question soon leads to what can become of Angels and Demons, and who truly needs to be saved.
    I loved the characters and their snarky and yet shy attitudes. Ascher was a great character and as he developed in the story I loved him more. Serena starts off the book young and innocent full of ideals, but soon finds out that the path to salvation is trickier and more muddied than clear, while she soon also finds her own strengths and uses them to front her own agenda.

    Where Demons Fear to Tread is a great beginning to an upcoming series not to be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A high energy, unique world that will make the term Angels and Demons something new to you

    Her tragic and sudden death a year ago sends Serena St. Clair into a world she could not have imagined. Recruited by "The Company" a clestial organization headed by God himself is an immense grouping of angels sent to earth to perform duties to watch over and protect humans. Serena as a novice angel is given the job of Guardian and her assignment is a gifted and troubled actor and doing her job has landed her right in the sights of one of the most infamous archdemons of all.
    Julian Ascher didn't rise at his death, he instead went to the depths of hell and two centuries later is a force to be reckoned with, his chain of successful nightclubs gives humans all the decadent and immoral delights they can imagine. With his first sighting of Serena he wants her and vows to go to any length to have her. What this unlikely pair don't know is that their meeting is not mere circumstance but destiny.

    Stephanie Chong brings us a debut worth watching. She first off gives us a story line that will make the term Angels and Demons take on a whole new meaning and as she draws us into her unique world she will grab her readers with an engaging and adventurous tale. She does this with a narrative that lets us feel the evil of the demons and the goodness of the angels with a dialogue that will keep you turning pages to find out what happens next. Her characters deserve high marks for the in depth and detailed information we get, her evil doers violence and satanic acts will grip her audience and her angels will wow you by their not only angelic qualities but also by how human they remain. Her hero Julian is an enigma, evil and yet not and we will root for him all the way to the end. Her heroine Serena is sweet and innocent and yet a strong woman with great moral fiber. The romance is what you'd expect between an angel and a demon, impossible, but somehow the author pulls it all together. Will they get that HEA that we all want them to, well that you'll have to see for yourself. The love scenes are very visual and very descriptive and yet the underlying gentleness and love come out for the reader.

    All in all this is a must read new series starting off with a big bang that will bring the readers back for round two of this imaginative author's next adventure. I know I'll be there waiting to find out the questions she left us with and to find out where the story goes from here.
    Thank you Ms. Chong for a most enjoyable journey to unimaginable and sometimes terrifying places, I can't wait to return.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Deliciously tempting and achingly sweet...

    Julian, Archdemon residing in Los Angeles runs the hottest clubs in the country his way of sending souls to hell through bribe, lust and death, and the mix of all three. Devilishly handsome, tall and dark he's the opposite of Serena - and you know what they say of opposites, they attract.
    ~
    Serena, innocent angel in her first year in earning her wings is sent to guard Nick, a Hollywood bad boy, this is how she ends up in one of Julian's nightclubs and is soon battling off Julian's advances, threats and bribery. See Julian wants her, badly, and a demon doesn't take no for an answer.
    ~
    After series of events of wooing the angel in vain, finally some blackmailing works and Julian sets up a contract that she will spend a week with him in Vegas where his new club is to open the coming week. He has a week to get Serena into bed, but week is a long time and there is fear that Julian might begin to feel more than lust for Serena - and Serena might fall from grace being so close to Julian, who seems to be just a little more than a demon...
    ~
    Ah! This book, gorgeous debut! Chong writes beautifully, you can hear old classics like Earth Angel and Can't help falling in love, while you read the scenes where Julian takes her hand and takes her to the dance floor of the empty club. The story is achingly sweet with delicious scenes where Serena keeps dodging Julian's advances while they move around in Las Vegas.
    ~
    This book has freshness of a new story but the golden shimmer of ol' Sin City glamour.
    ~
    Julian is so bad for her, but so right for her, it's wonderful, heartbreaking to read. Serena is so innocent it's almost sacrilege that he wants her, but then again you so want her to give in a little just to feel his light touch on her skin even once.
    ~
    The music below sets the mood of this book to the t, especially Earth Angel and Unchained Melody... which I cannot stop listening to now, I just keep recycling these songs below on an endless loop to hold on to the feeling of the book.
    ~
    Music : Goes well with Chuck Berry's Earth Angel / Elvis' Can't help falling in love / Righteous Brothers' Unchained Melody / Nat King Cole's Smile and Love - Especially after they arrive in Las Vegas...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining romantic urban fantasy

    In West Hollywood, yoga instructor Serena St. Clair, the tyro angel, enters Devil's Paradise nightclub. Her celestial mission to protect the soul of notorious Nick "It Boy" Ramirez starts with getting him out of the local hot spot. However, the club's owner Julian Ascher intercepts Serena before she can retrieve her wayward celeb.

    Julian is the most powerful demon in Southern California; his mission is to eradicate Nick's soul. He bets the angelic rookie into coming with him for a week in Las Vegas with the stakes being Nick's soul that he currently possesses. In Sin City, Serena struggles with the temptation of the enemy that would cost her soul while Julian struggles with the same enticement that would redeem his soul.

    This is an entertaining romantic urban fantasy starring beloved enemies who distrust one another partly because of the taboo attraction. The story line is fast-paced but rather thin with no twists as the plot follows what the audience anticipates will occur during the initial encounter in Devil's Paradise. Still fans will enjoy the trek Where Demons (and angels) Fear to Tread.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    What a wonderful find

    This a new author for me... will deffiantly tead more of her work. Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I had gotten a copy of book two in this series from Wunderkind P

    I had gotten a copy of book two in this series from Wunderkind PR which I thank them for the review copy. Well I'm a big lover of series but I have this issues where I will not read them out of order. So I went to the used bookstore and found a copy of this one. Book 1! yay!!

    So as you all know I'm not so much on the romance books as I lean more toward the ya area. But this book was great. I have read a ton of the Kenyon's Dark Hunter books and well this one has way less sex in it than those do. Which was great. I could focus more on the story and plot which were great. This book was great. It really took me on an adventure where love can fix anything. It then tossed in some nice sexy parts but not to much. It didn't pull away from the book at all but made it even better! Once I started reading this it really pulled me in and I just couldn't stop reading it. I loved how our Guardian Angel and our Arch Demon played with each other (get your mind out of the gutter). Their fight over the souls of those that the angel loves and was sent there to protect was awesome!

    "*I received a copy of this book for free to review, this in no way influenced my review, all opinions are 100% honest and my own."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Decent beginning to angel/demon PNR series. Where Demons Fear t

    Decent beginning to angel/demon PNR series.

    Where Demons Fear to Tread is the first book in Stephanie Chong's series The Company of Angels. I am a huge fan of the PNR genre and angels seem to be everywhere right now. Some authors do the angel/demon thing very well and then there are others that are mediocre. I really liked Julian but Serena irritated me. I find it hard to get into a book when you find the characters somewhat unlikable but I liked the concept so I stuck with it. There was quite a bit of action and a couple of smexy scene but Where Demons Fear to Tread was just mediocre for me. I liked it but I'm not sure I enjoyed the world enough to read another book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Great Debut!

    Serena St. Clair is a fledging guardian angel from the Company of Angels. She died a year ago at the age of 23 saving a family during a car crash which cost her life. For her sacrifice, she was given another chance at life and has become an angel to try and guide people on the wrong path to the right one. Nick, a Hollywood star is her first assignment. Serena is trying to save Nick with her yoga instructions and her own innate goodness, but since Nick is in love with her, it makes it more challenging because she cares for him as a friend and he resents that. Nick has been losing his way to drugs, alcohol and women, and hangs out in a nightclub owned by Julian Asher, the most powerful arch-demon in Los Angeles. Serena decides that she's willing to take the chance and enter Julian's nightclub to try and save Nick.
    Serena becomes entangled in Julian's web of schemes when he threatens Nick's life, the life of her brother (her brother has no idea that Serena is an angel and cannot know that she's back from the dead, which makes it worse because she can't warn him), and the life of Serena's roommate and fellow guardian. Julian decides that there is something about Serena that he's attracted to and he does not like it. He decides the only way to get rid of Serena is to corrupt her too so he blackmails her into spending a week with him.

    This is the ultimate battle between good and evil; a demon and an angel. Both of them are incredibly attracted to the other and as they spend the week together and start to learn more about each other. Their feelings are at-odds with both of their jobs and they are both torn and confused as what they should do.

    I really enjoyed the story, as well as, Julian and Serena. Serena is truly good person, which is why she was chosen to become an angel. Her life ended way to soon, before she ever had a chance to really live. She is a very responsible person and is trying to do the right thing when it comes to Julian. She is scared and excited about the way Julian makes her feel and her superior is being deliberately vague in how Serena should carry out her assignment and handle Julian. Serena know something more is going on, but no one will give her any more information.

    Julian is a total bad boy. He is extremely bitter from being betrayed by a woman he loved that resulted in his human death, and led to his becoming a demon. But as Julian spends the week with Serena, it is not Julian corrupting her, but Serena corrupting Julian. Serena makes him want to be a better person. I loved the interaction between the two of them during their week together at the hotel. Although Julian keeps telling himself he's wooing her to corrupt her, you can see he has some very intense feelings for Serena.

    This was a great book. I could not put it down because I was dying to know what Julian was going to do next to woo her, and if Serena was finally going to give into her feelings. There is more to the storyline of Julian and Serena's relationship but I don't want to spoil anything so you'll have to read the book to find out. ¿

    I definitely recommend this book and I am looking forward to the second book in the series. "The Demoness of Waking Dreams" which is expected to release in February 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love is the place where demons fear to tread.

    Serena is a new guardian angel to an out of control actor, Nick who enjoys his booze, drugs and paid companions. One evening Serena tracks Nick to a night club called Devil's Paradise where she gains the interest in an archdemon named Julian, who just so happens to be the owner of the club. He takes her to his office where he tries to seduce her, saying that he will swap out the actors soul for her soul. He lets her go after she begs him to release her. However, he is more interested in the chase itself. After bating Serena with Nick, Julian decides to go a little further and invited her human brother out to his estate to take photo's for his party. Serena goes to the party to run interference and save her brother from the evil clutches of Julian. However, he is not willing to give us so easily. He strikes a deal with her, if she will accompany him to Vegas for a week he will leave her brother alone. With no other choice Serena agrees and heads off to Vegas with Julian. Once in Vegas, they meet up with other demons who have not only an interest in Serena but in Julian as well.
    "Only a demon could kill and angel."

    There were a couple of things I had issues with in this story. One of which was Serena. In the middle of the night Julian pushes through their protective wards and materializes in Serena's bedroom while she is sleeping, gets into bed with her and starts to touch her. I get that he is a demon and demons aren't about rainbows and gumdrops but what I couldn't grasp is that she wakes up and tells him "no" and then when he disappears, she just rolls over and goes back to sleep. Personally, for me, I would have been in full freak out mode. I would have been running though that house screaming "the wards are down!!"
    The other issue I had was the sticky sweet ending. It just didn't do it for me. The whole "love conquers all" talks that were being thrown around in the book was just too much for my sweet tooth to handle.

    What I did enjoy about the book was reading as Julian changed and started developing feelings for Serena. What first started out as a conquest turned out to be more. He starts actually caring about what she thinks and tries to make her happy. Now that doesn't mean that I forgive him for his creepiness but he is a demon after all. I liked getting a glimpse into his mind and how he thinks and schemes.

    The book as a whole was a fun read. Stephanie Chong did a good job sucking you into their world and taking you along for the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excited to see where this series leads to!

    Review by Jen: I've been seeing this book all around the blogosphere, so when I was asked to review Where Demons Fear to Tread, I gladly accepted. I was not disappointed which this debut novel and the start of what can be a very interesting series.

    Ms Chong has created a unique world of guardian angels and the demons they battle as they protect their "wards". The concept isn't new, but I think it's more how it is presented, the theology, that really grabbed me. Don't get me wrong, there's no preaching, but it's a classic good versus evil tale and explored the shades of gray in between.

    I enjoyed both characters, the angel Serena and the demon Julian. The interaction between the young angel and the seasoned demon, as they struggled against their nature as well as the attraction drew me and kept me turning those pages. The characters weren't perfect and I found myself frustrated with them from time to time, but as no one is perfect, and so that frustration was welcome in the end,.

    And now that Ms Chong has established her world, I'm excited to see where she takes this "Company of Angles" when her next book is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worthy of a read

    ***E-Edition provided by NetGalley***

    A Romance novel worth your time... Serena St. Clair was only twenty-three when she died, and because of the heroic's that lead to her death, she is offered the chance to be sent back to earth as an immortal to be a Guardian Angel. Her first case is a hot young hollywood actor who does not make things easy for her, and while trying to keep her charge out of harms way she meets head on with a demon named Julian Ascher. Julian's not just any demon. He's wealthy, owns a successful chain of nightclubs, good-looking, and just happens to be third in line to Lucifer's throne. Julian knows what Serena is and wants her, if just for a little while, so he threatens those that the angel cared about before her death and after. The threat results in Serena agreeing to spend a week with Julian in the city of Sin, Las Vegas. While Julian may be trying to make Serena into a fallen Angel, he discovers it may be easier to rise up than fall down.

    Author Stephanie Chong has written a beautifully descriptive and suspenseful first novel that tackles one of my favorite paranormal genres, Angels and Demons. The plot is ultra-steamy and the scenes are....REALLY good, that's all I can say, haha. Having not picked up a romance novel in almost a year, I was hesitant about reading this one. The genre is normally 'cheesy' and I try my best to avoid books that would make me roll my eyes. I didn't find any of that necessary while reading this one. I actually found myself blushing during some of the scenes!

    Pick this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Awesome book

    Stayed up all night reading this. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good vs. Evil = Romance

    My Review:
    I knew that this book was getting lots of good reviews, so I assumed that I would like it too. I was not disappointed. I really, really enjoyed this book!!

    Serena is a guardian angel from the Company of Angels that has been sent to help guide Hollywood star, Nick. Serena is a new angel. She just died a year ago at the age of 23 saving a family during a crash which ultimately cost her life. For her sacrifice, she has become an angel. Nick is her first assignment, but Julian, a powerful arch-demon, is also trying to capture his soul and is succeeding by luring Nick with drugs, alcohol, and sex. On the flip side, Serena is trying to save Nick with yoga and her own innate goodness. As a reader, this just didn't seem like a fair battle. Serena definitely doesn't have the tools to save Nick especially since what he really wants most from her is her love.

    Along the way, she becomes entangled in the evil mechanisms of the demon, Julian. He is threatening Nick's life, the life of Serena's brother, and the life of Serena's roommate and fellow guardian, so she makes a deal with him. She will give him a week of her life to keep them safe. What Serena doesn't realize is that Nick is not her only assignment...and that the may still be some good left in Julian.

    This is the ultimate battle between good and evil. Julian is a demon. Serena is an angel. Both of them are incredibly attracted to the other and as they start to see each other as humans, their feelings start to develop which are at-odds with both of their jobs. They are BOTH torn as to what to do.

    I really enjoyed both of these characters. Serena is truly good...she was so as a human and that obviously carries over as her life as an angel too. She didn't have much of a chance to live before she died, and since she has become an angel, she has kept herself in check and repressed. There were so many times that I felt badly for her...she needs a life, but she is trying so hard to do what she needs to do. She has a HUGE sense of responsibility and is trying to live up to that, but she is floundering without the guidance of her superior who is being deliberately vague in how Serena should carry out her assignment and handle the demons that are surrounding her.

    Julian, on the other hand, is carrying around the bitterness from when he was deceived, which led to his becoming a demon. He has been a powerful demon because of that bitterness, but there are true feelings underneath it all. You can't help, but to feel sorry for him.

    These two need each other and you can't help but to cheer for them as you read their story.

    I am really enjoying the turn into religion that fiction has taken lately and the redefining of absolute good and absolute evil. There are shades within both that defy logic and definition. I like these books that make you think along those lines and question the accepted norms for these. I look forward to see where this series goes from here...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    BookHounds

    Serena St. Clair dies while trying to rescue a mother and her young daughters from a horrible car crash in which the only survivors are the two children. Serena finds herself "recycled" as a newly minted guardian angel selected to follow Hollywood's latest star, Nick. Trailing him one night, Serena finds herself in a nightclub known for illegal activities and meets the owner, Julian, who is immediately taken with her. She also has feelings for him, even though she recognizes his incarnate evil as a demon. The story mostly takes place over a week in Las Vegas as Serena tries to save Nick from himself and his demons--both literal and figurative. Serena doesn't realize her superiors have other plans for her. And that is all I am going to tell you about the plot since you MUST read this one!

    This latest trend of angels and demons is really an age old story about good versus evil. Chong delivers on that story, but like a musician, she twists the words so that while the melody may be the same, it is a completely different song. The characters of Serena and Julian mesh so perfectly together that is like music when they interact. I love how she shows that they each have elements of good and evil existing within themselves and nothing is black or white when it comes to redemption. So this could have been just another angel story and luckily it doesn't. I read this in one night and can't wait for the next book in this series since there are many other characters that can be developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A really good book

    Contemporary California and Las Vegas


    Serena St. Clair is a guardian angel whose latest assignment is the latest hot Hollywood actor. Serena now has to enter into a club by the name of Devil's Paradise to rescue her assignee and keep him from harm. What she doesn't count on is getting caught by the owner Julian Asher. Now she has to find a way to rescue her assignee, Nick and herself from the situation she suddenly finds herself in.

    Julian Ascher is an arch demon that seems to have caught an angel for himself. Julian's sole purpose is to tempt those that are seeking pleasure and corrupt the human that are determined to have that pleasure. Julian isn't about to lose the latest soul he has a chance to corrupt without getting something out of it for himself. The only way he will let Nick go is if Serena accepts his dangerous proposition.

    What Julian and Serena didn't count on is the passion that flares between them. Julian is determined not to let any woman be his downfall, again but that was before he met Serena. Now as they play out a game of seduction the stakes are a lot higher than either of them counted on, Their passion with either lead them both to everlasting damnation or to a love the will last an eternity.

    This story will be pulling on the heart strings of the reader. The reader will be pulled into this emotional story that will have them hating to put it down until the very last page. The characters are written so well that they will have the reader cheering them on and feeling what they are going through throughout the story. This one takes the classic story of good against evil, angel against demon and turns it on its ear. This is story that will have the reader eagerly awaiting the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    A must read!!

    This was a great beginning to a series and I can't wait for the next one... I have a feeling this author is going to quickly become a bestseller and will be competing for shelf space next to Sherrilyn Kenyon and J.R. Ward...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay...

    Not a bad start for a new author/series. However, I felt the main characters were not developed fully. We get it... Julian is bad, Serena is good. Just didn't feel that they were given enough depth beyond the surface. Curious to see how the characters and stories develop from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3