Customer Reviews for

Where It Began

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

How far would you go to cover for a friend? Would you allow you

How far would you go to cover for a friend? Would you allow your reputation to be torn to tatters? Gabby is the main character of this book. She doesn’t make the best choices, she is a fairly good student, and she has a boyfriend and friends. Overall, Gabby is...
How far would you go to cover for a friend? Would you allow your reputation to be torn to tatters? Gabby is the main character of this book. She doesn’t make the best choices, she is a fairly good student, and she has a boyfriend and friends. Overall, Gabby is a normal, everyday teenage girl. One wouldn’t think that underage drinking, suspensions from school, therapy sessions, etc… could happen to a normal, everyday girl.

One bad decision can lead to a lifetime of regret. For Gabby, this slightly clichéd statement turns out to be true. She is left with only her most loyal friends, her supposed boyfriend can only talk to her in secret, and her mother doesn’t appear to believe a word she says. Gabby is a sympathetic character, the reader will be rooting for her throughout the novel. Gabby can be a little hardheaded, but she is also loyal to a fault, honest for the most part, and likable. The secondary characters in the book will affect different readers in different ways. Some of the secondary characters are in the wrong place at the wrong time, others simply make bad decisions, while still others seem to only manipulate the ones they call friends.

The book was a page-turner; a reader will likely finish this sordid story in less than a few days. The plot is memorable, the characters are hard to forget, and the ending is unexpected. This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers, especially those who enjoy Gossip Girl and/or Pretty Little Liars.

posted by Icecream18JA on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I had very high hopes for this book, and maybe that's why it fel

I had very high hopes for this book, and maybe that's why it fell short for me. To put it simply the book, for me, was boring. I found Gabby going on about the same old things over and over. The beginning was good, the ending was good, but for the largest portion, the ...
I had very high hopes for this book, and maybe that's why it fell short for me. To put it simply the book, for me, was boring. I found Gabby going on about the same old things over and over. The beginning was good, the ending was good, but for the largest portion, the book fell flat. Which was a bummer because to me "When it Began" could have been a showstopper.

posted by Wistful_Writer on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    How far would you go to cover for a friend? Would you allow you

    How far would you go to cover for a friend? Would you allow your reputation to be torn to tatters? Gabby is the main character of this book. She doesn’t make the best choices, she is a fairly good student, and she has a boyfriend and friends. Overall, Gabby is a normal, everyday teenage girl. One wouldn’t think that underage drinking, suspensions from school, therapy sessions, etc… could happen to a normal, everyday girl.

    One bad decision can lead to a lifetime of regret. For Gabby, this slightly clichéd statement turns out to be true. She is left with only her most loyal friends, her supposed boyfriend can only talk to her in secret, and her mother doesn’t appear to believe a word she says. Gabby is a sympathetic character, the reader will be rooting for her throughout the novel. Gabby can be a little hardheaded, but she is also loyal to a fault, honest for the most part, and likable. The secondary characters in the book will affect different readers in different ways. Some of the secondary characters are in the wrong place at the wrong time, others simply make bad decisions, while still others seem to only manipulate the ones they call friends.

    The book was a page-turner; a reader will likely finish this sordid story in less than a few days. The plot is memorable, the characters are hard to forget, and the ending is unexpected. This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers, especially those who enjoy Gossip Girl and/or Pretty Little Liars.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    A great book. I LOVED it! Kept me turning the pages.

    A great book. I LOVED it! Kept me turning the pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    I had very high hopes for this book, and maybe that's why it fel

    I had very high hopes for this book, and maybe that's why it fell short for me. To put it simply the book, for me, was boring. I found Gabby going on about the same old things over and over. The beginning was good, the ending was good, but for the largest portion, the book fell flat. Which was a bummer because to me "When it Began" could have been a showstopper.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Gabby wakes up in a hospital, suffering from memory loss. She h

    Gabby wakes up in a hospital, suffering from memory loss. She has no idea what led to the car accident that brought her here. Suddenly her boyfriend, popular Billy Nash, is distancing himself from her and it's Gabby's turn to find out what happened that night.
    Gabby is a main character with a bunch of problems in tow, a person that is hard to figure out. There is a big difference between the person she truly is and the person other people want her to be, especially her boyfriend Billy and her mother Vivian. Ann Redisch Stampler did a good job building up the inevitable conflict between her characters. Her fine writing supports the incoherent and hesitant thoughts and feelings that are inside our protagonist very well.
    There are only a few characters that I did like in WHERE IT BEGAN. The entire time I didn’t know what to think of Billy Nash, Gabby’s boyfriend (not a good sign). I was engaged in their romance, even though I constantly had a nagging feeling that something about it wasn’t quite right.
    Gabby’s task to find out what happened the night of her accident is in the main focus of the story and it's definitely one mystery that you want to see solved.


    3/5 *** WHERE IT BEGAN – A YA contemporary debut with an initially interesting clue hunt and questions about trust, true love and loyalty.

    The strong pull I felt towards Gabby's story at first slowly started to ebb away with every new cryptic chapter that followed. I was eager to find out what happened to Gabby that night, I highly felt for her, and wanted her so badly to regain her memory. But when I started to figure out what happened that night before she did, I just couldn't stand to see her be so blind to every person around her treating her in a way that wasn't acceptable anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    the book :where it began

    i think this book is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was awful. I expected more from it to be honest. Gabby

    This book was awful. I expected more from it to be honest. Gabby I feel does not have much of a personality. Her whole relationship with Billy does not seem real. I do not like the way the book is written in first person, as if you are reading her thoughts, because she has a very bland personality. The only thing she cares about is being a shell of a perfect looking human being that Billy will date. Billy is a jerk and only starts to like her when her mom forces her to get a transformation. His first conversation with her, he stared at her boobs the whole time. Gabby's thoughts are really just an endless loop of Billy, like everything she does is just him all the time. One of the most unrealistic things I've ever read. I could not keep reading after around page 50 when I gave up. Every aspect of it is superficial, easily seen through and unrealistic. Gabby is not a normal teenage girl whose life was torn to shreds: she was never "normal" to begin with. There are more car accident books like this out there, for example Forget You by Jennifer Echols, go read those instead. This book is not worth your time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    #3 needs to shut the fuck up this book is so romantic

    # 3 you dont get it because youre an ass and dont understamd and youre heart is cold and selfish haha what a wanna-be LOSER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This book deserves a five star

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Great read

    This book was an interesting and original read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1