Customer Reviews for

Where Serpents Lie

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely Disturbing

    The first time I read this book, I was absolutely terrified. Being a single parent with a small daughter and a having a fear of snakes made this the scariest book that I ever read. Recently, I read this book again and still found it scary and the subject matter disturbing but it was definitely well written. The book moved along nicely and it had lots of suspense and twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    'Remarkable'

    One hell of a story...from a great story teller.Strongly recommend...the best book i've read this year!May be brutal for some,then again murder is never joyous...The writer takes you on a rollercoaster ride...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    Disturbing, but good

    I thought this was one of the most disturbing books I have ever read. But the suspense also was great. If you don't have a squeamish stomach, I really recommend this thriller ... once you start, it's almost impossible to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    What a disappointment

    The book just dragged on and on. Couldn't wait to finish ---- boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    A COMPELLING STORY

    I loved this book. It keeps your attention from beginning to end. The plot is well-done and unpredictable. Both my husband (who usually reads westerns) and I read this and both enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2000

    A BOOK THAT DELVES INTO THE HEART OF EVIL!

    WHERE SERPENTS LIE deals with Sergeant Terry Naughton, head of the Crimes Against Youth Division of the Orange County Sheriff Department in Southern California, and his hunt for a man who preys on young children. Two years before, Terry suffered the lost of his five-year-old son, Matt, in a swimming accident. He still feels the immense pain of the tragedy and now pours all of his energy into trying to save as many children as possible from the human monsters in our society. There is one man out there who calls himself the Horridus. His pleasure comes in the form of kidnapping children right out of their very homes, then using them to complete his dark fantasies before feeding them to his thirty-foot long python. Terry¿s one goal is to put this predator down, hopefully before he kills again. As our hero gets closer to this creature of malice, he's suddenly sidetracked when members of his department discover pictures of him having sex with a minor. Terry knows that they are doctored pictures, but few others seem to believe him. The question is who is setting him up? Is it one of the members of his department, or could it be the Horridus? Who has the most to gain? It isn¿t long before Terry finds himself on suspension while an investigation is started into the incriminating pictures. He refuses, however, to just sit and wait, especially while the Horridus is still killing children. With or without the help of his department, Terry is determined to catch this guy. He simply has to do it before he finds himself in jail. WHERE SERPENTS LIE will surprise you from beginning to finish. Just when you think you know where the story is leading, there will be a turn that takes you in a completely different direction. You may at times feel nausea as the author looks into the depraved side of human nature, but at no point will you stop rooting for our hero to put a stake through the heart of this truly evil being. The writing literally crackles with suspense, and you won¿t be able to turn the pages fast enough in your rush to get to the end. Mr. Parker has definitely created a character in the form of Terry Naughton whose tormented soul will cause your heart to almost break when, at the end of the novel, he is forced to take a hard, cold look at himself and the people closest to him, realizing that monsters wear many different masks. Read this book, then be sure to pick up Mr. Parker¿s other novel, THE BLUE HOUR. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1