BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Where She Went (If I Stay Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 640 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(451)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

I cried. My heart broke and came back together again. I loved reading every single word of this book. There is so much emotions and unspoken regrets that punches you in the stomach. The story is captivating from the very beginning, never letting you go.

Adam and M...
I cried. My heart broke and came back together again. I loved reading every single word of this book. There is so much emotions and unspoken regrets that punches you in the stomach. The story is captivating from the very beginning, never letting you go.

Adam and Mia are both great characters with much history and love. The story was great as it was being told from Adam's point of view. I loved getting inside his heart and his head. I loved watching Mia as she is now. So much has happened in the past few years that to be able to see it all come together was genius.

What else can I say that hasn't already been said? This book is simply divine all the way through. If you have not picked up this book you should. It will break you heart like no other book has before, but if will also leave you smiling.

Ms. Forman wrote an unforgettable, undeniably, perfect book. It was perfect. The writing, the plot, and both amazing characters had my eyes running with tears and a heart yearning for love.

There was some minor cursing and a sex scene (vague).

posted by BooksWithBite on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

QUESTION

is there a third book of this soo called series.????

posted by maresisa99 on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 645 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    I cried. My heart broke and came back together again. I loved reading every single word of this book. There is so much emotions and unspoken regrets that punches you in the stomach. The story is captivating from the very beginning, never letting you go.

    Adam and Mia are both great characters with much history and love. The story was great as it was being told from Adam's point of view. I loved getting inside his heart and his head. I loved watching Mia as she is now. So much has happened in the past few years that to be able to see it all come together was genius.

    What else can I say that hasn't already been said? This book is simply divine all the way through. If you have not picked up this book you should. It will break you heart like no other book has before, but if will also leave you smiling.

    Ms. Forman wrote an unforgettable, undeniably, perfect book. It was perfect. The writing, the plot, and both amazing characters had my eyes running with tears and a heart yearning for love.

    There was some minor cursing and a sex scene (vague).

    50 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hauntingly Beautiful Lovestory

    Writing this review is even harder then writing the review for If I Stay, which took me over a month to write.

    Rather then picking up directly where If I Stay left off, Where She Went picks up three years later and this time it is Adam who guides us from his spot in stardom with his band, Shooting Star. Adam was almost unrecognizable at first but that laid the wood work for the emotional roller coaster that was this not-even-sad book. I mean, really, how does one cry when the book isn't really that sad.

    Who knew the stepping stones for Where She Went were not only Mia's accident and Adam and Mia's mutual love for music, even if from different spectrums, but Adam's promise,
    "If you stay, I'll do whatever you want. I'll quit the band; go with you to New York. But if you need me to go away, I'll do that too. .. And that would suck, but I'll do it. I can lose you like that, if I don't lose you today. I'll let you go. If you stay."

    At the risk of sounding extremely vague Mia's character was nothing compared to the complexity of Adam's. The weight of his voice, his emotions, and the way that one promise paved the path for what was his life, all contributed to this extremely raw and emotional read. Even being from Adam's point-of-view, through his eyes I was still able to see the emotions of others, for as off track as Adam was painted in his story I was still able to pick through his eyes and piece together the emotions that mattered.

    Gayle Forman truly is brilliant with If I Stay and now Where She Went. She give us two books that formed one extremely moving, thorough, story. With having had both Mia and Adam's points of views I was able to see all sides of these characters, piecing together the story of their lives and the weight of their love and how it affected them. Gayle concluded Where She Went beautifully, as well as the story of Mia and Adam. Even if it wasn't straight out of a fairy tale.

    Cover: 5
    Characters: 5
    Plot: 5
    Re-Readable: YES!
    Overall: 5+

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka Readingjunky for TeensReadToo

    About three years ago, Mia and Adam went their separate ways - Mia off to Julliard and Adam off to live the life of a rock star. Adam is about to start a European tour with Shooting Star. Since heading off on his own, he has attempted to push aside the emotions he still feels for Mia. Doing so has created a whole new set of problems. Adam is becoming cut off from his fellow band members, and the resulting pressure is becoming more than he can take. His days are filled with annoying interviews, meetings, and rehearsals that he only manages to get through with the help of prescription drugs and cigarettes. His equally famous girlfriend constantly berates him about living with a ghost from his past. In New York City for a brief interview before leaving for the tour, Adam has an angry outburst due to questions from a nosy interviewer. Knowing he won't be popular, he takes off, avoiding his flight and, hopefully, the anger of his manager. His thoughts are filled with Mia, and when he stumbles across her name on the marquee for a Youth Concert series, he asks if any tickets remain. Fate intervenes and he finds himself sitting in the concert hall watching her perform. After the concert he plans to slink back to his hotel and attempt to make up for his earlier bad behavior by contacting his manager. But on his way out of the concert hall, Adam is approached by an usher, asking him to follow him to Mia's dressing room. What follows is a twenty-four-hour period of emotional ups and downs as both Adam and Mia confront the demons surrounding their complicated relationship. Adam relives the terrible months of watching Mia struggle to recover from the accident that killed her parents and her little brother. He knows he is the reason why Mia left. He had prayed for her recovery and promised he would let her go if that was what she wanted. For three lonely years, he has lived with the fact that that must have been her desire. Can Adam and Mia forgive each other and themselves before each must leave to fulfill separate responsibilities on opposite sides of the world? Author Gayle Forman takes readers back into the lives of Mia and Adam in her sequel to IF I STAY. With the focus more on Adam and his heartbreak both during and after Mia's family tragedy, Forman broadens the heartbreaking story in an emotional yet realistic direction. She explores the impact of death and separation as two people strive to overcome pain and connect with futures that satisfy them both.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Best sequel

    most sequels kinda suck. But this! This is pure awesomeness!! Gayle Forman is excellent at describing their emotions! This book has such depth and is truely heart felt!!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    Awesome book

    I read this book in one day! it was amazing. the only thing i didn't like was how often the flashbacks were. i mean every other chapter! but other than that the book would have been 5 stars.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    If I Stay was a great emotional and thought-provoking read. And

    If I Stay was a great emotional and thought-provoking read. And because I was late jumping on the reading bandwagon (I didn't read that book until late last year), lucky for me I didn't have too long to wait for the answers that are found in Where She Went. If I Stay was first published in January of 2009, so some people have been waiting over 2 years for closure. Well wait no more, the time has finally come! Today is release day for Where She Went.Adam's story was just so, so bitter. Throughout the book I felt that exactly like him, I was filled with pain and resentment towards Mia's decisions. The eventual release of all the pent-up anger (accompanied my uncontrollable sobs) was, I believe, as cathartic for me as it was for Adam. This book was a fantastic study of grief, loss and forgiveness. Beautifully, beautifully written. This book can be read without having read If I Stay as the author infuses just enough of Mia's story to make book readable on its own. However, readers will be missing out on something simply incredible if they do not read both books. I recommend this read.    

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I thought the ending was perfect for If I Stay. I wasn't itching for a sequel, in fact the thought never crossed my mind. But, I learned that there would be one shortly after finishing it, and told from Adam's point of view no less!

    I was sucked in to the story right from the start. I really enjoyed Adam's voice and the style of the story is no different from If I Stay. I love catching up with characters you've come to really enjoy. But, its not long before we learn that the 3 years since the events in If I Stay have not been kind to Adam. He's on edge and having a hard time coping with all the events that have left a superstar. You can really feel his struggle and I completely understood how he ended up at Mia's concert. I really loved his internal dialogue the entire evening he spends with Mia. I felt him come to terms with everything that happened since the accident.

    I was actually most surprised by Mia herself. I didn't expect her character to put so much distance between herself and her past. She hasn't even been back to Oregon once since she left for Julliard. I was afraid that she had completely cut everyone out of her life, but we learn that's not the case. It's just Adam that she left. It turns out that Mia had to come to terms with a lot of things that concerned Adam.

    The heartbreaking part of the story was watching both of the emotions come to head. They both feel so much. While Adam wears it on his sleeve (and the music gives it to everyone), you can tell Mia has been bottling it up for 3 years. I really loved watching them both hash it all and realize that they still really do love each other. There was a particularly touching moment involving Adam's guitar!

    I ended up loving this book way more than I thought possible. Almost a 5 butterfly, but there were times that Adam's character was a little too whiny for me. Not being able to let go and move on is a trait you tend to see in girls after devastating breakups, and it was a bit much at times to have it be the guy instead.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    First one was GREAT, couldn't put it down!

    I read the first book and can't wait to read this one...I am a little PO'ed that Adam and Mia broke up though.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Moved me to tears!

    I loved "If I Stay" by Gayle Forman. It was one of those couldn’t-stay-away-had-to-keep-reading types. Now "Where She Went," was an entirely different but exhilarating experience. Not only could I not stop reading but I laughed, I cried like a baby and it actually elicited a physical response of chills down my spine. It was remarkable. It was unquestionably brilliant. It kept me guessing throughout the entirety of the book. If you wanted Adam and Mia to be real, this book makes it so. Bravo Mrs.Forman, I am now and forever your fan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    there's a sequel???

    Oh my BOB!!! I read If I Stay for my summer reading and I fell in love with it. It was my favorite teen book regarding life, death, love, and forgiveness. Now, I wonder what this book, Where She Went, is going to cover? They say it's Adam's perspective of her and everything but what is he feeling with her accident and how much she loves him? Man, I really want to read it.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    I couldn't put it down!!!!

    This is a great book and I had all my questions answered! I've very happy with how the Adam & Mia story played out & I read this literally in a day I could not put it down. If I Stay had me in tears and holding on to every word. Most of the time I am hesitant on reading the second book in a two-book series because they flat out suck. Where She Went exceeded my expectations! This is the best series I've read and both books had me in tears!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Amazing eneding

    Amazing ending even if you want to stop reading make your self read
    Beautiful and heart reanching/warming book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Amazing

    I love everything abiut this story. It is simply fantastic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect sequel...

    I have really been looking forward to reading Where She Went. I had read, and loved, If I Stay earlier this year. I was a little worried when I started reading the book, because so many people have raved over it, and I was afraid I would be disappointed. I wasn¿t disappointed at all, it was awesome.
    The story is told from Adam¿s point of view this time. I¿ve loved Adam since I read If I Stay, but in this book he¿s turned into this huge mess of a broken man. Sometimes he was a bit much to take, even though I know he was this way because he was so heartbroken over Mia. He really, really loved her. Mia was great in the book as well. It was really different seeing her from Adam¿s point of view. I expected her to be broken as well, considering what all she had been through in the previous book. I actually expected a little more emotion from her, but she seemed to be at terms with all that had happened.

    I liked the alternating viewpoints of the past and present. It definitely made the book more intense because I wanted to know what was going to happen next, but then I¿d have to read about something related that had happened in the past. The writing was beautiful, just as the previous book was. The plot was engrossing and quick paced. I had the book finished in one sitting. The ending of the book was absolutely perfect. I also liked the lyrics at the beginnings of some of the chapters as well, and I found myself wishing that it was from a real music CD. I would totally buy it!

    Overall, I loved this book. It is definitely the perfect sequel to If I Stay. If you read it, I hope you enjoy it as well!

    Happy Reading!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    QUESTION

    is there a third book of this soo called series.????

    2 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2014

    The first book ¿If I Stay¿ was at least interesting. although I

    The first book “If I Stay” was at least interesting. although I think it should be reedited. “Where She Went” was uninteresting and the author knew it, so she randomly throw in F Bombs to wake her reader up. The story didn’t really begin till you got to around the last 100 pages and quite frankly could have been summed up in less than one chapter. Mia tells Adam she heard his promise when he was at her hospital bed. There now you know everything that happened in this book in one sentence. I recommend you don’t waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Where She Went is absolute rubbish. I should have known. If I St

    Where She Went is absolute rubbish. I should have known. If I Stay was teetering on horrible but Where She Went is trash. The author should have taken a note from John Green and learn not to put sooo much detail into  every little detail. Also, Adam's psychosis is NOT appealing and is the reason why teens are so self-destructive, petty and obsessive as they are. This book was too much...of a laugh/

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Love this book!! Adam is awesome!!! Can not wait to see the movi

    Love this book!! Adam is awesome!!! Can not wait to see the movie!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    An AMAZING read! After reading "If I Stay" I was ske

    An AMAZING read!

    After reading "If I Stay" I was skeptical on whether I should read the sequel because I was content on how the first book ended. However, after finishing this book, I realized that reading only the first book is like watching 1/2 of a movie; you don't get the full story. 
    This book offered the complete story between what happened with Mia and Adam by giving Adam's point of view. 

    Forman was incredible in writing this sequel. She takes you on a trip with Mia and Adam for one night and gives a story that pulls on your heartstrings. Forman opens up to how Adam has been coping with his rising fame in his band "Shooting Star" and the loss of Mia, and on the flip-side, also lets you in on how Mia has been managing since her incident. Though this information seems somewhat unnecessary in the overall story line, it actually plays a huge role in the relationship between Mia and Adam.
    I'm usually a reader that prefers more action in books. This book is more subtle though, but still has some "meat" to it. Not to mention that I bought this book and read it all within a few hours.

    All in all, I definitely recommend "Where She Went". Also made it to the top books in my list.

    Seriously. You must read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 645 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33