Customer Reviews for

Where She Went (If I Stay Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 670 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(474)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

I cried. My heart broke and came back together again. I loved reading every single word of this book. There is so much emotions and unspoken regrets that punches you in the stomach. The story is captivating from the very beginning, never letting you go.

Adam and M...
I cried. My heart broke and came back together again. I loved reading every single word of this book. There is so much emotions and unspoken regrets that punches you in the stomach. The story is captivating from the very beginning, never letting you go.

Adam and Mia are both great characters with much history and love. The story was great as it was being told from Adam's point of view. I loved getting inside his heart and his head. I loved watching Mia as she is now. So much has happened in the past few years that to be able to see it all come together was genius.

What else can I say that hasn't already been said? This book is simply divine all the way through. If you have not picked up this book you should. It will break you heart like no other book has before, but if will also leave you smiling.

Ms. Forman wrote an unforgettable, undeniably, perfect book. It was perfect. The writing, the plot, and both amazing characters had my eyes running with tears and a heart yearning for love.

There was some minor cursing and a sex scene (vague).

posted by BooksWithBite on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where She Went is a sequel to If I stay by Gayle Forman. When I

Where She Went is a sequel to If I stay by Gayle Forman. When I read If I Stay I was extremely on edge preparing for the sequel, but reading the sequel, it wasn't exactly the ending that I was expecting. I don't really think that Where She Went was as good as If I stay ...
Where She Went is a sequel to If I stay by Gayle Forman. When I read If I Stay I was extremely on edge preparing for the sequel, but reading the sequel, it wasn't exactly the ending that I was expecting. I don't really think that Where She Went was as good as If I stay because Where She Went was just about how Adam was making tough decisions about whether he should keep having one night stands with groupies, date the movie star Bryn, or get back together with his highschool sweetheart Mia. In the beginning of the book it explains that Adam didn't ever really know why Mia just dumped him and moved away to attend Juilliard after she said she would stay with him; She did this because she was tired of getting sympathetic looks from everyone after her reconstruction and leg surgery from being the lone survivor of the car crash that killed her two parents and her little brother. Where She Went didn't really catch my heart like If I Stay did. This book was told from Adam's point of view so it was a totally different experience, I think that Mia's point of view was a lot more interesting. 
I would recommend this book to anyone that just graduated from highschool or is going through some relationship difficulties. I don't think I would re read this book if given the chance, it didn't exactly catch my attention. 

posted by Rosalie14 on January 19, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 19, 2015

    Where She Went is a sequel to If I stay by Gayle Forman. When I

    Where She Went is a sequel to If I stay by Gayle Forman. When I read If I Stay I was extremely on edge preparing for the sequel, but reading the sequel, it wasn't exactly the ending that I was expecting. I don't really think that Where She Went was as good as If I stay because Where She Went was just about how Adam was making tough decisions about whether he should keep having one night stands with groupies, date the movie star Bryn, or get back together with his highschool sweetheart Mia. In the beginning of the book it explains that Adam didn't ever really know why Mia just dumped him and moved away to attend Juilliard after she said she would stay with him; She did this because she was tired of getting sympathetic looks from everyone after her reconstruction and leg surgery from being the lone survivor of the car crash that killed her two parents and her little brother. Where She Went didn't really catch my heart like If I Stay did. This book was told from Adam's point of view so it was a totally different experience, I think that Mia's point of view was a lot more interesting. 
    I would recommend this book to anyone that just graduated from highschool or is going through some relationship difficulties. I don't think I would re read this book if given the chance, it didn't exactly catch my attention. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Not as good as the first

    I did enjoy this book, but I was expecting a little more out of it because If I Stay is so good. I did think the book did need a sequel because it left you wondering what happened next. I didn't like a few things about this book. I didn't like that it was in Adam's point of view. I think Mia's point of view was more intelligent and all around better. All we see is that Adam is just pining after Mia and that he hates being in the band. Kind of boring after a while. I thought Mia's point of view went into more depth and was more exciting. Also, I didn't like that it was a year later. I wanted to know more about what happened after she woke up, besides the glimpses Adam remembers. But overall it was a decent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Did not fulfill expectations

    I had a few issues with this book. First of all, you had to understand the characters from the first book, If I Stay. This usually does not bother me as I prefer to start series' from the beginning. My problem is that the stories didn't really go together. My second problem is, after reading the first book I went looking for a second one, even though I felt a sense of closure. Again, this would not have been an issue if it was as well written and as emotional as the first book. My Final issue is that I feel the author didn't really put as much effort into this as she did in the first.
    I loved the first book! After reading this one, I think I liked the first book less. Nevertheless, separately, they are both really good stories I am mostly disappointed because I expected it to be as wonderful as the first.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Anyone want to chat

    Name your title #coolgirl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Lil

    She yawns and looks around curiously.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    The story is interesting, but the main idea of the book seems a

    The story is interesting, but the main idea of the book seems a straight steal from Graham Greene's "The End of the Affair". Too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book. I will admit, it wasn't as good as the first one in my opinion, but was still very well written. The reason I think this is because it ended very abruptly. I was left wanting a little bit more from it. But still good, and Gayle Forman is a very good author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    I thought this book was a little slow but it was good. I wanted

    I thought this book was a little slow but it was good. I wanted to find out what happened to the characters. Its a quick easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Where she went

    I do recommend this book to people who are looking for a happy tragedy-if that makes any since. But this book was good and i enjoyed it. If you liked it too, you would like susan colisantis new novel Now & Forever. Susans novel is also sad; just a heads up. Well i hoped i helped! Thanks for reading!
    -bookworm14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Good

    This was a good companion book to "If I Stay." I really enjoyed this insight. Solid 3.5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Interesting

    This book is interesting very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    SLOW, BAD POV, AND FULL OF ERRORS

    It so far is an ok book but I do not like that it is told from Adam's point of view. The first book in this series was great, so I decided to read this, and am not as impressed. Also, in the book, there were a lot of typos like missing spaces between words and missing periods at the end of sentences. Silly mistakes that could have been fixed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    HYPE

    I had soooo many expectations for this book. I think that was the problem. I LOVED Before I Fall soooo much and the anticipation of the follow up was too much. I guess I was expecting so much it was a let down. Great Read and would still recommend this to anyone that read the prior but again I guess I just expected more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Ehh...

    I havent read too much of this book yet, but its disappointing that the story was from Adam's point of view. I reccomend borrowing this book frlm the library if you read the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    i know about the 1st one

    if i stay was an amazing book and im pretty sure this one will be too. i havent read it yet, but from many of these reviews it sounds pretty spectacular. in one of the comments it said there was a sex part in the book. is that true? and, if it is, between who and who? please answer. ps i loved the 1st one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Maybe a little depressing

    If I Stay and Where She Went have such heavy emotions in them. Sometimes I wonder who wants to read such sad stories? But that may just emphasize my personal love for adventure, paranormal, fantasy books.
    This second book is still very heavily laden with the music world. I was actually surprised that the book was not titled Where They Went as the story is told from Adam's point of view and the direction that he had taken after Mia's accident and then briefly for a couple of chapters Mia's story is told. The majority of the book is really Adam's situations, feelings and travels since Mia had left. Although of course through him her story is eventually told it really is Adams' story.
    The fact that this story is told from Adams viewpoint is what actually got my attention and curiosity after reading the first book to see where the story went. Adam was my favorite character from the first book and he and his rock band style was more appealing to me than Mia's classical side.
    I thought maybe we might see that rockstar side of Adam, the love of performing for people and the intense emotions that come from performing on stage and travelling. But Adams' story was full of depression, anxiety, saddness and hate for the situation he was in, like he was just following the motions to get through another day.
    The author is obviously incredible at describing emotions and scenes that you can place yourself in the story very easily. Overall these books are very touching, but very sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3