Customer Reviews for

Where She Went

Average Rating 4.5
( 495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(351)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

I cried. My heart broke and came back together again. I loved reading every single word of this book. There is so much emotions and unspoken regrets that punches you in the stomach. The story is captivating from the very beginning, never letting you go.

Adam and M...
I cried. My heart broke and came back together again. I loved reading every single word of this book. There is so much emotions and unspoken regrets that punches you in the stomach. The story is captivating from the very beginning, never letting you go.

Adam and Mia are both great characters with much history and love. The story was great as it was being told from Adam's point of view. I loved getting inside his heart and his head. I loved watching Mia as she is now. So much has happened in the past few years that to be able to see it all come together was genius.

What else can I say that hasn't already been said? This book is simply divine all the way through. If you have not picked up this book you should. It will break you heart like no other book has before, but if will also leave you smiling.

Ms. Forman wrote an unforgettable, undeniably, perfect book. It was perfect. The writing, the plot, and both amazing characters had my eyes running with tears and a heart yearning for love.

There was some minor cursing and a sex scene (vague).

posted by BooksWithBite on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

QUESTION

is there a third book of this soo called series.????

posted by maresisa99 on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    I liked it!

    I thought it was a good sequel to If I Stay. Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    A wonderful story of courage, devastation and inner turmoil.

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this book! Keep tissues with you! Between my anger and tears this was one of the most emotional books I read in a long time. I felt that Gayle was giving us to much information at times but by the end of story I realized that each and every word was a necessary addive to the story. This was a wonderful story of courage and of devastation, explaining the inner turmoil that young (and I'm sure old) people go through when they loose the people and things that are so vital to them. The love and loss within these pages are so incredibly emotional.
    Gayle did an amazing job bringing this story to it's conclusion.

    "I sing this song with all I've got and then we get to the chorus;
    'Hate me. Devistate me. Annhialte me. Re-create me. Re-create me. Won't you, won't you, won't you re-create me.'
    and I start singing the chorus right to her and she smiles at me and it's like we are the only two people out here, the only ones who knows what's happening. Which is that this song we are all singing together is being re-written"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Good+and+fast+read

    Liked+this+one+much+better+than+the+first+it+was+more+%22grown+up%22

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    Let me start out by saying that after reading the first book, If I Stay, I wasn't really expected to start this one to find out that Mia and Adam weren't still together. I was completely shocked to discover she had "left," so to speak, and that had Adam had been living a separate life. I guess I should have guess it though, considering that she stayed in If I Stay, but this book is called Where She Went. Yeah, I'm tired. Bear with me.

    That said, I found that I barely had time to be disappointed in this because the new story immediately sucked me in and got me invested. May I say how much I really enjoy having this told from Adam's point of view? At times, his internal dialogue is so heartbreaking as he struggles through what has become a not so happy life. You can tell immediately that he still loves and misses Mia.

    When the two of them meet, I expected the author to drag on a back and forth "run and I'll chase you" game, but she surprised me again by doing no such thing. She kept the two together as they just spent one evening going from place to place and talking. I loved it!!

    I won't say more because I don't want to give anything else away. But this book was really really worth the read. I love the author's voice. The book was sad, but joyful and pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Awsome read!

    I first read If I Stay and I loved that book. I hadn't realized they were going to make a sequal so I was really happy. I was also surprised becasue I had imagined the two staying together. This was a really great book though. The story line was really entertaining and even though some things seem a little unrealistic, I thought this was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    AMAZING

    I loved this book. I thought this book identified with real struggles in life that many people go through, not just children and teens. I'm currently an education major in college. I think this book would be a great book for my students to read, except for the language. Yes, I am one of those who tries to steer clear of the language. The story in "if i stay" was so strong that i cried. This book leaves you wanting to know more about their life, whether it worked out after the tour or not. Just a great, real life story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Meaning of Collateral Damage.

    Gayle Foreman brings us the second book from here If I Stay series titled Where She Went. IIS was an amazing tearjerker of a read so I new somewhat of what to expect in WSW, but it took my breath away.
    WSW takes us three years after Mia's accident and it is through the narrative of Adam. In Where She Went we what happens after Adam has asked Mia to Stay, and how that choice affects everyone around them.

    Times are tough after the amazing takeoff of Adam's band Shooting Star when the main release of the album Collateral Damage just after Mia had been in the accident. From the lyrics we see the pain and loss that Adam experienced at the top of each chapter then we find that find that stardome was not the answer for Adam and that the loss of Mia's leaving was the loss of his sanity in a way and his heart.

    WSW is an amazing tale of love, loss, regeneration, anger, abandonment, and hope. One you open it it takes you on the inner journey of our characters choices and what happened when Mia left, and where Adam went from there and where he will go on to now.
    Get the tissues, there are some heartbreaking moments here and Gayle writes them so beautifully and smoothly that you cannot put it down.


    The one sentence on the back of the book sums up Where She Went quite well,
    "Told from Adam's point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    story line

    not much else you could have done with this story line so it was a little slow for my taste but still a good book. if you read if i stay i would recommend this book. good closure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I know who I want to take me home

    To be truthful, I was content with leaving Mia and Adam at the end of if i stay - and I still am. Yet knowing that they had parted paths between then and now, I have to admit to having a little curiosity on the why of where she went. Considering the magnitude of what Mia had gone through, I was shocked to learn that she had been the one to leave Adam in the dust. One can say that Gayle Forman did warn us so, but I didn't think Mia would do it! where she went crams what went on those 3 years and how alone Adam has become in his rise to rockstar status. Seeing through Adam's eyes is a little disconcerting, especially seeing how superstitious and anxious he is. In Mia's world albeit 3 years ago, Adam seemed untouched by popularity, sure of himself, the coolest of the cool. Through his eyes, he seems every bit as unsure and lost as Mia had been - and, unlike Mia, no hope that will save him. Ms. Forman crafted a very careful story - one that will keep you on the edge of your chair, your heart carefully guarded for what's to come with this reunion between Adam and Mia. Each has moved on with their lives, forgotten each other as much as they are able to forget someone who once meant the world to them, grown up in separate directions - will they simply reminisce for one night and then part ways, or will they rediscover a love that transcends time and life? I didn't think this sequel was quite as stunning and breath-taking as if i stay - mostly because everything seems to pale in comparison to Mia's life-or-death experience. However, on its own merit, without regard to the characters' backgrounds (that is, if it had been anyone other than Adam and Mia), where she went captures another powerful life experience that I think people can still relate to. Of love that was crushed, lost, left behind - and the story of finding it again and deciding if it was meant to last forever or tucked gently back into the pockets of fond memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Good book

    Pretty good. I wanted them to be together in the first place but I guess that's not up to me. At least it ended well. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5