Customer Reviews for

Where We Belong

Average Rating 4
( 368 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in l

Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I...
Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I just fell in love with the entire book. I have read all of Emily's books and this one does not disappoint because it was addicting and full of emotions and love between all the characters. I read this book in one day!! Its one book that you will not be able to put down!

The plot was great!! I loved the point of views from both Marian and Kirby because as a reader we see the past, future and what they are both up to after the adoption. Each of the characters were amazing to read about because many people can connect with Emily's writing. I even loved how she showed how Marian and Conrad met on that fateful night as well as falling in love during that great summer as well as discovering the truth of family, as well as finding pieces of yourself showing up on your doorstep. As the story went on the development of each character evolved as they got to know each other better. I really liked Conrad because he was one of those bad boys who is Marian's real true love and despite what was happening Marian did make a choice with her situation (not telling) and then meeting him in the book once Kirby sees him is the most rewarding to read about.

Kirby is a character many can relate too because as young adults we go through the stages. Her own story is remarkable and her meeting Marian really changes her life because compared to her life at her "family" she never felt that she belonged and related to, but she is a smart, talented girl who would later discover who she is and where she belongs. Marian life has changed ever since meeting her daughter who she gave up for adoption and when these two women meet each other they develop a relationship and this is a different type of view compared to Emily Giffin past writing which makes this book shine!

Where We Belong is one of the best books yet!! I am a big fan of Emily Giffin, because her writing is one of the best out there for those who love romance/contemporary in fiction. I could re-read this book over and over again because its soo memorable to go back and enjoy it again! I am looking forward to many more books by this fabulous author. I also love how she incorporate updates from her past books!! If you love Sophie Kinsella, Meg Cabot this book is for you!! You are missing out on this amazing book!! DEFINITELY A MUST READ!! + the cover is adorable.

posted by StuckInYAbooks on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this

I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this one. 'Where We Belong' had no "meat" to the characters/story. This simply could have been a fault of the way it was written; every chapter switching between Marian, and Kirby. On top of that, i...
I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this one. 'Where We Belong' had no "meat" to the characters/story. This simply could have been a fault of the way it was written; every chapter switching between Marian, and Kirby. On top of that, it was written in the first person, (for each chapter), so I would forget who I was reading about. This style worked nicely in the beginning of the book, however, by the middle it just got confusing when both characters were together. Or maybe there was no "meat" simply because Giffin left it out. I think it's a combination of both.

I felt as though the characters were robots. Especially in situations where many of them interact together. There could have been much more depth, interaction, and drama....but there was none of this! Made for a very boring book. As I turned each page, I expected it to get better. Much to my dismay, it never did.

Many diehard Emily Giffin fans will probably like this book by default, but I didn't want to be bias. As much as it pains me to write a disappointing review, I must give my honest thoughts. I cringe to hear that there's a possibly of a sequel. I don't think this story line is strong enough to continue.

posted by diznee25 on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Well, I for one, really enjoyed this book. I keep reading all th

    Well, I for one, really enjoyed this book. I keep reading all the negative comments posted below and I agree that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but I mean, one star? Really? It wasn't awful. Yes, some of her past books have been better, but it doesn't mean that this one is total crap. Oh, and about the ending, I think certain people didn't like it because they didn't get their ideal fairy tale or something of that sort. I know many of us wanted to have a little more of a story between Marian and Conrad (potentially, have them end up together) but Ms. Giffin didn't write it like that and it's okay. Maybe she's saving it for a sequel (I wish!). Or maybe not all romantic novels have their typical happy ending. In Something Borrowed, it was evident that the whole story wasn't quite over and a sequel emerged. Although Dex and Rachel ended up together, the other half of the story involving Darcy was still to be told- and it was. In conclusion, people, just read the book. We, the customer reviewers, are giving you a mere opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Absolutely, positively must read

    I loved, loved, loved this book! As a woman and a mother, Marian's story struck such an emotional cord. Although I don't necessarily agree with some of her choices, I understood her dilemma. Ms. Giffin created yet another gem that you all must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Great Book

    loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book. It is the first book I've read by this author. Her writing style reminds me of Jodi Piccoult. The story is very poignant. Anyone in Kirby and Marion's circumstances will relate to their relationship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Emily Giffin Fan!

    Have read all of Emily's book and have never been let down. This newest release is no exception. The ending is inconclusive, but I'm hoping it's the authors way to line up for the next book ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    SO wanted to love this

    Love the author, but I think this book fell short. I hurried through it trying to get to the really interesting parts, but they never came. Also felt as though it ended abruptly. Not a bad read...but not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Another fantastic read by Emily G!

    I have read all her books and this was such a great book! I hope to see more of these characters in a future book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Not her best

    I have read all her books and this is definately not her best. Its a bit long winded and trite at times. It felt a bit like an after school special to me or a disney movie thats rated g.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Love the story, love thw writing....

    I love how her stories are so real... the whole time, Im trying to think of the crazy twist theres gonna be, but instead, it just unfolds and it is what it is. Stress free reading. But im pretty sure nothing beats the ending of Something Borrowed. Literally, when i finished that one, my mouth was still open, I was just in shock. Best ending ever. :) And of course, Something blue wraps it up perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    This is a great book to choose for your first Giffin book. I rea

    This is a great book to choose for your first Giffin book. I really enjoyed this book, especially the style that was written. The book had many messages to pull that could be applied to nearly everyone. The summary and other reviews kind of gave everything away, but I still needed to know HOW everything happened. I really liked that the story was told through two perspectives. (CAUTION: POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT) Also, many people did like the ending because it mainly tied up the main point and not all the little strings that they wanted it to, but there's talk of making it a movie so those strings left untied will hopefully lead into a sequel! Maybe even one with Conrad's point of view. Anyways, once you finish the book and go back and read the first page again, it's really wonderful. You can really see the message in the story clear as day and I loved all the little links and connections. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book AND the ending. I really hope a sequel comes along; there is definitely a story left for it. This was my first Giffin book, but I will definitely be reading more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Rainpaw's bio

    Rainpaw | &male | 8 moons | apprentise | Ivy | blue-grey with silver eyes and black star on left ear | Silver//**Stealthshadow** | Arcticpaw, Ashenpaw, Brackenpaw | ask |

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Not a good ending with Conrad & Mariam clearly still loving

    Not a good ending with Conrad & Mariam clearly still loving each other after 18 years. I know Ms. Griffin is leaving that to our imagination but seriously, this story rquired a "happily ever after".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    An enjoyable quick read.

    This book is not too deep but it was entertaining chick lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Love!

    First Emily Giffin I read! I read it for book club and really enjoyed it. I can't wait to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    I loved how Giffen gets inside the two characters so well in a minute by minute detail that really brings the reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    This book was wonderful. The theme of the book I could really re

    This book was wonderful. The theme of the book I could really relate to as I am adopted. I think every adopted kid should read this if they are thinking about find their birth parents. I wish I had read this before I met my birth mom. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Book started out great and kept my interest, but the end was dis

    Book started out great and kept my interest, but the end was disappointing. Felt like the author just "gave up".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Lacy

    We will see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Aaron

    Good night i love yu and plz do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19