Customer Reviews for

Where We Belong

Average Rating 4
( 368 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in l

Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I...
Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I just fell in love with the entire book. I have read all of Emily's books and this one does not disappoint because it was addicting and full of emotions and love between all the characters. I read this book in one day!! Its one book that you will not be able to put down!

The plot was great!! I loved the point of views from both Marian and Kirby because as a reader we see the past, future and what they are both up to after the adoption. Each of the characters were amazing to read about because many people can connect with Emily's writing. I even loved how she showed how Marian and Conrad met on that fateful night as well as falling in love during that great summer as well as discovering the truth of family, as well as finding pieces of yourself showing up on your doorstep. As the story went on the development of each character evolved as they got to know each other better. I really liked Conrad because he was one of those bad boys who is Marian's real true love and despite what was happening Marian did make a choice with her situation (not telling) and then meeting him in the book once Kirby sees him is the most rewarding to read about.

Kirby is a character many can relate too because as young adults we go through the stages. Her own story is remarkable and her meeting Marian really changes her life because compared to her life at her "family" she never felt that she belonged and related to, but she is a smart, talented girl who would later discover who she is and where she belongs. Marian life has changed ever since meeting her daughter who she gave up for adoption and when these two women meet each other they develop a relationship and this is a different type of view compared to Emily Giffin past writing which makes this book shine!

Where We Belong is one of the best books yet!! I am a big fan of Emily Giffin, because her writing is one of the best out there for those who love romance/contemporary in fiction. I could re-read this book over and over again because its soo memorable to go back and enjoy it again! I am looking forward to many more books by this fabulous author. I also love how she incorporate updates from her past books!! If you love Sophie Kinsella, Meg Cabot this book is for you!! You are missing out on this amazing book!! DEFINITELY A MUST READ!! + the cover is adorable.

posted by StuckInYAbooks on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

I'm not entirely sure it was worth 12.99, buuuut it was an okay read. I will say that the ending was sort of inconclusive, but that may just be her lining up for a following book with the same characters. If not, then I'd have to say the ending was less than stellar.

...
I'm not entirely sure it was worth 12.99, buuuut it was an okay read. I will say that the ending was sort of inconclusive, but that may just be her lining up for a following book with the same characters. If not, then I'd have to say the ending was less than stellar.

posted by Kab30 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in l

    Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I just fell in love with the entire book. I have read all of Emily's books and this one does not disappoint because it was addicting and full of emotions and love between all the characters. I read this book in one day!! Its one book that you will not be able to put down!

    The plot was great!! I loved the point of views from both Marian and Kirby because as a reader we see the past, future and what they are both up to after the adoption. Each of the characters were amazing to read about because many people can connect with Emily's writing. I even loved how she showed how Marian and Conrad met on that fateful night as well as falling in love during that great summer as well as discovering the truth of family, as well as finding pieces of yourself showing up on your doorstep. As the story went on the development of each character evolved as they got to know each other better. I really liked Conrad because he was one of those bad boys who is Marian's real true love and despite what was happening Marian did make a choice with her situation (not telling) and then meeting him in the book once Kirby sees him is the most rewarding to read about.

    Kirby is a character many can relate too because as young adults we go through the stages. Her own story is remarkable and her meeting Marian really changes her life because compared to her life at her "family" she never felt that she belonged and related to, but she is a smart, talented girl who would later discover who she is and where she belongs. Marian life has changed ever since meeting her daughter who she gave up for adoption and when these two women meet each other they develop a relationship and this is a different type of view compared to Emily Giffin past writing which makes this book shine!

    Where We Belong is one of the best books yet!! I am a big fan of Emily Giffin, because her writing is one of the best out there for those who love romance/contemporary in fiction. I could re-read this book over and over again because its soo memorable to go back and enjoy it again! I am looking forward to many more books by this fabulous author. I also love how she incorporate updates from her past books!! If you love Sophie Kinsella, Meg Cabot this book is for you!! You are missing out on this amazing book!! DEFINITELY A MUST READ!! + the cover is adorable.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Good story line with likea

    I loved this book. very well written. Good story line with likeable characters. One of fav

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good yet refreshing allows readers to indulge!

    Good yet refreshing allows readers to indulge!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this

    I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this one. 'Where We Belong' had no "meat" to the characters/story. This simply could have been a fault of the way it was written; every chapter switching between Marian, and Kirby. On top of that, it was written in the first person, (for each chapter), so I would forget who I was reading about. This style worked nicely in the beginning of the book, however, by the middle it just got confusing when both characters were together. Or maybe there was no "meat" simply because Giffin left it out. I think it's a combination of both.

    I felt as though the characters were robots. Especially in situations where many of them interact together. There could have been much more depth, interaction, and drama....but there was none of this! Made for a very boring book. As I turned each page, I expected it to get better. Much to my dismay, it never did.

    Many diehard Emily Giffin fans will probably like this book by default, but I didn't want to be bias. As much as it pains me to write a disappointing review, I must give my honest thoughts. I cringe to hear that there's a possibly of a sequel. I don't think this story line is strong enough to continue.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Not bad

    I'm not entirely sure it was worth 12.99, buuuut it was an okay read. I will say that the ending was sort of inconclusive, but that may just be her lining up for a following book with the same characters. If not, then I'd have to say the ending was less than stellar.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    I have read all of E.G.'s books and this was my least favorite o

    I have read all of E.G.'s books and this was my least favorite of them all. I love how she ties in characters from other novels (and provides updates). However I this story was a departure from what I expected of this book. I did not have the anxious feel with this book that I have had with all the others. It did not leave me on the verge of tears, getting angry with the characters,etc. that I felt with other books. I also agree with other reviews, I did not particularly care for the ending or how abrupt the ending seemed to be. I would wait to check this one out at the library!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Wouldn't recommend

    I loved her writing, the characters, and plot. However, I agree with the others that the ending ruined it for me & was inconclusive. It was a big disappointment!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    Ms.Giffin is a gifted writer and a fabulous storyteller who creates characters that we care about. I would love this book were it not for its ending. I like depth of characterization and plausibility in the storyline, but l love happy endings! Life is hard enough, so please let me find vicarious pleasure when characters that an author has made me care about find happiness. This ending didn't do that. There has got to be more to the story. Ms. Giffin, please don't let Marian and Conrad be another Scarlett and Rhett!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    REALLY?!

    This book had me hooked from the beginning. What happened Emily? So disappointed with the ending! I sure hope there is a second book because the ending was a big LET DOWN:(

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Great story ....Inconclusive Ending!

    I loved the entire book..up until the ending. I really hope the author is in the process of writing a sequel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Did NOT Like!! :(

    I love all of her books except this one. I did not care for the plot. I also felt parts of the book were repetative and long. Not her best work!! Boring!! Never-ending!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    The book kept me very engaged throughout. If this would have en

    The book kept me very engaged throughout. If this would have ended differently I would have given this a higher rating. However, the book really left me hanging with limited closure for Marian and Conrad which really ruined the overall book/reading experience. It seemed as if the author copped out with a "maybe she'll do this or maybe she'll do that" type ending. This was very disappointing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Another great book by Griffin

    I generally only read non fiction. For this author I make an exception! This book is wonderful and told in a unique way! GREAT read, hands down! For those that felt "let down" at the end....read it again....you missed the point! And not everything in life wraps up like a Christmas present! You will not be disappointed with this book....a definite summer read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Best Summer read!

    This is by far the best novel I've ever read! It makes you fall in love with love and look at the dynamic that makes a family. Makes you remember that genuine love from our 1st love!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    All nighter

    I stayed up all night so i could finish it. I laughed but i cried more. Love!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Love Lost & Found

    I have read most of Emily Giffin's prior books, and although this one was not my favorite, it was a quick, easy and entertaining story. The only think that I was a little annoyed with was the sudden ending. There was not a whole lot of closure, I guess it's just up to our imaginations!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Character voices were inconsistent, and characters lacked depth

    It seemed that all throughout the book, you only saw what was on the surface of characters and situations. The story is told from the point of view of Kirby and Marion, but the author's voice penetrates the characters, and they speak in ways that they shouldn't. The high powered executive would slip into a loosey goosey speech, riddled with grammatical errors. And conversely, Kirby (whose 18 year old rebellious nature made grammatical errors more tolerable) would suddenly erupt into a perfectly crafted description that, while sometimes it was good writing, was not in character. Characters also tended to behave in ways that were inconsistent with their natures. Isolated deviations can be rebellious choices, but these inconsistencies were too frequent and haphazard.

    Marion's friends seemed to be invented because not having friends is not believable. But so many of these characters lacked enough depth to contribute to the story. Why should you trust a friend's advice? Their character depth will rell you that they're reliable, or fun but irresponsible, or always optimistic. In my opinion, the one liners of advice they give were just as shallow, and the lot of them could have been left out entirely.

    It seemed that the author was afraid to talk about tough issues, only glossing over deep topics by mentioning that the characters talked about something important over a burger. You get no deeper glimpses into the important things, but have highly detailed descriptions of the activites people employ to avoid talking about important issues. This was highly disappointing.

    Other reviews mention displeasure with the ending, which didn't bother me so much (life isn't always wrapped up neatly), but I'd say the whole book left something wanting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Not Giffin's Best

    I am a HUGE fan of Emily Giffin and have ready all of her other books and loved ALL of them. The characters in ths book seemed forced and unnatural and the ending was very underwhelming. I will continue to be a fan of her work, but this book has been my least favorite, by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    a quick read that didn't leave me saticsfied

    This is the first time I've read this author. The story line was good and this was one reason I bought the book. It was the ending that was disappointing--I guessed what happened before I was half way through the book. This is a book for people who don't put much thought into what's written. It's definetly not for book club discussion as it's not much to discuss. I'd probably read her again to fill in some time between books where I don't have to put much thought into the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great Giffin Read

    I have enjoyed most of her books and this one did not fail. Kirby and Marian were great characters. Sure some of the side characters were a little stiff but all-in-all a quick and satisfying read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19