Customer Reviews for

Where We Belong

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in l

Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I...
Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I just fell in love with the entire book. I have read all of Emily's books and this one does not disappoint because it was addicting and full of emotions and love between all the characters. I read this book in one day!! Its one book that you will not be able to put down!

The plot was great!! I loved the point of views from both Marian and Kirby because as a reader we see the past, future and what they are both up to after the adoption. Each of the characters were amazing to read about because many people can connect with Emily's writing. I even loved how she showed how Marian and Conrad met on that fateful night as well as falling in love during that great summer as well as discovering the truth of family, as well as finding pieces of yourself showing up on your doorstep. As the story went on the development of each character evolved as they got to know each other better. I really liked Conrad because he was one of those bad boys who is Marian's real true love and despite what was happening Marian did make a choice with her situation (not telling) and then meeting him in the book once Kirby sees him is the most rewarding to read about.

Kirby is a character many can relate too because as young adults we go through the stages. Her own story is remarkable and her meeting Marian really changes her life because compared to her life at her "family" she never felt that she belonged and related to, but she is a smart, talented girl who would later discover who she is and where she belongs. Marian life has changed ever since meeting her daughter who she gave up for adoption and when these two women meet each other they develop a relationship and this is a different type of view compared to Emily Giffin past writing which makes this book shine!

Where We Belong is one of the best books yet!! I am a big fan of Emily Giffin, because her writing is one of the best out there for those who love romance/contemporary in fiction. I could re-read this book over and over again because its soo memorable to go back and enjoy it again! I am looking forward to many more books by this fabulous author. I also love how she incorporate updates from her past books!! If you love Sophie Kinsella, Meg Cabot this book is for you!! You are missing out on this amazing book!! DEFINITELY A MUST READ!! + the cover is adorable.

posted by StuckInYAbooks on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this

I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this one. 'Where We Belong' had no "meat" to the characters/story. This simply could have been a fault of the way it was written; every chapter switching between Marian, and Kirby. On top of that, i...
I'm a huge fan of Emily Giffin, but she missed the mark on this one. 'Where We Belong' had no "meat" to the characters/story. This simply could have been a fault of the way it was written; every chapter switching between Marian, and Kirby. On top of that, it was written in the first person, (for each chapter), so I would forget who I was reading about. This style worked nicely in the beginning of the book, however, by the middle it just got confusing when both characters were together. Or maybe there was no "meat" simply because Giffin left it out. I think it's a combination of both.

I felt as though the characters were robots. Especially in situations where many of them interact together. There could have been much more depth, interaction, and drama....but there was none of this! Made for a very boring book. As I turned each page, I expected it to get better. Much to my dismay, it never did.

Many diehard Emily Giffin fans will probably like this book by default, but I didn't want to be bias. As much as it pains me to write a disappointing review, I must give my honest thoughts. I cringe to hear that there's a possibly of a sequel. I don't think this story line is strong enough to continue.

posted by diznee25 on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Not bad

    I'm not entirely sure it was worth 12.99, buuuut it was an okay read. I will say that the ending was sort of inconclusive, but that may just be her lining up for a following book with the same characters. If not, then I'd have to say the ending was less than stellar.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    I have read all of E.G.'s books and this was my least favorite o

    I have read all of E.G.'s books and this was my least favorite of them all. I love how she ties in characters from other novels (and provides updates). However I this story was a departure from what I expected of this book. I did not have the anxious feel with this book that I have had with all the others. It did not leave me on the verge of tears, getting angry with the characters,etc. that I felt with other books. I also agree with other reviews, I did not particularly care for the ending or how abrupt the ending seemed to be. I would wait to check this one out at the library!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    SO wanted to love this

    Love the author, but I think this book fell short. I hurried through it trying to get to the really interesting parts, but they never came. Also felt as though it ended abruptly. Not a bad read...but not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Not her best

    I have read all her books and this is definately not her best. Its a bit long winded and trite at times. It felt a bit like an after school special to me or a disney movie thats rated g.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Not a good ending with Conrad & Mariam clearly still loving

    Not a good ending with Conrad & Mariam clearly still loving each other after 18 years. I know Ms. Griffin is leaving that to our imagination but seriously, this story rquired a "happily ever after".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Not bad

    Not bad, not great?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I've read every other book by Emily Giffin so I thought I'd give

    I've read every other book by Emily Giffin so I thought I'd give this a try. It was enjoyable and only took 3 or 4 days to read. I liked that each chapter came from the perspective of a different character, changing from the present to past back to the present. It made it interesting. I kind of wish there was more drama involved. The story seemed to move on and nothing made me say OMG. The ending was also a little bit of a cliff hanger. I was expecting SOMETHING to happen. Hoping she's going to follow this up with another book. I'd recommend this book or any of her books as a summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    A little too tidy...

    I loved parts of this book. There were chapters where I found that I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough. However, in the end I found Peter to be an unrealistic character, Kirby as mature as Marion, and the ending far too convenient. Overall it became somewhat disappointing. (Sorry for the misspellings, no spell check on the Nook!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    The story was okay but how is a child born in 1996 eighteen year

    The story was okay but how is a child born in 1996 eighteen years old 2012.  Mistakes like this drive me crazy and it continued the entire way through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    The story line itself is good but I thought it dragged and could

    The story line itself is good but I thought it dragged and couldnt get into it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Liked It

    Good story. Related to my life personally.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommeded

    I love all Emily Giffin books but this one was even better than the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    NOT HER BEST, BUT WORTH READING

    Fast and entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    I agree with most of the others...the ending was extremely disap

    I agree with most of the others...the ending was extremely
    disappointing! I ignored the reviews because I love all of her other
    books, so I read it anyway. The entire book was good except for the
    ending. It made me sorry that I had purchased it in the first place :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Predictable

    I love Emily Giffin's work, but this is the first book that I had hard time finishing. I usually finish them in a couple hours, but this one was slow. Giffin seem to be repeating herself consistently within the novel about Kirby being adopted. It was established within the first couple chapters. It just seems as if she was running out of ideas on what to write and needed page fillers. The ending was great as it is, and I hope that it remains that way. The plot was very predictable and unbelievable in some parts which made it difficult to stay engaged. It doesn't need a sequel Ms. Giffin. Perfect ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    I really hope the author is in the process of writing a sequel¿

    Great Story! I love her writing, the characters, and plot. The book kept me very engaged throughout, however I agree with the others that the ending ruined it for me & was inconclusive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Good Read

    Very cute book. Nothing to "rock your reading world" but very cute none the less. This was my first book from this author and I loved her writing technique. I also liked that she didn't wrap everything up in a pretty little bow at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    the book was a good read.. i read it on the nook app so i wasnt

    the book was a good read.. i read it on the nook app so i wasnt aware that i was coming to the end of the book... because the ending is just inconclusive! i thought there were many many many more pages to go... disappointed in the ending. but overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Not her best

    I love all of her books, but this one is slow and the characters are bland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Its okay....but

    I love E.Giffin books however, this one is a hard read. I'm on chapter 7 and I'm still not excited about reading. Usually I'am however this a dragging, over detailed, boring, and slow book. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3