Customer Reviews for

Where Wizards Stay Up Late: The Origins of the Internet

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    GOOD read, NICE history.

    Where Wizards Stay Up Late, by Hafner and Lyon, is an excellent source of history about the birth of the Internet. Many people have surfed the Net or sent email, but not all of those who use these technologies know the reasons for its existence. Hafner and Lyon provide the answers to questions of the Internet¿s existence and it does so in a very understandable way. It uses the actual accounts of the research scientists who were responsible for the research and design of interconnecting computers. The purpose of this interconnection was to make four different computers using telephone lines in four different places to communicate and transfer information. Thus forming the ARPANET. The people involved with this fascinating discovery were members of the Advanced Research Project Agency (ARPA), which was a division of the Defense Department. The story begins in the 1950¿s as a result of an indirect request by President Eisenhower to use scientific research to help improve the nation¿s defense and continues through the 1960¿a with the first ever connection of distant computers. The authors also mention how well known corporations, such as the U.S. Postal Service, IBM, and AT&T, denied the potential capabilities of the ARPANET. Many people believe that the ARPANET was invented to stand as a communication tool for the military that could withstand a nuclear assault. Hafner and Lyon do a fine job to clear up this presumption and provide a sense of respect for those who were responsible for ARPANET. They mention the key individuals who were with ARPA and Bolt Beranek and Newman from the beginning. This review did its best to keep away from repeating the content covered in this wonderful journey through history. Although the content does get a little wordy and technical towards the end, overall, Where Wizard Stay Up Late is an enjoyable reading experience for those interested in the origins of the ever flowing and growing Internet. Yes, it is a history lesson, but it unveils the history in an interesting way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    This book to me was not very interesting. It had a lot of good i

    This book to me was not very interesting. It had a lot of good information in it, but I am not a technology person. The author is a very good writer, but it was not interesting to me. The characters were not the most exciting characters. I did learn a lot about how the computer came about, and how the ARPANET works. The internet is an extremely big achievement for these people. If you are a technology person, this is the book for you. Sami C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Where Wizards Stay up Late is the long and full history of the f

    Where Wizards Stay up Late is the long and full history of the formation of the modern web, or internet. The formation of the ARPANET with only an original 15 nodes was developed into the full scale modern internet we know and love today. The book's introduction is based on the background of the time period and what world events were taking place at the time. The cold war had brought about new technological developments with the pressure of the Space Race. The book covers the main contributors of the ARPANET and also tells of the reunion of the engineers 10 years later. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to see the origins of the modern internet or someone who is simply fascinated with the science behind it. (D.S.) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    The book “Where Wizards Stay up Late the Origins of the In

    The book “Where Wizards Stay up Late the Origins of the Internet” by Katie Hafner and Matthew Lyon is an excellent book about the beginnings of the internet and all of the hard work that people like Louise Licklider put into its creation. I give the book a five out of five because it has great detail on all of the events that led up to Bolt Beranek and Newman (BBN) creating the interface message processors (IMP’s) that were used to connect computers and created the first form of the internet. It also is easy to understand and explains the technical diction very well. Anyone from an internet guru to the not so tech savvy parent could pick this book up and understand what the employees of BBN had to go through. The authors brought their real life experiences into the book and gave the characters life. It seems like the book was written when all of this was actually happening. It is quite fascinating that BBN was a small company that use to be an acoustics company turned out to be the company that would revolutionize the way we use computers. If you have the chance to pick this book up and are interested in computers, I’d definitely give it a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Great book!

    Where Wizards Stay Up Late: The Origins of the Internet is an intriguing novel about the scientists responsible for creating the internet. Since the internet is such a big part of all of our lives, I thought this book would be a good choice for me. I expected it to be dull and boring but I was very surprised. It was much better than I could have ever imagined. The authors presented the information is such a tasteful way that I didn’t want to stop reading. I found it so inspiring how these scientists came together to create something so revolutionary. When they first created the internet, they had no idea it would be what it was today. Now it is one of the most powerful and important inventions ever made and most of the scientists who made it are barely even recognized. When one of these scientists names were said, the average person would have no idea who they are, but because I read this book I now know who they are and how important they are. By reading this book I feel more connected to the past and the computer science industry in general. I also learned a lot about computers and technology. Another reason I liked the book was because of the struggles the scientists had to encounter. The way they found breakthroughs within these mishaps showed me how to find positive messages in the mishaps of my life. This book was much more than I expected, and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Great Read! ARPANET 4 LIFE!!!

    This book was a great read. I loved it. It was extremely informative about how the Internet was first created and how it grew and expanded from the small, with only 15 nodes, ARPANET, to the world wide web that links millions of computers around the globe. Hafner and Lyon have created a great read that captures the history and the awesomeness of the origins of the Internet. These men will forever be remembered of the fathers of the web, they have changed technology forever and have greatly bettered the world by doing so. This book takes readers behind the scenes of all the hard work, long hours, genius, and the "happy accidents of the successful ordeal. Some of the characters are great too. Some of them are even college students when they first created the ARPANET. I think that is amazing, but it just goes to show you that anyone can do anything no matter how old. Everyone in the world ho cares about where the @ symbol comes from on email addresses, or the "www" in front of a website, should definitely go out to there local bookstore and purchase this book! It's no surprise it was "one of Library Journal's picks for best Sci-Tech book of the year."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    Very Informative Book

    The book was very informative. I kept me on the edge when I read it. Each moment the story gave me the feeling of what were the characters going to do to get over the next 'hurdle' that came thier way. It leaves the reader asking for more up until the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    Boring

    This book provides a very in depth look at how the Internet started, but it in a very boring way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    perfect book

    the best book i ever read.........period...........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1