BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Where You Left Me

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Highly reccommended

posted by 5500091 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Beautiful title - Beautiful cover picture - Disappointing read

I am disheartened to have to criticize any book that relates to the terrorist attack of 9/11, of which When You Left Me is one. More a personal story of what happened that day, this book is promoted as a...
Beautiful title - Beautiful cover picture - Disappointing read

I am disheartened to have to criticize any book that relates to the terrorist attack of 9/11, of which When You Left Me is one. More a personal story of what happened that day, this book is promoted as a memoir of the life of Doug Gardner who was in the North Tower of the Twin Towers on 9/11. Jennifer Gardner Trulson explains in the first part of the book what happened on that day and the subsequent days and months following the tragic death of Doug. There are moments in the first part when we get a glimpse of the husband and father Doug was, but for the most part we get a run down of the life of Jennifer, her support system and her wealthy life style.

It was the second part of the book that disappointed me the mos. This is when she decided after 10 months of mourning Doug, she was ready to move on with her life. This is when she meets Derek Trulson in a bar. Jennifer writes this second part more like a romance novel than a personal story of picking up the pieces of a shattered loss to find a lasting love with Derek. There is no doubt that Jennifer and Derek fell in love and are now living happily with their two children 10 years later. This second part is filled with what I call the visual intimacy of a romantic novel. Although Jennifer does not go into details a romance would, she does tell of their intimate life. She writes about their "first time" in a hotel room; their "making out" in her kitchen; Derek moving in with her in the same home and bed she shared 10 months earlier with Doug, and, finally, his "spooning" her the morning of their wedding. Unlike most brides and grooms to be, Jennifer and Derek decided to stay in a hotel together the night before their wedding. This is okay, but in this type of memoir,there is no need to tell this for Doug is reduced to nothing more than a memory. The book would have been much more interesting had she left out the intimate details with Derek and written a beautiful love story. If a reprinting of this book is in the future, excluding those details, adding pictures and telling a beautiful second love story would add so much more to the book. The memory of Doug would have been a cherishing memory for the reader.

I did appreciate the fact that Jennifer has set up a foundation in Doug's name to help educate children in need. As a teacher, I delight in that.

posted by zamm on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Disappointing

    Beautiful title - Beautiful cover picture - Disappointing read

    I am disheartened to have to criticize any book that relates to the terrorist attack of 9/11, of which When You Left Me is one. More a personal story of what happened that day, this book is promoted as a memoir of the life of Doug Gardner who was in the North Tower of the Twin Towers on 9/11. Jennifer Gardner Trulson explains in the first part of the book what happened on that day and the subsequent days and months following the tragic death of Doug. There are moments in the first part when we get a glimpse of the husband and father Doug was, but for the most part we get a run down of the life of Jennifer, her support system and her wealthy life style.

    It was the second part of the book that disappointed me the mos. This is when she decided after 10 months of mourning Doug, she was ready to move on with her life. This is when she meets Derek Trulson in a bar. Jennifer writes this second part more like a romance novel than a personal story of picking up the pieces of a shattered loss to find a lasting love with Derek. There is no doubt that Jennifer and Derek fell in love and are now living happily with their two children 10 years later. This second part is filled with what I call the visual intimacy of a romantic novel. Although Jennifer does not go into details a romance would, she does tell of their intimate life. She writes about their "first time" in a hotel room; their "making out" in her kitchen; Derek moving in with her in the same home and bed she shared 10 months earlier with Doug, and, finally, his "spooning" her the morning of their wedding. Unlike most brides and grooms to be, Jennifer and Derek decided to stay in a hotel together the night before their wedding. This is okay, but in this type of memoir,there is no need to tell this for Doug is reduced to nothing more than a memory. The book would have been much more interesting had she left out the intimate details with Derek and written a beautiful love story. If a reprinting of this book is in the future, excluding those details, adding pictures and telling a beautiful second love story would add so much more to the book. The memory of Doug would have been a cherishing memory for the reader.

    I did appreciate the fact that Jennifer has set up a foundation in Doug's name to help educate children in need. As a teacher, I delight in that.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Not sure about this book

    When I had seen the television interview about Jennifer Gardner around the anniversary of the attacks, I was very interested in reading her book. I must say that I was very disappointed after reading it! Although, my heart went out to her having to deal with the sudden, tragic loss of her husband and dealing with becoming a widow so young, I was very turned off with countless things. First off, I understand that everyone grieves in different ways but I too, find it hard to believe that Doug was her true soul mate. I was also very turned off by every other page being about some "ritzy restaurant" she ate at or about the boutiques she frequented. I got the impression very early in the book that she wanted to portray herself as the wealthy widow and bragged about her lifestyle. I would have enjoyed more, a book about an average woman who could inspire others dealing with grief in more logical ways than meeting her wealthy friends at the most expensive New York restaurants or shops. I had to really try and keep an open mind during this book and believe me it was very difficult!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Not worth the time or money for this book. She wrote this book

    Not worth the time or money for this book. She wrote this book as a justification of her jumping beds so quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Not what I expected

    Should be renamed, "It Was Easy to Leave You Behind," which is so hard to associate with such a horrible event in our history. Like one of the other reviewers, I found it very hard to stomach much of this book. Ms. Trulson talks on every page about her need to move on quickly, cleaning out closets and gutting and redesigning the apartment within weeks of her husband's death. She revels in her monied lifestyle, to which she is careful to say she never aspired. She seems to take pride in how quickly she snapped out of it, so to speak. Her ability to not only move on so quickly, but to allow her new husband to adopt her children so soon after their daddy's death is disturbing, but she is sure to point out that the other widows in her exclusive affluent circle all also remarried within a brief period of time, as well, which I suppose is a sort of justification for her. When I first saw this book, I anticipated reading it, and to be honest, it was a sad disappointment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Great book

    Highly reccommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    An emotional rollercoaster that takes you from the past before the event that not only shook the United States, but also Jennifer Gardner's world to the present day (I will not spoil this heartwrenching story for you one bit). I did everything from laughing to sobbing while reading this book and I may be an emotional wall to wreck because I rarely sob during a movie or while reading a book. This one touched me to the core and made me think about how we as a country and some individuals were forever changed by the actions of others.

    As we all know that 9/11 made widows and widowers out of many in New York, DC and beyond. I appreciated reading the story of an individual who lived through both ups and downs while trying to live without the partner that she had made a home and life with. I felt extreme sadness for her two young children, who will be forever changed by a day that lives in infamy, they will mourn with many others each year on what has become a national day of mourning.

    A truthful story with a soul and one that continues as each day can be a struggle when you have lost someone close so quickly. A recommended read for those who wish to read a personal story that started on 9/11, but is still being written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Shallow and snobbish

    I feel so sad thinking about Michael and Julia...Poor Dan must be pissed off too! This is the most snobbish, shallow, self-centered woman in the planet! Do not buy this book, she doesn't need the money neither will she donate any of it to the REAL victims. Buying an expensive clutch while her heart was sooo broken after loosing the "love of her life" and sleeping with a new man less than a year after? Get real Jennifer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    very emotional read

    this book caught my attention on the shelf, after reading a few chapters, i decided to pick it up. this book became personal for me, for many different reasons. hard to read without getting the sniffles along the way. but worth every minute.
    one of the few books this year, i am truly glad i bought.
    strong lady, and i'm glad things are, working themselves out is so shallow to say, i'm glad that she is pulling it together for her kids, and hopefully the other 9-11 families are finding some relief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Loved this book! I was truly moved by this story and the author'

    Loved this book! I was truly moved by this story and the author's ability to make you feel like you were part of her life.  Will recommend to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    A 9/11 love story

    Very well written and emotional read. It of course was a sad story but I couldn't put it down. Jennifer brought me on this heart renching journey with her to really understand what this act of terrisiom did to so many people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Couldnt put down

    This book was heartwrenching but one i couldnt put down. We all remember how we felt on sept 11 but this puts it into perspective what the widows felt. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Heartbreaking, sweet, funny, and uplifting. This is an amazing m

    Heartbreaking, sweet, funny, and uplifting. This is an amazing memoir
    and a definite must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Nya

    Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    A story that renews your hope

    To have loved and lost her husband would break any woman. This is the story of someone who by grace is able to rebuild her life. It's a great tale of love lost and new love found. It will fill you with hope that after a tragedy there is still capacity for living life and remembering those you lost. I recommend this to anyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    A heart-felt story that was so touching

    The book was beyond my expectations. Also I was thrilled to read that down the road she was so blessed to have met Derek. He was exactly what the children needed in order to bring their little lives back to normal. I also thought it was sweet how Doug was honored right to the very last sentence of the book. Excellent book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth it.

    I think this book was well writen. I had a hard time putting it down. It is now in my top 3 for favorites. ( I tend to get bored in certain sections of books, not this one at all )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Great Reading...

    This was a very nice story of a widow and her two children left behind from the senseless cowards that forever changed our country, the world and all the families destroyed by the 9-11 attacks. I thought Jennifer did a wonderful job of telling the story "WHERE YOU LEFT ME" She writes of her her love for her deceased husband, and the bond with the Cantor family where he worked. She lets the world know just where HE left her and the kids. I thought she explained it in detail and I am so happy for her and the kids, that she could carry on rebuild her life and love again. She was brave enough to relive those tormenting days, weeks and months following her devastation and could share with the world her pain. Good book to read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good Job!

    The process for purchases of your products is great....and I appreciate the tracking information you provide....Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Beautifully written, heartfelt book! I loved it!

    Like everyone else in this country, I watched in horror on 9/11 as the World Trade Towers fell. Like everyone else, I was devastated even though I knew none of the victims personally. Jennifer put a name and face to the story. There were so many heros that day; this is just one of them. Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Beautiful story

    Excellent book. Extremely touching and wonderfully written. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3