BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Where the God of Love Hangs Out

Average Rating 3
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    I can not wait to read other books by this author!

    This is the first Amy Bloom book I have read. Her character development is wonderful. This is offbeat, I think, by anone's standards. However, the love she writes about, although unconventional, is deeply touching. You end up forgiving these people for the most unforgivable things! What a huge talent the woman has. She writes for people who don't want tidy characters with tidy endings. Love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    A Definite Read

    This is her best collection ever. As far as I'm concerned, even better than Away (which was wonderful). It's easy to relate to the characters, and the stories are tales that could mirror your own experiences. Definitely a great read. If you don't have time now, make sure you get a copy for a trip or beach read because you won't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Perfect!

    She says more in 21 pages than most books say in 200!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Freak Chapter two

    Sammy was surrounded by darkness she could feel and hear but couldnt speak she called out for help but nothing came. Suddenly she awoke the green goo surrounded her she was in the fetal position unable to move she saw a woman walk past. Mandy!? What was she doing here? Mandy did diagnostics on the subjects and then tapped on the glass to sammys vat. "Sorry sammy the vat glitched we cant get it open." Sammy saw the smile on her sister's face the smirk her sister was glad it had glitched because noe the lab was hers. Sammy sighed inside thinking of mike watching him at work watching him mutate. She remembered their past. She remembered how he made her feel safe then he had dumped her for mandy. She wouldnt be surprised if he was the one who made the machine "glitch" for her she sighed then she heard mandy yelling at him and watcged her cuff him and bring him to the lab. It made sammy happy she watched as her sister brought back a toad and let it out the door. She noticed a new subject M-14 she wondered who he was and why he was here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Lacks the soul and luster of Bloom's previous short story collections

    Amy Bloom is a gifted storyteller, a master of her craft, and a writer of what I call approachable and readable short stories. Her prose is refreshing because it's not as experimental or edgy as many other contemporary short story writers. Her previous collection Come to Me ranks as one of the best I've ever read. Her writing is lush, evocative and melodic, like a novel that has been condensed, with enticing and unforgettable characters. Her stories are soulful, brim with color and affection, toasty, like sitting fireside with a close friend who breaks all the rules, affairs, unorthodox family and sexual relationships, behavior on the fringe, but who is still very human. Bloom's latest collection, Where the God of Love Hangs Out, is well written, tight, her craft is evident, but the stories lack the magic, luster and brilliance of her previous collections. They're not as raw or revelatory, the voice is not as immediate; the characters don't stay with you long after you've turned the page. The two best stories I found in the collection are Your Borders, Your Rivers, Your Tiny Villages about middle-aged friends who become lovers and then marry to dire consequences, and Sleepwalking about a mother who becomes intimate with her stepson, and the familial dynamic that ensues. The first four stories are linked stories about the previously mentioned couple William and Clare, and Sleepwalking is accompanied by three other linked stories, following the mother Julia and her stepson Lionel throughout the years Bloom's new story collection was highly praised and reviewed by critics, but for me, a far cry from her signature style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Excellent collection of short stories

    I picked this book up just because I liked the title and I'm so glad I did. What a wonderfully written collection of stories. I love the characters because they are fully formed real people with flaws and perfections who experience humor and anger. There is a sense of sadness about the stories, but that in no way takes away from my experience. I've re-read some of the stories and I like them more the second time around. I will definitely read more by this author. I highly recommend this book if you like character-driven stories, stories that explore lives and relationships, and excellent, wonderfully expressive writing. Beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3