Customer Reviews for

Where the Heart Is

Average Rating 4.5
( 596 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(411)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Interestng read, and sad at times.

A story about a young minded 17 year-old girl who was dumped off in a Wal-Mart parking lot, who had only $7.77 to her name? Her boyfriend leaves her in a Wal-mart parking lot. Novalee thinks her life is at its worst before she realizes that this mistake will only lead h...
A story about a young minded 17 year-old girl who was dumped off in a Wal-Mart parking lot, who had only $7.77 to her name? Her boyfriend leaves her in a Wal-mart parking lot. Novalee thinks her life is at its worst before she realizes that this mistake will only lead her on her way. While living in Wal-mart, she meets some interesting people whom later on lead her to the woman she's meant to be and through to her life calling.
I really enjoyed this book. Where the Heart is helps you to realize who you are. This book helped me realize that, your heart is what gets you to where you want to be. It shows you that heart can get you through anything, and that love is the strongest weapon life could hand to you.
There were very few parts in the book that I didn't like. I mainly didn't like the sad parts of the book. While reading Where the Heart is, you feel connected to the characters, and when something happens to one of them, you can't help to feel their pain.
Girls would probably enjoy this book more than guys, but they can also read it. If you're looking for a book to help you find yourself and change your views on life, I would suggest to you, Where the Heart is.
This is a good read that had me interested throughout.

posted by 148253 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very disturbing.

It was fine until I got closer to the end of the book. What was written made me put it down and never pick it up again. You think it is all wholesome by the title and reviews, but it isn't.

posted by Anonymous on October 17, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    Very disturbing.

    It was fine until I got closer to the end of the book. What was written made me put it down and never pick it up again. You think it is all wholesome by the title and reviews, but it isn't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Boring, too easy of a read

    I'm well past page 100 but this book is just downright silly. There is a librarian man obsessed with Noralee but they really don't explain why. The whole premis of Noralee hiding out and 'living' in Wal-mart until her baby is born is unbelievable. This story is already too predicatable and I'm not even going to bother to finish it. I'm pushing 30 and this book seems more geared toward high school readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    Not what I expected for an Oprah book.

    Not to say that the selection isn't enjoyable, but I really expected a little bit more considering some of the other fantastic books in the Oprah club. The characters were well developed, but the story-line just didn't do it for me. My main gripe was nothing exciting really happened, and when something did happen the problem was identifed and solved within a matter of just one chapter, maybe two- I wasn't left wondering: 'What's going to happen next?'. Although, I can understand how younger readers could relate to the story and find that it deals with some issues they may be concerned about- I guess this story is more suitable for young teens rather than adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Had potential

    Where the Heart is, a story about Novalee, a pregnant teenaged girl abandoned at a Wal-Mart by her boyfriend. The story follows Novalee's development of self worth, friendship and life threw her first few years of motherhood. I found this book generic, the characters and story line underdeveloped. Though, towards the end, the story became more realistic, Where the Heart lacks real feeling. While reading this book it seemed that Letts missed what it meant for Novalee to be 17 and pregnant and focused in on what in general it means to be 17 and pregnant. Everyone knows that being 17 and pregnant sucks, there has to be more to a story than that. With the exception of Forney and at times Willy Jack, all the characters lacked depth. There where moments when I observed character's thoughts and feelings and thought to myself, 'How vapid can you be?' On the other hand I did enjoy Lett's narrative style and believe that she does have potential to turn out a good book. But this one doesn't cut it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Wal-Mart Baby

    As you read through the hardships of Novalle and the characters, you will be breath taken by the amount of courage and experiences life can take you through. Where the Heart Is set in Wal-Mart was a non-fictional romance, comedy, and life story in one. Seventeen and pregnant Novalle has just been abandoned by her boyfriend Willy Jack, after she went into a near by Wal-Mart to use the restroom. While picking up a pair of shoes she noticed them ringing up as $7.77. She knew then that things could only get worse. Ever since she was a little kid Novalle has had the worst luck with anything having to do with the number seven. Having nowhere to go Novalle sleeps, lives and even has her baby in Wal-Mart. Meeting a lot of others characters on her adventure such as Sister Husband, Novalle lived with her shortly after her baby was born. Moses Whitecotton, the man who did wonders with the camera and then there is Forney, Novalle¿s companion through out the novel, while also being the city librarian. The conflict of Man vs. Man is between Novalle and her mother, Momma Nell, because Momma Nell has never lived with her nor has she ever been a mom to her. Though the story was non-fictional it keeps the readers attention throughout the book. Novalle goes through so many different things as she lives in Wal-Mart. The book has a lot of strong points and the characters are so realistic. They aren¿t always happy but they aren¿t always sad, you see them struggle in life¿s challenges. You can never underestimate yourself, Novalle realized that she did not need Willy Jack to live and what goes around comes around. Soon after Willy Jack abandoned her he was arrested in Mexico and not released till a further notice. Where the Heart Is will make you realize that having friends and love can get you a long way. As you read through the book you just want to turn the pages to see what else happens to her. She goes from living to Wal-Mart, to Momma Nell¿s house and finally having a job, with people that care about her and a daughter to love and nurture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    Commendable Success

    The author appears to have considerable talent for folklore,irony, romance and realism. The novel is rich in anecdotal references to the neighborlytraditions of a people and time that seem far removed from the impersonal and semi-professional world in which I live. The irony appears obvious to me in Novalee's encounters with the other characters, although I found it tiresome that there were never any transforming moments that were presented to the reader to confirm the underlying realities.The bad news is that I could not finish the novel, since it so strongly offended my sensibilities about family, honor, youth, religion, business and government by its stereo-typical and repetitive character portrayals.I think the author has something important to say for us all, but it appears to require clarification.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    Highly Disturbing

    I was really excited to read this book and everything started out fine. Then it got rediculasly unrealistic quickly...a tornado, death, rape, amputation and kidnapping all within about 50 pages!!!! I mean it was alright, but I don't believe that it can be considered representative of life. I passed the book along and others have given me the same inpression although I know many love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    over rated

    No substance to the characters, or plot. Rather immaturely written. No depth. Silly story, which might be believed by a teenager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    Not that great

    The novel, by Billie Letts, was unfortunately a standard, drippy page turner. The book is its own Wal-Mart, giving every possible lesson as bland and plain as possible. The symbolism and allusions were so blatantly obvious and unoriginal that the novel degenerated from a mediocre storyline to a dull bestseller. Novalee drifts, only learns her standard lesson at the end, and rides off into the sunset. The happy ending is unrealistic and non-lifelike; the author has sold out to the masses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    It started off well.....

    The book started off with a potentially interesting storyline. However, deeper in to the story, many different situations and unneeded details were thrown in, possibly to make the book more interesting. The author had the right idea, but strayed a bit from her main focus, 'Where the heart is.' I began to lose track of her intent and was never able to make any sort of emotional connection with the characters...not even Novalee. I am a seventeen year old girl myself, and unlike other readers reported, found the story far from uplifting. An all-together average read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1